We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 188: English reviews
Start your review of Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
 Click to rate
Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Wedding Venue and self catering village have been completed since our previous stay. Wow! What a wonderful additional option for the growing clientele. The real reason for writing this review is to congratulate Bongi and Beauty on the dining room service - exemplary in every way. The hotel was packed for all four nights of our stay and yet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful feedback!

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The nicest,warmest welcome from engaging staff greeted our arrival in a smart reception area with an adjoining lounge to sit in old world comfort for a drink and chat. On arrival it rained so we were taken a decent ride to our room by golf buggy with our luggage. Typical of the constant care and attention shown to us over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard F
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Richard F Thank you for your feedback. I have shared it with the staff. It is really encouraging to know that we are ticking the boxes. Hope to have you back one day. Kind regards Richard Bates

SOUTH AFRICA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attended a wedding at this venue which was outstanding. They have separate chapel and very large building for the reception, which was ideal. The food and service provided was outstanding. One of the best weddings we have ever attended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BARRYBE
Management response:

Thanks for the lovely feedback.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at Fordoun the night after our wedding in The Midlands, and it was everything we hoped for and more. Friendly, accommodating staff to welcome us, a spacious, comfortable and clean room and a wonderful breakfast to go with it. Highly recommended and such a beautiful location and setting

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimon G
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful feedback

Reviewed February 5, 2017

We had an incredible stay at Fordoun Spa Hotel & loved every minute! Wished we could have stayed a week! Room 19 was spectacular! The decor & size of the suite was very generous & tasteful. We had our own patio to sip sundowners & admire a spectacular sunset over the Drakensberg. I especially loved the spacious bathroom & dressing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suewW3406US
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed your stay!

Taba, Egypt
Reviewed January 30, 2017

Spent a weekend here and we had an incredible time being poked and prodded by the excellent and friendly staff. The rooms are stunning and the food sublime. The chef is a genious and luckily hasn't heard of counting calories!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steveyb37
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments Steve!

Grahamstown, South Africa
Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile

Fordoun hotel is set in the most magical place. The rooms are renovated farm buildings which date back to the 1800's. They have been exquisitely renovated and offer very comfortable accommodation. The breakfast was awful ( incl. long life milk in our tea 😖) but the dinner superb.......I highly recommend the pork and the lamb 😋

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarbiCow
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast.

Secunda, South Africa
Reviewed January 16, 2017

We booked at the hotel on the 16th December 2016. My feedback is as follows: • The food was divine. We enjoyed every meal. • The staff was friendly and helpful. • We stayed at room 2 however I felt that the other rooms we stayed at before were better in terms of size. • The spa was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DesAlw123
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and we have relayed your comments to the spa manager

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed January 13, 2017

Lovely Location and nice and clean. Restaurant very good and food excellent. Service ok not up to 5star rating. Spar a bit in need of TLC - grubby and not very professional. Definitely needs new staff This hotel is not child friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crestdev
Management response:

Thanks for your comments and your feedback has been sent to the spa manager

Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

I just said to my wife what should we rate them and she said "absolute five star I couldn't fault them on anything to tell you the truth" and that is the truth excellent stay highly recommended wonderful friendly staff and excellent rooms sense of history great outdoors and first-rate spa

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
Management response:

Thanks so much

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
1.5 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
66 reviews
19.4 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
22.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#2 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
122 reviews
7.8 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
2.7 mi away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Price Range: $148 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Durban, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All the rooms are great! Our favourites are 1 and 16.”
 of 5 bubbles AnthonyB177, 1 week ago | Read review
“milk tart ice cream is a must...”
 of 5 bubbles steveyb37, Jan 30, 2017 | Read review
“I really enjoyed Room 5, Rose room, because it gets alot of sun during the day. some of the other rooms can be quiet dark.”
 of 5 bubbles NikkiSewpersad, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
“The suites are magnificent. Treat yourself!”
 of 5 bubbles JoziGuy77, Nov 17, 2016 | Read review
“At this standard all room are great”
 of 5 bubbles angiep389, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question