We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Villas Ecotucan

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Villas Ecotucan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 48: English reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

I just want to thank Arturo and Jacqueline as well as Nancy for their hospitality and recommendtions while staying two nights with them. Loved the breakfast! Cereal, fruit plate with pineapple, canteloupe, watermelon, papaya and bananas; as well as eggs with bread. The bungalows were an experience for my children! The room was spotless and no humidity smells. The kayaks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liza C
Marina del Rey, California
Reviewed July 8, 2016

I read the negative reviews and the responses. I had positive experiences from the owners/staff, but I can see the frustration some might have. The rooms are basic, there's no outlets and the water barely ran. On the plus side, the room was spotless, it's in the middle of a friggin' jungle, and the access to the lake was fantastic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronkie1
Cape Woolamai, Australia
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

The cabanas are spotless and you feel like you are deep in the jungle...well you are in the jungle! Getting to the accommodation is rather challenging and if you don't have a car be prepared to pay a fair chunk for a taxi. We paid about 280pesos but i think you could get it a bit cheaper if you speak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank onj_71187
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

I've booked this property tempted by professionally made and well presented pictures on the booking.com. Regrettably, it stops there. The hotel is hugely ovepriced for what it is: few cabañas in the wood with hardly any running water (no hot water!), very basic facilities and also unfinished premises- there are open sights of building works taking place amongst the huts,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Margarita G
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed November 17, 2015

We stayed here with our 2 sons in October. The weather was horrible during our stay, lots or rain. We were lucky enough to get into the only semi-dry cabana. Everyone else got rained in. The cabanas are pretty rustic and lack charm. Overall the place was clean but is in definite need for extra Love. With such a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieannelemire
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed October 30, 2015 via mobile

Enter Villas Ecotucan: Cute bungalows with private toilet and shower and mosquito nets over the bed. Good breakfast - omlette, fruit, cereal, toast, coffee 3 friendly dogs on site 💜 Friendly staff Kayaks on site Tours on site Free wifi in the lobby Plenty of books to read if you get bored Wheelbarrow to help you carry your luggage to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lidia C
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

Dears Ecotucan, I am Marta, the other accompanies to Luis during this trip. We are really glad you are looking for improvements and we are really appreciated that for future visitors the accommodation will be in better conditions. We really understand what is ECO and we are really offended that you promptly say we don't understand the concept and also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Msteelworks
Barcelona, España
Reviewed August 22, 2015

This is not an eco hotel, it is a camping with and Eco hotel price, very disappointing. There is no electricity system enough to use some devices, charging your cameras or telephones, no restaurant, the breakfast is so poor, some no taste fruits and a sweet bread with mermelade... No juices, no coffe, and a poor selection of teas, regular...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Luis S
ecotucan, Socio at Villas Ecotucan, responded to this review

Hola Luis, It is very disappointing to receive a comment like this and we are sorry if you didn’t feel comfortable at Ecotucan. We do appreciate your constructive comments about our pier area and the deck chairs, we will change things there. Other things you mentioned we have to react because they are just assumed by you. It seems you...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 14, 2015

Some really good things and really not very good things about this place. The good things are excellent and the bad things are easily fixed, so I hope they do fix them otherwise it's a real shame. The location is excellent if you're looking for a quiet, ecological place right by the water. The lake is gorgeous. You can use...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sara R
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

After having stayed at the Cabañas Eco Románticas this place was a welcome retreat in terms of price and friendliness. The cabins are rustic, there are no ceiling fans or AC so expect mugginess and bugs! However, the place is very ecologically conscious (hence they use solar power and not a generator to avoid noise pollution in the beautiful area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosalindal1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacalar hotels
0.6 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#6 of 9 in Bacalar
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aires Bacalar
Hotel Aires Bacalar
#3 of 9 in Bacalar
28 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#9 of 9 in Bacalar
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
#2 of 31 in Bacalar
233 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rancho Encantado
Rancho Encantado
#1 of 9 in Bacalar
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabanas, Hostal y Camping "Magic Bacalar"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spend your days surrounded by nature at the shores of the beautiful Laguna Bacalar, Mexico’s second largest freshwater lake. Stay in one of ten comfortable and spacious stone cabins with thatch roofs, surrounded by tropical gardens and reminiscent of a Mayan settlement offering guests a tranquil base for relaxing with nature. Swim, kayak or sail the magnificent lagoon, explore the many nearby ruins, hike jungle trails, or just enjoy our scenic beauty, birds, and wildlife. At the end of the day, fall asleep to the comforting hum of the surrounding jungle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Villas Ecotucan

Address: Carretera 307 Chetumal-Cancun km 27.3 | 5 Km Al Norte de Bacalar, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Price Range: $59 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Ecotucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Villas Ecotucan staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Villas Ecotucan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The rooms are nicely cabanas and they all appear to be very similar.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidLivingstone, Mar 19, 2015 | Read review
“This is the kind of place where you really desconnect from the world, cell phones are a most just for safety. The hotel is solar powered and there are no phones on site. Lots of wildlife from beautiful birds to alligators, although very seldom in this side of the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles X3320VDclaudiaa, Nov 27, 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in cabaña 4, newly refurbished. It is very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles JorgeLA14, Jul 25, 2013 | Read review
“We had the furthest room from the main building & restaurant and did not hear anybody, so maybe if you want a quiet room then go for ones further out.”
 of 5 bubbles GoforiTCambridge, Feb 25, 2013 | Read review
“All the rooms are very nice. Only difference is in the size and number of beds.”
 of 5 bubbles ThunderBob, Jan 27, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay