We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ellerton Bungalow

Traveler (186)
Room & Suite (52)
Pool & Beach (31)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Ellerton Bungalow or “the main house “ was once a tea planters residence and is around 110 years old. It has two suites and one double room. The “valley house “ has 3 rooms; one very large (which can house two adults and two small children), a medium size and a smaller one which are double rooms. The two “garden rooms” are actually separate spacious bungalows for single or double occupancy. The new “Aurora bungalow “ is our flagship suite and can house 4 people. The whole property is rich in fauna and flora; a bird watchers paradise! We want you to feel at home; be it at the pool enjoying stunning views over the valley or playing board games in one of the many corners of our warm and cozy hotel. You can explore the surrounding area either by foot or bicycle. Ellerton has three pets; dogs Polly and Sam and Kitty our old cat. All drinks are included in the room rate. We live on the premises most of the time and are just as hands-on as our wonderful staff. Luca and Iromi Poloni
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS
354Reviews
210Photos
0Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 268
  • 68
  • 14
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is a paradise location, off the beaten track and set in beautiful, lush surroundings. The hosts are attentive and welcoming, there when you need them and unobtrusive during the day. The food is of an excellent quality, and caters well for both European and Sri Lankan
Read more
Response from Imp57, Owner at Ellerton Bungalow
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for having spent a part of your holiday with us, and for your review! Yes, Ellerton is indeed all of what you have mentioned, but it is also an ongoing project! There is always something to be done; some of it necessary and therefore unavoidable, whereas others a whim and therefore simply fun. But whatever it may be, the aim is to offer our guests a couple of relaxing days in beautiful surroundings with good food and good vibes.
Read more
Compliments to the new owners Iromi and Luca for what they have achieved in a short period. Their property is a home away from home. Very friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, well kept surroundings. A place to unwind after touring in the Kandy area.
Read more
Response from Imp57, Owner at Ellerton Bungalow
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for having stayed with us, and for your kind compliments! Yes, we have done a great deal, but it is indeed an ongoing project, and encouragement from our guests is the strongest incentive to do so.
Read more
We were given a warm welcome and led to a lovely room in the gardens near the pool. A big peaceful drawing room in the main house and lots of books and games provided. The valley view was breath taking, attentive staff providing free drinks on the terrace. For meals we were
Read more
Response from Imp57, Owner at Ellerton Bungalow
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for having stayed with us, and for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and yes, Ellerton seems to have a vibe which soothes the body and soul. We don’t offer an a la carte menu, mainly with the aim to reduce on food waste, but that does not mean that we do not accommodated individual requests. We will gladly make a bowl of pasta, a risotto or a dish of parmigiana.
Read more
The two nights we spent here on our recent holiday were not enough. It's about half an hour's drive out of the hustle and bustle of Kandy and is surrounded by a lovely flower garden and peaceful hill views. The hosts usefully provide a map of local walks and cycle rides. The
Read more
Response from Imp57, Owner at Ellerton Bungalow
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We now have an added activity “ which is a drive ( by tuk tuk, and with as many stops as one wants) through the the beautiful Hantana Hills.
Read more
We were sadly recommended to the Ellerton but don't be fooled by the positive reviews.It is anything but good! Based on our recent experience I would strongly recommend to avoid this establishment - there are far superior places to stay. We clearly pulled the short straw and
Read more
Response from Imp57, Owner at Ellerton Bungalow
Responded 2 weeks ago
We welcome all the comments by our guests on TripAdvisor. Praise and appreciation make our hearts sing and constructive criticism helps to improve the quality of our property and service. Therefore we make it a point to always reply. But in in this particular case, we will simply leave it to you the reader, to compare this persons review against all the others. As you can see, he has offended and insulted around 200 people! But we will reply to the most serious accusation of all; that being the accusation that we are tax evaders! This is a very serious allegation indeed, and had we been different people would have filed for libel and defamation! But instead we will invest that money ( lawyers are expensive) in our property and staff. Although our guests can settle their invoice in anyway they wish ( cash or credit card) we do say that we prefer cash. The simple reason for this is that for each credit card payment the bank charges 3.5% of the total invoice. Most establishments add this amount to the invoice, but we don’t. Upon his return to the UK he requested a full refund through his tour operator. We did not agree with any type of refund, and therefore see his feedback on TripAdvisor as a puerile act of vindictiveness in order to damage our business and reputation. There are people who travel, not to acquire new experiences and to enrich themselves, but to find all kinds of shortcomings, and make totally false and dishonest accusations in order to gain a monetary benefit by demanding unwarranted refunds. This guest very obviously falls into that category. We don’t think we have anything more to say, as it clear that the reviewer through lies, defamation and slander intends to damage our business and the livelihood of those we employ. We are better than that.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementEllerton Bungalow
Entrance to the brand new Aurora Bungalow!
Photo provided by managementEllerton Bungalow
Bespoke linen. This from the Aurora bungalow.
Photo provided by managementEllerton Bungalow
Bespoke linen. This from our garden bungalow.
Photo provided by managementEllerton Bungalow
Bathroom of the new Aurora Bungalow
Photo provided by managementEllerton Bungalow
View from our new Aurora Bungalow.
PreviousNext
12345611
"Lovely pool, superb dining and great prices."
"The Garden Rooms have balconies which overlook the beautiful countryside"
"Garden rooms offer you a view down across the valley"
"Garden or valley room"
"Garden room would be worth asking for."
PreviousNext
12345620
ALSO KNOWN AS
ellerton bungalow hotel doluwa
LOCATION
Sri LankaCentral ProvinceKandy DistrictDoluwa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing