We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Oyster Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Oyster Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oyster Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 335: English reviews
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

On a recent day trip around Santo our bus driver took us to Oyster Island Resort for lunch.We loved the short trip over on the little ferry. The resort grounds are just beautiful as were the wonderful staff. I was surprised that the whole place was deserted.Lunch was very mediocre I'm afraid. We all ordered burgers but the chips were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jojo255061
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Very quiet and beautiful location. LOTS of underwater life. They organise a trip to a fantastic snorkling site, one of the most pristine sites we have seen in 3 months of Pacific islands hopping. You can spot sea turtles from your room, even a Dugong if you are lucky. Staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average and... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

As the new General Managers, we thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Oyster Island Resort. My husband and I were thrilled to greet you both as the very first of our guests in our new home. Being Resort business owners for 7 years in Espiritu Santo this location has been a long time favorite of... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

BEWARE THIS IS NOT THE OYSTER ISLAND RESORT WE HAVE KNOWN AND VISITED FOR 2 YEARS! I booked and paid in full and in advance. I had to cancel do to unexpected surgery. In respect to their public cancellation policy a 50% refund is my entitlement. I have now fought for over 2 months and I know staff have fought... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ChrissyTilly
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

As the New General Managers (as of the 1st of June 2016) your refund was on the top of our "To Do Immediately" list. Very please to let you know your refund has been processed. Due to the handover of the business this was not possible. Our sincere apologizes on behalf of the former management. We hope that this one... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

It is a stretch to describe Oyster Island as a resort. It is struggling with the new management. Local staff are friendly, but appear stretched. Our bed was missing some linen on the first night. Costs for extras was hidden. Be careful ordering oysters.

Helpful?
2 Thank BCMY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

Went to the Sunday buffet several times during a two month stay in Santo and it was absolutely fantastic - amazing food, beef ribs are second to none! The staff at Oyster Island are all wonderful and so so welcoming and friendly. It is just such a shame about the new management who don't seem to appreciate their fantastic staff... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jade B
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016

Wanted to spend some time with some friends who we had not seen for a long time and ran into at the airport. The resort is very clean and well presented. The waterfront villas are very peaceful and relaxing listening to the tide lapping at your feet. The staff are very friendly and seem to work very hard and arriving... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
Management response:

We thank you for your review, will definitely pass on the good word to the staff who have tried to the best of their ability to maintain the genuine Oyster Island hospitality service. Again thank you for coming to visit us. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

My wife and I stayed at Oyster just prior to, and over the Easter break. As usual the staff were wonderful. We've been here before when Brad and Sarah were managing the island but this time initially it was a lot more subdued, especially the first couple of days of our stay as there was an 'interesting' Chinese supervisor, if... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John H
Management response:

Thank-you for your positive review and also thank-you for your initiative in speaking to the new owner, which has helped a lot. I will pass on the positive and encouraging words to the staff. As you had said we are hoping all this mishap is be due to the "transitional hiccup" and we do hope that we will be able... More 

Mount Coolum, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at oyster island resort. This resort was recommended to us as a great place to visit due to all of the tours available through them. This is true and the staff made us feel very welcome however the resort has been recently taken over by new management and I have to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mcmholiday
Management response:

We thank you for your review and appreciate all the kind words, will definitely pass this on to the staff. The staff here make it their objective to do everything they can to make our guests feel welcomed, even working under uncontrollable circumstances. Again I cannot confirm any development plans, maybe an upgrade, but at this point not sure, but... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

Had lunch there on Friday April 1, a pizza and sweet potato chips, and was underwhelmed. Heard the stories about the new owners from everyone we spoke to. There were Chinese surveyors around measuring the place up. Staff were nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
Management response:

We thank you for your review and we apologize that we were not able to meet your expectation on your visit to us. I will pass on the good word about the staff to them, again thank you for that. There were surveyors on the island measuring up the place but no plans have been released yet by the new... More 

Victoria Point, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

This is our second visit to Oyster Island, the last time being August last year, when the Managers were an Australian couple, Sarah and Brad. There was nothing to fault on that occasion. They cared deeply for all aspects of Oyster, tourists, staff, environment and you left just longing to return. Things are vastly different now. Sarah and Brad have... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen H
Management response:

Thank you for your review and concerns about the island and the staff, we will be passing on your concerns to the new owners. Again due to the change in management and owner and the language barrier and culture differences the staff and new managers are still trying to settle down and understand each other. We do hope we would... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

524 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (483)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (261)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
4.4 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
4.4 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#2 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Lodge
Turtle Bay Lodge
#1 of 11 in Luganville
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
11.2 mi away
Aore Island Resort
Aore Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Aore Island
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on a private 25 hectare island just 2 minutes crossing from the mainland. Oyster Island Resort resides within a Marine Reserve, abundant in marine and wild life. Sandy beaches, tropical rainforest, coral reefs and war plane wrecks make for fantastic snorkelling. Bungalows line the waters edge, each with private decks or patio's, enjoying stunning views out over the calm lagoon waters. Family Vila allow room for parents and children to enjoy the large grounds and gardens and are set off the water for safety. Skilled Chefs serve the very best of local and western cuisine from our waterfront restaurant. Only 20 minutes from the airport and township. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oyster Island Resort

Address: PO Box 183, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Price Range: $113 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oyster Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Island Hotel Luganville
Oyster Island Resort Vanuatu/Luganville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay