We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villas Ecotucan

Carretera 307 Chetumal-Cancun km 27.3 5 Km Al Norte de Bacalar, Bacalar 77930 Mexico
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (254)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 10 villas in Bacalar
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.9
Value
3.7
Spend your days surrounded by nature at the shores of the beautiful Laguna Bacalar, Mexico’s second largest freshwater lake. Stay in one of ten comfortable and spacious stone cabins with thatch roofs, surrounded by tropical gardens and reminiscent of a Mayan settlement offering guests a tranquil base for relaxing with nature. Swim, kayak or sail the magnificent lagoon, explore the many nearby ruins, hike jungle trails, or just enjoy our scenic beauty, birds, and wildlife. At the end of the day, fall asleep to the comforting hum of the surrounding jungle.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Hiking
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Mosquito net
Sun terrace
Room features
Private beach
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
255Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 101
  • 55
  • 42
  • 32
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Dominik125 wrote a review Mar 2024
Geneva263 contributions109 helpful votes
Located in a very nice jungle surrounding with animal presence. Great access to the lagoon with a beautiful view.The rooms are comfortable and spacious with a lovely interior. Nights might be hot as there are no air conditioning but just a ventilator. Breakfast is included but rather basic, in taste and quantity.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Eveline B wrote a review Feb 2024
Zutphen, The Netherlands20 contributions1 helpful vote
A hidden gem in the jungle a few miles/km outside of the village of Bacalar. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The best feature of this hotel though is it's location. From the reception/restaurant there is a path to the lagoon. Sunrises are breathtaking. You can experience the world waking up so peacefully. Magical! We had diner here and it was good; very good. As was breakfast. The owner is doing a great job in making this lodge as environmental friendly as possible. All in all, staying here was a great choice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Bring a flashlight. The path from the common areas to the rooms are a bit dark.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacqueline Baier, Other at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Feb 21, 2024
It was wonderful having you at Ecotucan Evelyne. We hope, you can visit us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joost Liese wrote a review Dec 2023
9 contributions
November 2023 we were guests for one night at Villas Ecotukan near Bacalar. A wonderful location for a longer stay. Due to circumstances we arrived a day late, unfortunately we could not stay any longer. From the lodge we took an early morning canoe trip to the mangrove on the other side of the lake. A special experience. The friendly guide provided a nice and healthy breakfast. Both lodge and the guide gave us a very successful stay. Joost and Marion
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacqueline Baier, Other at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Feb 21, 2024
thank you for sharing your experience! come visit again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
drbeachtulum wrote a review Apr 2023
Tulum, Mexico38 contributions28 helpful votes
We were at EcoTucan for 4 days. When we arrived, about 3pm…there was full on construction right behind our room, a chain saw, and power drill. They told us the construction goes on every day from 9-4.. The desk clerk tried to lie to us, and told us it was the property next door, and that they had no control. However, this was not true, construction is on their property, and also next door. Then we were told that the electric company was working on the lines, and that there would be no electricity from 8-4. This happened all 4 days we were there. One of the employees told us that they have very weak solar, energy panels, and have to shut down the electricity every day. Water in the showers and sink did not run properly. There was no ceiling fan in the rooms, just a cheap little fan..near the bed. The rooms were very hot, pillows were as hard as rocks, as was the mattress. Lighting was so poor, we couldn’t read at night…and there were only 2 outlets for appliances. Phones and devices could not be charged in the room, but rather had to be charged in the dining area, where there always seemed to be electricity, The lagoon was a very long walk from the rooms, and did not have adequate chairs or lounge chairs for all of the guests. Many times we sat on the deck, under the palapa. Employees at the desk gave us very conflicting information, and I would not have booked the room had I know about the construction and electrical problems. They should’ve been up front and not lied about these things. We were going to check out after 1 night, but no Internet made it difficult to find another room, so we just bit the bullet and stayed on, only because we were there on business,( and we paid up front for 4 nights) and we were gone all day. It was just easier to stay. On our departure day, they told us at 10 :30 am that we had to check out by 11:00. Even though no one was waiting for a room. This operation is a very cheap one, employees not so cooperative. Might as well be camping, and save your money. It’s expense for what u get. Won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t go.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacqueline Baier, Other at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Aug 2, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to extensively write about your stay at Ecotucan. It is unfortunate that Ecotucan was not the place for you, even though you have been staying with us before. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, product of a major work in the electricity lines with the purpose of offering a better service to our guests. We did our best to try to lessen to the minimum possible all the unavoidable temporary disturbances. Upon your request, beforehand we offered you a reasonable discount, considering all these. After your first night, after listening to all your complaints and after you informed us of your wish to leave, we offered you a reimbursement for your remaining paid nights. To our surprise, you decided to stay, not only for the originally scheduled 4 nights, but at the end of your stay you still expressed your wish to extend your stay for a 5th night, and after being informed that unfortunately there was no availability for you, still pretended to be “sad” about it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tirol76 wrote a review Nov 2022
Innsbruck, Austria118 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
The location and the private beach at the Lake does it all. The set out of the ecological resort is really nice. Breakfast is good and the staff is very friendy and helpful. The rooms and the breakfast room lacks of atmosphere and light. Price value ratio is very good. A car is needed to get there as it is 7 km out of the centre of Bacalar.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacqueline Baier, Other at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Feb 21, 2024
thanks for your comments, that help us to improve our services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ernesto wrote a review Jan 2022
Lenexa, Kansas6 contributions6 helpful votes
If you like peace & quiet in the middle of the jungle, thus is for you. Not if you are looking for luxury. Almost like a secret place. Found out about it from a native who was selling freshly squeezed juices. Passivity a good place to stay if you go to los rapids, tolum & puerto Morelos.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Call ahead.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacqueline Baier, Other at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Feb 24, 2022
thank you very much and visit us again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Todd B wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada5 contributions8 helpful votes
The rooms are 250 meters from the lake, up on a hill in the jungle. It is hot and humid and they only provide a small, useless old mini fan which is very loud. We had construction going on directly behind our room etc... The dock is small and this place is far from town. My coffee this morning had cinnamon put in it. (Worst coffee I have never drunk). I asked for a normal coffee and the staff refused to make a pot with cinnamon in it. Find a different place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Apr 1, 2020
Thank you for your comments, they are helping us to improve our services. Check in is from 2pm and you arrived before the check in time, at 1:30pm. We told you that your room is ready for you but we have to finish a maintenance work without noise behind your cabaña, just mixing 2 buckets of cement and we informed you that we will finish by 2:30pm. Once you asked us to stop with the work (before 2:30pm) we stopped imediately. You complained about the little fan so we asked you if you wanted a second one, but you did NOT accept the offer since your wife was sleeping. The cabañas are located 100 meters from the lake and yes they are located in our tropical garden, as stated on the website. Our breakfast includes the very typical Mexican Cafe de Olla, as well as hot water to prepare your own coffee or tea. At breakfast time, the only thing you did was complaining about cinnamon in the coffee but you never asked for normal coffee, nobody refused to make regular coffee for you. We hope your next experience in Bacalar will be better.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Enoch wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
Thank you Eric for sharing your experience and your love of nature! We loved that kayak excursion ! We had the opportunity to see a beautiful sunset, an amazing environment, only birds noise....and nice surprises there;)))
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, General Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Wonderful, thank you for sharing your experience and for exploring this beautiful lake with us!!! Come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PDB111 wrote a review Jan 2020
Ottawa, Canada28 contributions5 helpful votes
Situated on the Laguna Bacalar, this eco resort offers very spacious and comfortable accommodations. The palapas are spread around tastefully maintained grounds that keep down the bugs and allow some privacy. Invest in the morning bird watch, we actually saw a toucan. Be sure to swim in the lake.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, General Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Happy New Year to you and thanks for reconnecting with nature and enjoying our concept, come back soon, the tucans are waiting for you!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anja vg wrote a review Aug 2019
Paris, France48 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
Villas Ecotucan was beautiful, but warm. Bedroom, location, breakfast, kayak tour all subleme and pretty but very very warm! The room has no airconditioning so for non Mexicans who are not used the heat, it was definitely not an easy overnight. Because of them being ecofriendly - you dont get drinking water (bottles) in the room and that we could of used that night! Next night lesson learnt and we bought ourselves enough water which made the night more pleasant Also note if you do not have a car, the city is 15 min further and since Ecotucan does not really offer dinner, you are obliged to take the taxi to the city where all the restaurants are. Luckily the staff is so friendly that they offered us a lift to the city after their shift ;-) JUST FOR THE VIEW, THE KAYAK TOUR AND THE OVERALL EXPERIENCE, definitely worth the visit!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from activenatureecotucan, General Manager at Villas Ecotucan
Responded Aug 6, 2019
Anja, thanks for sharing your experience. Yes it is very hot right now and that is challenging in any place without airconditioning, not only for nonmexicans ;) the little fans help a bit, a quick jump in the lake as well. There is drinking water available at the reception at NO COST FOR EVERYONE AS MUCH AS YOU LIKE to refill bottles or glasses. If you don´t have a car or dont´t feel like going into town there is a restaurant in 200 meters walking distance. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our small green oasis despite the warm weather.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bacalar area.
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooBacalar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLAS ECOTUCAN - Updated 2024 Prices & Villa Reviews (Bacalar, Mexico)

Frequently Asked Questions about Villas Ecotucan
Which popular attractions are close to Villas Ecotucan?
Nearby attractions include Lake Bacalar (4.7 miles), Lago Bacalar (Lake of the Seven Colors) (1.9 miles), and Fuerte San Felipe Bacalar (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villas Ecotucan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and canoeing.
What food & drink options are available at Villas Ecotucan?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Villas Ecotucan?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villas Ecotucan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hijos del Cocho, Parque Nacional Maracuya, and Jaguara Cocina Mexicana.
Are pets allowed at Villas Ecotucan?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villas Ecotucan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Villas Ecotucan?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fuerte San Felipe Bacalar (4.5 miles).