We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 133: English reviews
seattle
Level Contributor
206 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all, yes, this place is outdated. It really depends on what you're looking for. If you are going to be spending all your time in a hotel room and want to spend top dollar for perfect new furnishings, by all means you should. If you're like me and spend a lot of time outside, appreciate cleanliness but don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank DeneMiles
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

If you're planning on visiting both the Doubtful and Milford Sounds I recommend using this location as the go between. It's extremely close to the jump off location to the Doubtful so if you like to capitalize on sleep and you have a morning cruise there is no need to wake up at dawn to drive. Aside from this proximity,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Undaunted_Courage
auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

We stayed one night after a long tramp and didn't have time to check reviews. What a find! We stayed in the front units, which had a queen and a single, brilliant lake view, heater, comfy bed, great shower and on site laundry so flew home today with clean clothes. The price was reduced for some reason to just $117,... More 

Helpful?
Thank debnz
Blackheath NSW
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

This is a simple older style motel but can't be beaten for its fantastic location right beside the lake. Our studio room looked out onto the lake, with table outside to enjoy the views. The room was warm and comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Maggi W
Medway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

When we arrived at this motel we were given the impression that we were interrupting them. Half way through checking in, our receptionist just started having a conversation with another guest who walked in to reception. Not the sort of customer service you expect nowadays. The rooms looked as if they had not received any upgrade for decades and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SteveMedway

Travelers are raving about these Manapouri hotels

Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016 via mobile

Booked this one out of necessity not because it was cheap. Wished we would have stayed in Te Anau instead now that we know it's only 15 minute drive. Shared kitchen was beyond filthy and stank like someone had cooked rotten fish weeks before. Rooms very very small and shower tiny. Location convenient and staff super friendly, even French girl... More 

Helpful?
Thank WolrdPanda
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. It is unfortunate that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as you could have. The room you booked was our budget/unserviced unit. We do have other units however they are more expensive. If you were not happy with your room could have paid for an upgrade. The... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016 via mobile

We were waiting at reception 20 min for the key,room very little,outdated,needs T&C,room was $140 .food in a Lakeview restaurant is absolutely awful,pasta was $25 and absolutely tasteless and no meat in it . Oysters were dry greasy nasty batter . In addition we were charged 15% because we were served in a good Friday. Strong recommendation don't eat there.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 37Traveler
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review or Hotel. Just to clarify a few points for you. If you arrive before check-in time and your room has not been cleaned you will have to wait for the key or If the receptionist is busy with another guest you will have to wait to check in. I have passed... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

Wish we could have stayed longer at this classic motor inn. It is older, but has been updated through the years. We found our room to have all the comforts we needed. Onsite self-service laundry; detergent available for purchase at reception. Onsite cafe and bar were a hit with our group. We enjoyed the views over the lake from our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pam T
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Inger More 

Wabeno, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016

We pulled into the Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn around 2PM. We were welcomed warmly by the reception desk staff. Our room, though dated and tiny...was clean and comfy. It had a wonderful view of the lakefront. Our biggest complaint came when we had dinner at the restaurant on the premises. It was awful! My husband's ribs were tough, and my... More 

Helpful?
Thank caroldebbout
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to the Chef re the food in the restaurant. I tried both dishes that you complained about and very much enjoyed them. We did note that you managed to eat everything on your plate before... More 

Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

This is a 3 star mother and very basic ....clean room but the beds are in need of an update as are the eiderdowns etc. However, for one night before Doubtful overnight cruise, which was such a breathtaking tour, it was relatively okay. I would recommend for those that want a more refurbished spot head to Te Anau....just a short... More 

Helpful?
Thank JBrady2013
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have a constant refurbishment programme running in our property. We are rated 3 Star with 55 rooms and a seasonal business we endeavour to update whenever we can. Kind regards Inger More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
10.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
10.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#2 of 5 in Manapouri
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Peaks B&B
Cathedral Peaks B&B
#3 of 5 in Manapouri
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
10.8 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manapouri is New Zealand's best kept secret, situated 15 mins scenic drive from Te Anau, which is the departure point for Doubtful Sound trips. The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn is the ideal base for all Fiordland activities and a preferred staying accommodation for all those wishing to enjoy an accomplishing and satisfying holiday experience. Guests staying at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn get the best opportunity to visit some of the mostrenowned tourist places in New Zealand. Some of the famous tourist attractions near the hotel are Doubtful Sound, Lake Te Anau, Te Anau Caves, Milford Track, Lake Manapouri Southern Scenic Route, Kepler Track, Routeburn Track, Queenstown and Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Address: 68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Price Range: $61 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Hotel Manapouri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay