Hotel Salona Palace

Hotel Salona Palace

Ulica Don Frane Bulica 87, Solin 21210 Croatia
I couldn’t even put a wine glass on the table
Traveler (134)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (22)

View prices for your travel dates

$175
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 3 hotels in Solin
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.3
Value
4.4

See why so many travelers make Hotel Salona Palace their hotel of choice when visiting Solin. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Rooms at Hotel Salona Palace offer a minibar and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Room service is one of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A pool and breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Hotel Salona Palace, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Solin's popular Mediterranean restaurants such as Konoba Girasole and Konoba - Pizzeria River, all a short distance from Hotel Salona Palace.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a historic site, such as Ruins of the Solin Amphitheatre.

At Hotel Salona Palace, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Solin.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
Croatian

Location

Ulica Don Frane Bulica 87, Solin 21210 Croatia
183Reviews5Q+A16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 107
  • 37
  • 21
  • 11
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lana Brcic wrote a review Aug 2020
Zagreb, Croatia15 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful new hotel just by the ancient "Salona". We stayed only for one night, called directly to them to book a room and were given the best one by really fair price (below what was listed originally online). My advise, always call or email them because you might be given a way better rate. Clean and quiet rooms, comfortable bed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: call directly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neda Čaleta, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Salona Palace
Responded Oct 9, 2020
Dear lanaB1509, Thank you for taking time to write a review. You made a good choice to contact us directly. We are happy you liked the hotel and hope we see you again! Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nilsog wrote a review Aug 2022
Dublin, Ireland35 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a couple in our 40’s. We spent 5 days in Split which was an active holiday with outings everyday so to finish off our trip we decided to have a relaxing stay for 4 days at the Hotel Salona Palace and it did not disappoint.

We arrived a little early for check in and the lady and reception welcomed us, advised we could leave our bags at reception and make use of the facilities while we wait for our room. So we headed to the pool level, collected a towel each and hit the loungers by the pool. We weren’t waiting long as within the hour our room was ready. We stayed in a room on the second floor facing the pool with a balcony. The room was of good size and the balcony was of a good size with a table and two chairs. The room was above the outdoor restaurant and we heard no noise at any time day or night.

The pool area is well laid out. There are loungers in the shade and full sun, whichever you prefer. There is lovely background music which isn’t intrusive. The spa staff are always there and if they need to leave, will leave a couple of towels should anyone pop by for some. The pool is cold which is welcoming on a hot hot day. The jacuzzi is warm which is lovely when the evening gets cool.

Now for the best part of our stay! The restaurant. Our days consisted of eating, lounging by the pool reading our books and swimming. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the outdoor restaurant. The two gentle men working in the restaurant were fantastic. The gentleman in the morning always greeted us with a smile and was attentive and friendly without being intrusive. Alway close by if you needed to order a drink. The gentleman in the evening (dark hair and beard) was so friendly. Even when the busy evening meal time came around and he was visibly busy, he was always polite, attentive and positive. Both men seemed happy in their work which makes for a relaxing enjoyable atmosphere.

If you are considering staying in Hotel Salona Palace, do it! You won’t regret it.

Thanks for having us!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katja Hampunen wrote a review Jul 2023
Espoo, Finland5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a week, booked this hotel mainly because they have a gym. This turned out to be a good choice for a relaxing holiday.

The hotel is located quite far from the city center. Uber ride is about 12 euros so our group used that instead of bus.

Floor 0 has everything: pools, sunbeds, sitting area, gym, restaurant and also spa services (which we did not use).

Outdoors pool area is excellent! They also have a great gym and indoor pools and saunas (nordic+ steam). You get nice big pool towels from the pool area reception.

Great staff at the hotel, especially at the pool area.

Breakfast is amazing!

Hotel restaurant offers very good food as well. Prices are average I think.

We had a 3-person room so no balcony. Clean, neat, spacious room, all luggage fit in well, really good beds, large bathroom. AC worked perfectly both in the room and in the bathroom. No problems with electricity either.

Hotel offers a free shuttle service to Joe's beach. Book the ride a day before. For a 10 eur deposit you can take a towel with you from the reception.

There is a very good grocery store just across the road called Konzum. And an ATM next to it.

Fantastic old roman ruins are basically in the hotel's backyard. They spread over a large area. Go see them before 7 or 8 pm, they lock the gates around that time.

Otherwise the area surrounding the hotel is industrial and residential.

I can only find few minor "flaws" at the hotel: Sewage system may not be the best, be patient with it. Water pressure in the shower is low but that can be expected. Bath towels in the rooms are fairly small if you are a bigger person. All toiletries are in travel size bottles. Towel rack is not heated in the summer so swimwear or towels may not dry completely overnight. 

Overall I can definitely recommend this hotel if you want a comfortable, relaxing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Ask the reception about the hotel's offering for day/half-day tours and possibilities for a hotel...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy E wrote a review Aug 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent Hotel. Situated just out of Split but easy to travel in to the city for days out. Bus takes twenty minutes and costs €2.50 each way. Due to location there is a very quiet air to the property at night unlike the hustle and bustle of split. From the minute we arrived until the minute the Hotel taxi dropped us off we had excellent service. Everyone was very welcoming and even upgraded our room to one with a view half way through our two week sit by the pool holiday. We were delighted each morning by waiters who provided exceptional service often led by Kristijan who went above and beyond each day. During the evening the waiters changed but still with excellent service. The pool was cleaned every night along with the jacuzzi. There were enough sun beds for everyone so this just the holiday more pleasurable. Thank you for a wonderful holiday
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If booking bed and breakfast think about lunch and evening meals as the hotel has a restaurant...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Discover616854 wrote a review Jun 2022
9 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean everywhere. Comfortable beds and good sized room and bathroom. Lovely pool surrounded by small but well maintained gardens.
Most of the time the reception staff were helpful and quick to respond.
BUT
Our room faced a concrete wall. We knew we had only booked a standard room ( we had booked directly with the hotel who told us no better rooms were available but they eould upgrade us if they could). On complaining about the outlook ar reception we were told they couldn't do anything about it as the hotel was fully booked. They would speak to the manager the next day and get back to us. Nobody did. We were there for 4 nights. Clearly no advantage booking direct with hotel!
The hotel is a taxi or bus ride from everything as is situated in a plain suburban type area. There are no restaurants or bars nearby altho the supermarket opposite was handy.
Try not to go when there is a function or wedding party. One of our afternoons by the pool was ruined by it being taken over by a large noisy group.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid rear facing rooms. Ask if a function has been booked Be aware you are a 15 min drive to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Azure29 wrote a review Oct 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom50 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Salona Palace Hotel for a week.
The hotel is right next to the biggest archaeological ancient Roman site in Croatia. There are also mountains on one side of the hotel. There are things to do around the hotel and there is one bus service going every half hour to Split. It is more of a car type place. If you are looking to explore this area of Croatia from this hotel, I would probably recommend hiring a car otherwise the options are limited to taking taxis or using the local bus services.
I would recommend upgrading to a dinner /bed and breakfast package, especially if you can’t face walking to Solin every evening. The hotel restaurant is a friendly and intimate place to eat. The food is delicious, the staff are great and they play some really tasteful music there too.
The hotel itself is modern in design. Our room was clean and spacious with a balcony. We did have problems with the air conditioning. Even though we were shown how to use it, it didn’t seem to work too well. Overall though, it was great spending a week there.
I did feel that the hotel would get a bit overrun when big groups of people arrived and there were some moments where there were misunderstandings but generally I feel the staff were like one big family and I think that the longer you stayed there, the more you felt like part of the family.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Smodlaka, Sales at Hotel Salona Palace
Responded Dec 8, 2021
Dear Azure29, Thank you for deciding to spend your seven-day vacation in our hotel, and above all for really enjoying it. We are glad that you have recognized the beauty of the location of our hotel, as combination of modern and Roman architecture. We are sorry that you did not contact us again with the problem of using air conditioning, to make it easier for you. It’s nice to hear how you enjoyed the food prepared and served by our friendly staff. You are always welcome in our hotel where you have felt and where you will always feel like part of our big family. We hope you will come again and be our dear guests. Greetings
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dragonlady wrote a review Sep 2020
Ljubljana, Slovenia212 contributions22 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is ok, clean but the food is below average, not enough choice for vegetarians (they even don’t know what vegetarians eat). When we had gala dinner, the food was delivered more cold than hot though it was a hot starter. Moreover some staff were really rude, specially one tall waitress, i think her name was Ana. When she was asked to bring coffee at the breakfast (coffee machines for self-service were not working) she coursed 😕 i had a feeling that she was thinking “why the hell did those guests arrived and now I have to work!”
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Smodlaka, Sales at Hotel Salona Palace
Responded Dec 25, 2021
Dear Dragonlady, We are deeply disappointed to read your review and learn that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations and we guarantee that such moments rarely happen, because we are confirmed by countless positive reviews from our guests. We believe that some things would change once you have contacted the F&B manager to respond and meet your requirements. Hope you will come back again and so we may provide you with a better experience. Thank you! Greetings Hotel Salona Palace team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yasmina wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time we've stayed at the salona palace and we found an excellent welcome from the staff at the reception (especially Anna who recognized us and is particularly kind), but also the house keeping staff and the waiters and waitresses, always friendly, smiling and very kind, that's all the charm of this hotel. Moreover the rooms are very comfortable, beautiful bathrooms, balcony overlooking the swimming pool, excellent and varied breakfast. It is a very good address and we recommend it without hesitation.
Large outdoor jacuzzi swimming pool, food and beverage service all day long.
We say hello to the whole hotel team.
Yasmina and Anne from Paris
21/08 to 30/082020
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neda Čaleta, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Salona Palace
Responded Oct 9, 2020
Dear Voyageur100897, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay. We are glad you liked it here so much that you visited us again. Our staff goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and it is nice when guests recognize it. We are also glad you liked the room, wellness and breakfast. Hotel staff sends greetings and hopefully we see you the third time! Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anapascu wrote a review Aug 2021
Madrid, Spain90 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is outside Split but that is an advantage if you have a car because it has free parking and is very quiet. The swimming pool and garden area are beautifull and the personal is very friendly. Great breakfast. A special plus that they let us stay at the hotel until the time of the flight, using the swimming pool and the spa showers! Given the hot weather, it was so nice to arrive at the airport clean and fresh!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Smodlaka, Sales at Hotel Salona Palace
Responded Dec 18, 2021
Dear Anapascu, Thank you for the great review, it’s so nice to hear all those nice words. Our main goal is to provide our guests with an unforgettable stay, a beautiful and pleasant stay. And at all times we are ready to do everything to make for you an unforgettable memory. We are really happy that you recognized our efforts, and appreciate that we provided you with the facilities of our hotel outside of your booking period. We hope you will visit us again. Greetings! Your Hotel Salona Palace team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna659 wrote a review May 2022
Lansdowne, Canada32 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 8 nights and enjoyed the modern, clean room. Comfortable and relaxing stay. Our son's wedding took place on the grounds and the reception was held in the hotel wedding reception room. Excellent food was served on a daily basis as well as the wedding meal. Well trained and friendly staff. Public transportation was close by as was a grocery store.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: south facing rooms offer a view of the pool area and the grounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Drake asked a question Oct 2019
Leeds, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Is this hotel suitable for baby? Do they have cots?
nikbh asked a question Oct 2017
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
Is there parking for guests with hire car?
Answer from Derrick Y
Hong Kong, China230 contributions73 helpful votes
Yes. The hotel comes with a sizable parking lot
nikbh asked a question Oct 2017
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
Is there parking for guests with hire car?
Answer from Ana S
Split, Croatia11 contributions
Dear Nik, Hotel provides free parking for the guests, so yes, you can park you hire car for free. Thank you!
virg0la asked a question Apr 2017
Rome, Italy147 contributions153 helpful votes
Salve vorrei sapere se l hotel e' stato inaugurato perche non si vedono le foto. Grazie
Swellnel wrote a tip Sep 2023
Mumbai, India3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a packed breakfast ask for better sandwiches with sauces"
Read full review
Sarah M wrote a tip Aug 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely upgrade to a balcony room!"
Read full review
Tracy E wrote a tip Aug 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If booking bed and breakfast think about lunch and evening meals as the hotel has a restaurant but nothing else nearby - if on a budget "
Read full review
Katja Hampunen wrote a tip Jul 2023
Espoo, Finland5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask the reception about the hotel's offering for day/half-day tours and possibilities for a hotel pickup for them."
Read full review
Mirlette wrote a tip Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Big rooms with a beautiful view on the pool which lights up in the night. Lovely background music when you open the balcony doors."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Solin area.
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CroatiaDalmatiaSplit-Dalmatia CountySolin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SALONA PALACE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Salona Palace
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Salona Palace?
Nearby attractions include Jaman Art (3.1 miles), Diocletians Dream (2.9 miles), and Art Bottega | Wine and Paint Studio (2.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Salona Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Salona Palace?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Salona Palace?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Salona Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Adriatic Sushi & Oyster Bar Split, Laganini, and FANTAŽIJA kitchen & wine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Salona Palace?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Salona Palace located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Solin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Salona Palace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Salona Palace offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Salona Palace?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Palazzo di Diocleziano (3.0 miles), Old Split (3.0 miles), and Cathedral of Saint Domnius (3.1 miles).
Is Hotel Salona Palace accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Solin HotelsSolin Hotel DealsHotels near Hotel Salona Palace
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars