We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Sonnentau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fladungen
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Sonnentau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 5: English reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2015

Stayed overnight here on a business trip. The hotel is situated at a wonderful location, against a mountain with a nice view at the surroundings. Had a single room which was nice and had all the possible facilities. The staff is kind and friendly, certainly a place to stop by again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pim N
The Netherlands
Reviewed August 11, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last week. We came here mainly to relax and this is definitely possible in hotel Sonnentau. First of all the view is just astonishing. To be able to wake up and have breakfast with this view is amazing. The beds slept good (very important) and the breakfast was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole v
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the guest houses which are in a parallel street to the main hotel. At night it's barely enough light to see the road. The road itself is poorly maintained. When walking back from dinner I stepped in a whole which wasn't visible and tore my ligaments in my ankle! I gave notice to the hotel which didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jellylow
sonnentau, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sonnentau, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are really sorry to hear that you ligaments are torn due to the poor quality of the road and for our insufficient apology at the hotel. We didn’t mean it like and we were not aware of the dimension of your insurance. We hope you are doing better now. However, giving a negative evaluation for a poor...

Yorkshirewoman
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Excellent facilities: I used the swimming pool most mornings. Great view over the town, fields and forest, with several footpaths accessible direct from the grounds. Comfortable rooms with good facilities except that mine had no blinds so the light woke me up every morning. 25 of us, all members of the Vegetarischer Bund Deutschland, were there on a week's walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia1947
San Francisco, California
Reviewed September 1, 2011

largish hotel, grown organically over the last forty years, to now include spa, pool, restaurant, and bar. friendly staff, decent restaurant. sits on a hill overlooking picturesque bavarian village, website shows it sits there alone, but in reality, this area is populated with dozens of small homes. claims four stars but not clear why: towels are thin and scarce, pillows...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fredontheroad
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fladungen
5.5 mi away
Landhotel Thuringer Hof
Landhotel Thuringer Hof
#1 of 1 in Ostheim vor der Rhoen
14 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rhoen Park Hotel
Rhoen Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hausen
310 reviews
9.6 mi away
hotel sturm | garten & spa
hotel sturm | garten & spa
#1 of 1 in Mellrichstadt
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hotel Gersfelder Hof
Hotel Gersfelder Hof
#1 of 5 in Gersfeld
45 reviews
12.5 mi away
Landhaushotel Hof Wasserkuppe
Landhaushotel Hof Wasserkuppe
#1 of 3 in Poppenhausen
24 reviews
10.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Im Krummbachtal
#1 of 1 in Schonau an der Brend
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnentau

Address: Wurmbergstrasse 1 - 3, 97650 Fladungen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Fladungen
Price Range: $35 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sonnentau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Great view over the valley in the double room (with balcony)”
 of 5 bubbles nicolev453, Aug 11, 2015 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the town are presumably quieter and certainly have a better view. (Mine was on the other side, with a view of and noise from the car park.)”
 of 5 bubbles Patricia1947, Aug 10, 2012 | Read review
“rooms in the newer part of the hotel are larger (but also more expensive)”
 of 5 bubbles Fredontheroad, Sep 1, 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question