We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera 307 Chetumal-Cancun km 27.3 5 Km Al Norte de Bacalar, Bacalar 77930 Mexico
Booking.com
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Hurb
Destinia.com
Priceline
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (231)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (4)

About

#15 of 124 Specialty lodging in Bacalar
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.9
Value
3.7
Spend your days surrounded by nature at the shores of the beautiful Laguna Bacalar, Mexico’s second largest freshwater lake. Stay in one of ten comfortable and spacious stone cabins with thatch roofs, surrounded by tropical gardens and reminiscent of a Mayan settlement offering guests a tranquil base for relaxing with nature. Swim, kayak or sail the magnificent lagoon, explore the many nearby ruins, hike jungle trails, or just enjoy our scenic beauty, birds, and wildlife. At the end of the day, fall asleep to the comforting hum of the surrounding jungle.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Solarium
Mosquito net
Sun terrace
Walking tours
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
238Reviews1Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 93
  • 51
  • 42
  • 31
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ernesto wrote a review Jan 2022
Lenexa, Kansas6 contributions5 helpful votes
If you like peace & quiet in the middle of the jungle, thus is for you. Not if you are looking for luxury. Almost like a secret place. Found out about it from a native who was selling freshly squeezed juices. Passivity a good place to stay if you go to los rapids, tolum & puerto Morelos.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Call ahead.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacqueline Baier, Other at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Feb 24, 2022
thank you very much and visit us again soon
Read more
Todd B wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada5 contributions8 helpful votes
The rooms are 250 meters from the lake, up on a hill in the jungle. It is hot and humid and they only provide a small, useless old mini fan which is very loud. We had construction going on directly behind our room etc... The dock is small and this place is far from town. My coffee this morning had cinnamon put in it. (Worst coffee I have never drunk). I asked for a normal coffee and the staff refused to make a pot with cinnamon in it. Find a different place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Apr 1, 2020
Thank you for your comments, they are helping us to improve our services. Check in is from 2pm and you arrived before the check in time, at 1:30pm. We told you that your room is ready for you but we have to finish a maintenance work without noise behind your cabaña, just mixing 2 buckets of cement and we informed you that we will finish by 2:30pm. Once you asked us to stop with the work (before 2:30pm) we stopped imediately. You complained about the little fan so we asked you if you wanted a second one, but you did NOT accept the offer since your wife was sleeping. The cabañas are located 100 meters from the lake and yes they are located in our tropical garden, as stated on the website. Our breakfast includes the very typical Mexican Cafe de Olla, as well as hot water to prepare your own coffee or tea. At breakfast time, the only thing you did was complaining about cinnamon in the coffee but you never asked for normal coffee, nobody refused to make regular coffee for you. We hope your next experience in Bacalar will be better.
Read more
Enoch wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
Thank you Eric for sharing your experience and your love of nature! We loved that kayak excursion ! We had the opportunity to see a beautiful sunset, an amazing environment, only birds noise....and nice surprises there;)))
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, General Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Wonderful, thank you for sharing your experience and for exploring this beautiful lake with us!!! Come back soon!
Read more
PDB111 wrote a review Jan 2020
Ottawa, Ontario28 contributions5 helpful votes
Situated on the Laguna Bacalar, this eco resort offers very spacious and comfortable accommodations. The palapas are spread around tastefully maintained grounds that keep down the bugs and allow some privacy. Invest in the morning bird watch, we actually saw a toucan. Be sure to swim in the lake.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, General Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Happy New Year to you and thanks for reconnecting with nature and enjoying our concept, come back soon, the tucans are waiting for you!!!
Read more
Anja vg wrote a review Aug 2019
Paris, France48 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
Villas Ecotucan was beautiful, but warm. Bedroom, location, breakfast, kayak tour all subleme and pretty but very very warm! The room has no airconditioning so for non Mexicans who are not used the heat, it was definitely not an easy overnight. Because of them being ecofriendly - you dont get drinking water (bottles) in the room and that we could of used that night! Next night lesson learnt and we bought ourselves enough water which made the night more pleasant Also note if you do not have a car, the city is 15 min further and since Ecotucan does not really offer dinner, you are obliged to take the taxi to the city where all the restaurants are. Luckily the staff is so friendly that they offered us a lift to the city after their shift ;-) JUST FOR THE VIEW, THE KAYAK TOUR AND THE OVERALL EXPERIENCE, definitely worth the visit!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, General Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Aug 6, 2019
Anja, thanks for sharing your experience. Yes it is very hot right now and that is challenging in any place without airconditioning, not only for nonmexicans ;) the little fans help a bit, a quick jump in the lake as well. There is drinking water available at the reception at NO COST FOR EVERYONE AS MUCH AS YOU LIKE to refill bottles or glasses. If you don´t have a car or dont´t feel like going into town there is a restaurant in 200 meters walking distance. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our small green oasis despite the warm weather.
Read more
yalahabibti wrote a review Jun 2019
puerto vallarta102 contributions90 helpful votes
A small collection of bungalows on the edge of the beautiful lagoon of Bacalar. I loved the quietness... the privacy... the informality. At least two dozen birds on the property... lovely to hear their songs during daylight hours. Large bungalows, each one with a hammock on the porches (there should be two hammocks instead of just one). Kayaks provided without charge. Two piers for jumping off of or just sitting or lying on. Large common area for breakfasts (delicious and included) and wi-fi charging. This is a casual, not-glitz place and feels just right for us for this gorgeous spot on the planet. 10 min. drive into town.. where there are good restaurants. Good price.. about $70 USD per night.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Views are from the shore... a short trail down to it from the bungalows.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, Front Office Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Jun 6, 2019
Thank you for enjoying our green oasis and the lack and at the same time the abundance of luxuries!!!
Read more
Marescb wrote a review May 2019
2 contributions
Ecotucan Bacalar was the worst place we have stayed in Mexico, and we are a Mexican and American couple and travel through out the country. It claims to be ECO but that is just a term used to replace CHEAP! The rooms do not have AC , ok so they give you a little fan no bigger then your palm that is louder then the whole jungle. They dont give you any water in the room at all and you can't even charge your cell phone in the room. It is on the outskirts of Bacalar and far from town. The entrance is dark and cant see the sign in the dark. The lagon is far more beautiful further south closer to the town and stores,shops,bars, and restaurants. For the price of 1400 pesos it was no different then camping in a tent which is only 400 pesos, with water included. While eating the host was on the phone with booking trying to get another negative review removed, rather then trying to improve the conditions. The whole ECO vibe was ruined when the grounds workers had piles of trash on the side of the dirt road on the way in. SAVE YOURSELF THE ORDEAL AND STAY IN TOWN. No literature or maps or any info what so all is provided to help guest enjoy their stay. THE ROOM LITERALLY FELT LIKE WE WERE SLEEPING IN A BRICK OVEN , WHICH RUINED OUR NEXY DAY BECAUSE OF NOT BEING ABLE TO SLEEP. HIGHLY DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BUSINESS. TOWN IS ALSO ABOUT A 15 MIN DRIVE TO WHERE EVERYTHING IS.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, Front Office Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded May 31, 2019
It is sad to hear that Ecotucan did not meet your expectations and you didn´t feel comfortable. We are working on improving the fan situation. There is drinking water available for everyone and as much as needed in the reception to encourage refilling waterbottles instead of putting new plastic bottles in the rooms, if you do not have a bottle, the glasses are right next to the water dispenser. That you cannot charge your phone in the room but in the common area is part of our concept...to disconnect and reconnect with nature. The entrance is marked with a big hotel sign and a big official blue reflective sign saying Villas Ecotucan. We certainly do not try to remove negative reviews. You maybe took another road in because we do not know of any trash piles alongside our road. Our reception desk and the common area is filled with information and literature to make sure the guests now what to do and see in the area. Sorry, Ecotucan wasn´t the right place for you.
Read more
BahiaChica wrote a review Mar 2019
Akumal, Mexico14 contributions
I had been wanting to stay here for years and am glad I finally did. I appreciated the eco-sensitivities and restrictions and was OK with them. I had researched the place ahead of time so was not surprised by what I found. The cabin was very lovely and, being low-mosquito season, I tossed the bed netting up onto the canopy to get more airflow. Very comfortable bed and fabulous sheets. Beautiful grounds, good breakfast, many nature books on hand. I was burned out by being on the road for 6 days, or I would have joined Jacqueline's birding tour in the morning. I've got to go back for that. Instead, I sat up on the flat roof above the restaurant/common area and let the birds come to me. My friend was entranced by the nearby stromatolite formations (look it up). Rough road getting in and out, but that's part of the deal. I'm looking forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, Front Office Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Mar 8, 2019
We are very greatful to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us as well as appreciate our efforts to preserve the lake and the nature surrounding it, and it is great to hear that you understood the concept of disconnect and reconnect!!! Looking forward to welcoming you again!!!
Read more
annette589 wrote a review Feb 2019
Ontario70 contributions67 helpful votes
This hotel bills itself as an ecotourist destination but it is not. It is simply a hotel with no amenities. They call themselves eco friendly but really it is an excuse to offer you nothing. Ecotucan is well outside of the town of Bacalar so do not stay here if you don't have a car. It is 150 peso taxi ride to town. The cabins are reasonably nice and clean and there is mosquito netting over the bed. The cabins have screens for windows which is quite lovely to enjoy the night sounds of nature. Unfortunately, the cabins are quite close so you can also hear EVERYTHING that goes on in the cabins around you. The mosquito netting also decreases airflow so it is quite hot in the rooms. You need to open the drapes to get air into the room...and you have a wonderful view directly into your neighbour's cabin. They do provide a fan that is tiny yet still manages to sound like a helicopter on lift off. They provide towels in the room...two for our family of four. They do not provide beach towels. Ecotucan is on the lagoon but the colours are not as beautiful as they are in Bacalar. There is no where to sit on shore to admire the Lagoon. There are three chairs and a broken lounger on the dock for clients to share. Other hotels have swings and hammocks in the water and lounge chairs nearby. Ecotucan does not. They do have kayaks available for use. A couple of them have backrests but most do not. Each cabin has a hammock. One hammock. So one of you gets to lounge in comfort and relax while the other sits on a bench. There is nowhere at this hotel where two people can lounge together. If you have visions of yourself relaxing in a hammock and enjoying a cold beer...forget it. They do not have any beer, juice or soft drinks for sale. You pay to fill your water bottle. They do serve breakfast which was quite good - fruit, eggs, sausage and toast and the coffee was excellent. They do not serve lunch, supper or any snacks but the kitchen is adjacent to the general sitting area so you do get to enjoy (be tortured by) the smells of the staff cooking and eating next to you. Their food smells great...it just is not available for you. Speaking of food, be sure to bring snacks and drinks with you. There is a restaurant 350 m down the beach which is good but slow (1.5 hours for pizza) but otherwise you need to drive /take a taxi into town. The staff is pleasant but always on their phones. The only place to charge batteries /phones is in the main sitting area. The charging station is full of staff phones in the evenings. They say that staff are there so you can leave your devices overnight to charge...but there aren't. On arrival in the early morning, one staff member arrived blaring music on their motorcycle - waking the whole compound. The sitting area is the only place you can get WiFi and it is quite slow. There are a number of board games available. They bill themselves as ecotourist but they are not. There is no information about flora and fauna of local area and nothing about how they are protecting the environment (other than not providing AC, outlets, etc). They have decorated the exterior gardens a bathroom faucets with conch shells.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, General Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Mar 1, 2019
We are sorry to hear that Ecotucan did not meet your expectations, we are working hard to improve the pier area. The concept of Ecotucan is DISCONNECT and RECONNECT with nature, which is possible because Villas Ecotucan is located outside of the bustling town of Bacalar, surrounded by a large piece of forest. Guests without a car that want to go to town by taxi are depending on their rates but also go with a colectivo or bus, which involves walking our forested road 1km to the highway. Upon arrival most of the guests can´t wait to jump into the deeper waters of the lake from the pier instead of getting a long explanation on how the solar system and water treatment works at Ecotucan, nevertheless if guests are interested, they happily get the tour. The bottom of the lake in front of Bacalar town looks amazingly turquoise due to its low depths and little islands, and this varies throughout the lake. All this and more, can be discovered by using the kayaks, with or without backrest provided by Villas Ecotucan or on a guided kayak tour in professional sea kayaks with lots of information about the lake environment. You saw one of our kayak guides arriving in the morning shortly before 8am, listening to music from his little speaker, while you were already awake and sitting in the breakfast area. It looks like you were the only one bothered by this since he passed just 2 meters behind you. (no one else ever complained about him, since whoever is coming to work, driving or walking is not passing near the cabañas) By the way, he is proudly riding his Bicycle (he doesn’t own a motorcycle or a car). We loved seeing you and your family enjoying the variety of board games as well as the wifi, since you spent much of your time in our main sitting area where the reception is located. (wifi is good but not high speed, unfortunately fiberoptic cable has not arrived here yet, so we are relying on the signal of Bacalar town) There is a display of nature guides like birds, flowers, fruits, mammals, orchids, trees, fish, butterflies and herbs right at the reception desk. Next to the breakfast table, underneath the beautiful wall painting everyone has access to all the big nature guide books like Howell and Webb, Sibley, Audubon, complete guide of Mammals from Central America/Southeast Mexico, complete guide of Butterflies of North America as well as Insects and Reptiles and even a field guide to the southern Sky. The guides of Active Nature are offering Jungle walks and Bird observation at Villas Ecotucan, of course every guest can walk the 2.3 km jungle trail on the premises as well without a guide. The Reception is the place where every guest can ask for beach towels or any extra towels for the room or if anything else is missing, ordering a Taxi (like you did), as well ask for beer, coke, coffee or tea but you simply never asked for it, you just assumed there aren’t any. The staff of Ecotucan is always helping with suggestions for getting to know Bacalar and the surrounding areas, including arrangements of sailing or boat tours. The drinking water is available to everyone, as much as you like and as often as you like, everyone can refill their bottles or glasses, and if you like you can put a 10 Pesos (0.7 CAD) donation into the jar next to the drinking water. Ecotucan is a bed and breakfast, therefore there is only breakfast available. It seems like you were informed incorrectly by your tour operator/guide who just dropped you off and was not available for you during your stay. There are 2 excellent restaurants in walking distance and yes, there is no fast food service. Since your stay here at Ecotucan was chosen by your tour operator, Ecotucan is recommending you to communicate with them to make sure they choose the next place according to your needs.
Read more
Nica Celly wrote a review Nov 2018
California9 contributions3 helpful votes
I brought four friends to this place, which is a short walk to the incredible lagoon (can access from the property. The lagoon is so incredible, and it is vast and there is more than the eye can see, so make sure that you take the kayak tour, even if you aren't into tours. Gunnar is incredible. You can order meals ahead of time- and this can be advised. Breakfast is simple, and a cerveza is always on hand. It doesn't have a wide cuisine- but I think they are working on that, so it might be different when you go. The rooms are airy and gorgeous, and private. I would say it's rustic plus- your shower might be thin, but the layout and rennovations are gorgeous.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Staying on the upstairs floors is awesome.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, Front Office Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Dec 12, 2018
Thank you for sharing your experience with others, and enjoying Ecotucan. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$78 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooBacalar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villas Ecotucan
Which popular attractions are close to Villas Ecotucan?
Nearby attractions include Lake Bacalar (4.7 miles), Lago Bacalar (Lake of the Seven Colors) (1.9 miles), and Fuerte San Felipe Bacalar (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villas Ecotucan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and canoeing.
What food & drink options are available at Villas Ecotucan?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Villas Ecotucan?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villas Ecotucan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jaguara Cocina Mexicana, Mi Burrito Bacalar, and Los Hechizos.
Are pets allowed at Villas Ecotucan?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villas Ecotucan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Villas Ecotucan?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fuerte San Felipe Bacalar (4.5 miles).