We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Jolly Drover

Certificate of Excellence
London Road | Hill Brow, Liss GU33 7QL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Jolly Drover
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 91: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent pub hotel, very friendly, very good service, friendly locals, and decent rooms, all in all an excellent nights stay, highly recommended! Oh and the home cooked food was delicious.if you are in the area and are looking for a quality place to stay, then the jolly drover is the place for you !

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Coeish, Manager at The Jolly Drover, responded to this review

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again. Thank you for your kind review. Ema More 

Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed not the standard of food it used to be. Ploughmans came with a brown burger bun! my daughter requested brown bread, but burger bun? I had scampi chips and peas. Over priced for the quality.The standard of food we received I would expect at a two for one pub. After our meal which we did not finish we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maxina H
Coeish, Manager at The Jolly Drover, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us at The Jolly Drover. Usually our Ploughman`s are served with a Fresh cottage roll from our local bakery as are all our Sandwich baps. I am also sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Wholetail scampi but I can assure you it is supplied from our... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our night at the Jolly Drover. The accomodation was clean and comfortable and we had a very good nights sleep. Dinner was very generous in proportions and delicious. Breakfast was the same. We could not fault either of them. The only downside was that the person booking us in was not available when we arrived at about 4.00pm... More 

Helpful?
Thank jan c
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were in the area and booked 40 minutes prior to arrival and it worked out really well. Nice local and quiet place. Dinner and breakfast was british pub food, but good! The meat was from the local area, and especially the ham was very good. Room was comfortable but looked a bit dull. However, the shower was divine! New... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tove B
Coeish, Manager at The Jolly Drover, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Oakham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking for accommodation for a couple of nights to combine a visit to Goodwood Festival of Speed with some sightseeing in the area. A search on the internet found us the Jolly Drover in Liss, which seemed to meet our requirements. We weren't disappointed. The staff are all pleasant and helpful. The accommodation is clean and has all... More 

Helpful?
Thank dandraw
Coeish, Manager at The Jolly Drover, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again . More 

Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

So pleased we booked a treat for my husband with our daughter and son in law to be as I've never seen the place as busy .Good thing to this is just shows how good and what a brill reputation it has, we were greeted with a friendly welcome and got quickly shown to our table by Ally .She was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Superb little B&B. Everything was immaculately clean and well presented, my room was comfortable and I got a good sleep in a bed with a good mattress. The wifi, shower, bedside lights all worked good as new. Breakfast was truly excellent, tasty meaty pork sausage from a real butcher, thick cut quality back bacon, perfect scrambled eggs, fresh quality bread... More 

Helpful?
Thank riverwandle
Coeish, Manager at The Jolly Drover, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

What a friendly welcome you get from all the staff. The food is good wholesome pub grub with excellent puddings. Great portion size too. Have been here 3 times now and never had a bad meal. Promise we will be back soon

Helpful?
Thank NALegg
Bay View, Kent, Uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Sunday lunch was superb. The lamb was tender, wide selection of vegetables and the roast potatoes were perfect. Bread and Butter pudding highly recommended and the other desserts looked just as good. Friendly welcoming staff and a lovely homely atmosphere! Very enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank Jackey W
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Booked into this Bed and Breakfast last minute and we were greeted by a lovely young lady who saw us in even though we were a tad late arriving - thank you! Clean and pleasant room with ample space for an overnight stay. Bright en suite which was also really clean. Tea and water available. Comfortable nights stay in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathinski
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liss
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 2 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
5.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 2 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Jolly Drover is a welcoming country pub, three miles from Petersfield. Home cooked food, friendly locals and superb staff all enhance the comfort offered in our six en suit letting bedrooms. Situated on the Hampshire/West Sussex boarders we are close to Goodwood, Liphook and Liss being a mile away with the main line train station, within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Jolly Drover

Address: London Road | Hill Brow, Liss GU33 7QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liss
Price Range: $114 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jolly Drover 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Jolly Drover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jolly Drover Liss, Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay