We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Nottingham Road Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Nottingham Road Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 243: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice comfortable country hotel. The rooms are well appointed for their 3 star grading. The bar in the hotel can get very festive which can get noisy if you stay in the front rooms of the hotel. Request a garden room when booking. The restaurant has a good menu and food is tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Clive F, Front Office Manager at The Nottingham Road Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thanks very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please keep an eye on our website and facebook page for various accommodation specials, as well as meal specials and details of upcoming events. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind regards Belinda More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Gugu tried her best to fulfil all the roles, but it just seemed as if there was no one in charge. Our TV remained out of order, we had to phone to get our washing, tea and milk were not replaced, shortbread in the room was burned, cappuccino machine made the most dreadful coffee. Two days after we left we... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wendyrG4028SU
Clive F, Owner at The Nottingham Road Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy Thank you for your comments, and for taking my call last week regarding your stay at the hotel. The points you have listed and discussed with me have been noted and addressed. I look forward to having you back for a wonderful cappuccino and a delicious shortbread snack very soon. Regards More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is advertised as "a pub with rooms". Alas, there is no pub. There is a bar where you can have a drink but a bar is definitely not a pub. And what a disappointment to walk into the bar and find they don't serve any craft beers at all! On tap? Nothing! Bottled? Nothing! The rooms were nice, clean... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tian C
Clive F, Owner at The Nottingham Road Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tian Thank you for chatting to me. We most definitely serve craft beers. We have the Growler range which is sold in our bar. Unfortunately, due to a logistical problem we were unable to help you when you were with us. Growler will be sending you a gift pack for any inconvenience caused. Please forward us your address to... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although we found the hotel staff to be very pleasant and the room warm and comfortable, the bedside light did not work and there was no more loo roll in the bathroom. The bar was overcrowded and terribly noisy with drunken louts allowed to shout, leer and push patrons around! It was so poorly staffed that I waited 20 minutes... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bbnothappy
Clive F, Front Office Manager at The Nottingham Road Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we would like to apologize for the poor level of service and attention that you received on your visit. Clive Foss, the owner of the hotel, has asked if you could please provide us with your contact details so that he may speak to your directly concerning... More 

Randburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

We chose to stay in the old section of the hotel, for a night, to remind us of the time our family of four spent 8 days at Notties Hotel in the mid eighties. Our experience this time as it was then, was pleasant and friendly. The rooms, even in the old section, are well maintained and very comfortable. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank benlX5162RC
Jhb
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were nice and clean and tidy. The smell in room 13 from the kitchen was not pleasant and the showers did not have much water pressure but all in all great value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katef534
Wartburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

We spent the weekend at this hotel in order to attend a wedding nearby. Our first time at this hotel, yet we were treated like regular customers. The staff were warm and friendly, the food was delicious and the accommodation has a classic feel and was inviting and more than comfortable for what you'd expect from a 170 year old... More 

Helpful?
Thank kistant
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

A very homely comfortable friendly atmosphere in a nice setting with huge heritage value.Quaint hotel from 1854 Good value , good service and ideal stop over for travellers from Gauteng. Colin & Joanne

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 398colinh
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

This historic hotel has a great atmosphere, friendly staff and an old world feeling that cannot be replicated. It's charming, quaint and a little outdated, but in a good way. I stayed in a large room, with an adequate bathroom and a comfortable twin bed in a well decorated country style setting. This hotel is also the site of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikecabral
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

This was not our first stay at Notties, But it was just as pleasant a stay as the previous ones were. Thank you for accommodating us at such short notice as our stay was completely unplanned. Your staff were as always very helpful and pleasant to deal with.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank edwardh308
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
0.0 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
19.6 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
13.0 mi away
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
7.8 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
12.1 mi away
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
#4 of 12 in Nottingham Road
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are pleased to announce that through a lot of hard work and feedback from our valued clients we have upgraded the main hotel to the TGCSA 3 star grading as well as added an additional 10 garden suites which came online in March 2016 bringing the total number of rooms to 24 or sleeping 48 guests. The Nottingham Road Hotel has attained a 3 star grading from TGCSA. The Nottingham Road hotel or "Notties Hotel a pub with room" as it is more affectionately known (est 1854) is a beautifully restored country hotel in the central Midlands. It is a place where one is welcomed with traditional warm, family style hospitality. A must see for anyone in the area! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Nottingham Road Hotel

Address: 1 Main Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Price Range: $76 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nottingham Road Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Nottingham Road Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay