We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites

Save
Share
Anse Bois de Rose, Praslin Island Seychelles
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$311
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1747)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (600)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites
Updated 10/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2021 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Beauty, safety, peace, tranquility and quality, surrounded by nature, and named after the unique Coco de Mer Palm tree which, although extremely rare, occurs in abundance in the tropical forests, around the Hotel. This traditional yet modern, four star hotel lies in over 200 acres of natural beauty on the edge of the Indian Ocean. Spacious grounds, comfortable rooms, private location and a friendly atmosphere offering spectacular views of the surrounding islands, forested mountainsides and glorious sunsets. Located on the 2nd largest island in the Seychelles, Praslin, at Anse Bois De Rose, on the South west coast • Distance from airport – 8 km (15 minutes by taxi). • Flight time from the main island, Mahé, is 15 minutes • 55 Minutes by high speed ferry boat Adjacent to the Coco De Mer, our junior suite wing, “the Black Parrot Suites”, are perched on an imposing granite rock out-crop, that offers magnificent views of the Indian Ocean and beyond.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Hiking
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Patio
Walking tours
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans, Dutch and 9 more
1235Reviews61Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 761
  • 312
  • 90
  • 39
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Justin S wrote a review Nov 2021
Portland, Oregon3 contributions
My wife and I booked a 5 night stay at Coco de Mer through Trip Advisor for part of our honeymoon. Trip Advisor took our money and one month before our stay I confirmed our booking with the hotel directly. Cynthia Hoareau personally emailed me, explicitly stating that our reservation was confirmed. However, once we got there, we were told that our reservation was never confirmed and they did not have a room for us. I showed another employee, Alexandre, the confirmation email from Cynthia, but he did not care, leaving us stranded on a small island with nowhere to stay. Luckily, we were able to find another hotel, but we had to pay for that one and we have not received a refund for our original booking yet. Hopefully, it won't be a problem getting our money back, but time will tell. Do not book a room here. Coco de Mer will lie to you about your reservation being confirmed, even if you speak to them directly. You run the risk of either getting stranded or paying for two hotel rooms (which are not cheap). There are plenty of other nice hotels on Praslin. Avoid this place. They ruined a large portion of our honeymoon and made little effort to correct their mistake.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't book this hotel. They will lie to you about your reservation being confirmed. They can not...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Director of sales Coco de Mer, Marketing at Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear JJJJ11119999. Your disappointment and frustration is understandable. Your assessment of the facts is incomplete. We received your booking from a 3rd party company (not Trip Advisor). Yes, you did contact our Reservations Department one month prior to arrival and Cynthia from our res team confirmed that we were indeed holding a booking for you. That was accurate information valid at the time. Unfortunately the 3rd party vendor whom you contracted with did not adhere to contractual payment terms agreed to with ourselves, which, after repeated unsuccessful requests and demands from our side that they adhere to the contractual terms, resulted in all bookings being cancelled, including yours. The principal responsibility to advise you of the change in status lies with the party whom you paid and contracted with. It appears that this was not done as you were unaware that your booking had been cancelled. We totally agree and accept that we should have reverted to you as well, checking if you were aware of the change in status of your booking, even though the prime responsibility to do so was not ours. We did not do so, for which we apologize. Of course you were an innocent party in this - we are not claiming otherwise. We have received no money whatsoever for your booking - you should be able to make a claim accordingly. We have already confirmed to the booking originator that no fees from our side apply. You were not left stranded without accommodation at all and our staff certainly showed care. We recommended to you that you in fact stay at Coco de Mer Hotel but in Superior Room (which you were shown) instead of in a Junior Suite as originally booked. This would either have had to be an entirely new booking (your original booking was cancelled) or you would have had to re-instate the booking, but at a lower price as it is a lower room category. Alternatively, three other hotels were suggested to you of similar quality, one of which you chose to book at. We even paid for your transfer by taxi to your new hotel, so that you were not faced with an additional transfer cost. The hotel you opted for is a lovely choice, hopefully the two hours of frustration you faced will soon be a thing of the past and you can enjoy the next 5 days of honeymoon in bliss and undisturbed solitude. We wish you both a happy holiday and all the best. With kind regards, The Coco de Mer Hotel team
Read more
Pamela K wrote a review Oct 2021
Bensheim, Germany40 contributions31 helpful votes
We had a great time at Coco de Mer. The sundowner deck, the staff and the rooms have been the perfect start into our holidays. The morning walk is a must do and it was absolutely stunning. We want to say thank you to Ash and his whole staff for this great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Rent a car at the hotel and go for the morning walk.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Director of sales Coco de Mer, Marketing at Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dearest Guests We really appreciate your recommendations and thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review with us. We trust that you have taken home with you - some magical memories of your stay on Praslin island and the Coco de Mer. Sending you some warm Seychelles sunshine and our very best wishes. Your Team at The Coco de Mer.
Read more
Ido D wrote a review Oct 2021
Tel Aviv, Israel2 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked 3 nights in Coco de mer hotel, but because of a personal problem we had to cancel the first night. The hotel agreed to refund us without to blink, we were really suprise, usually most hotels will just decline the request, Ash the hotel manager was extremly nice and kind. At the check in we were sitted and got drinks from the bar untill the check in were finished. The hotel location is absolutly gorgous, Its sits on the beach, with a balcony and an infinity pool above the sea. There are also another 2 pools near the rooms. We got a room on the higher deck and it was clean, big a cosy, the view from the room was breathtaking. The hotel as a big resteraunt with great food, with alot of options, something that we didnt see much in seychelles. There is an option to take the buffet which is very diverse. We had great expirience and we sure will be back in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Director of sales Coco de Mer, Marketing at Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dearest Guests It was a great pleasure having you stay as guests of the hotel - and we are all delighted to read that you enjoyed a wonderful experience at the Coco de Mer. Thank you for taking the time to share these lovely words with us - and for appreciating our service and hospitality. We trust that you will enjoy long-lasting memories of your stay on Praslin Island. With Thanks and warm regards Your team @ The Coco de Mer
Read more
Luca S wrote a review Oct 2021
Sundern, Germany2 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel convinced us especially because of the exceptionally friendly staff and the excellent cuisine. Special thanks to - the general manager Ash for his helpfulness and friendly approach. - Ajay and Debdeep for their great sense of humor and fantastic service. -Gayan and his kitchen team for their awesome job The hotel should be booked according to the season because there is increased seaweed on that island side in some months. Special thanks and regards from the family Sanchez
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Director of sales Coco de Mer, Marketing at Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dearest Guests We are pleased that you appreciated our service and hospitality offered - during your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to thank us individually - and recognize the effort put in by the team. We wish you a safe and pleasant year ahead - filled with wonderful memories of your experience with us. With best wishes and warm regards Your Team @ The Coco de Mer
Read more
Judy D wrote a review Sep 2021
14 contributions2 helpful votes
Honestly best hotel choice for a honeymoon or if you’re looking for a hotel stay for a relaxing and quiet getaway at one of the most beautiful islands in Seychelles. Everything was perfect from our room, food and the wonderful service. Especially the general manager, Mr. Ash, was super friendly and interactive with the hotel guests. He was nice enough to upgrade our room to a superior room. The hotel even offered us free cocktails as a kind gesture for our honeymoon. It was unfortunate the weather was rainy most of the time that we couldn’t enjoy much of the beach and swimming pool. I highly recommend this hotel if you’re planning to stay in Praslin.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Director of sales Coco de Mer, Marketing at Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dearest Guests It was indeed a great pleasure having you both stay here as hotel guests of ours and thank you for your kind and generous comments and appreciation of our hospitality and service experienced - during your recent stay with us. Your comments certainly motivates us all further. We trust that we will remain your accommodation of choice - should you travel to our beautiful islands - again. Wishing you both - the best of everything in your future - together and Congratulations!! Sending you some Warm Seychelles Sunshine and our best wishes too. Your team @ The Coco de Mer.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$303 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
coco de mer - black parrot hotel anse bois de rose
LOCATION
SeychellesPraslin IslandAnse Bois de Rose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites?
Nearby attractions include Curieuse Island (4.9 miles), Vallée de Mai Nature Reserve (1.6 miles), and Cote d’Or Beach (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Les Rochers, Les Lauriers, and Village Take Away.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites have airport transportation?
Yes, Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Hindi, Dutch, and Indonesian.
Does Coco de Mer Hotel & Black Parrot Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.