We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,188: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Rooms dirty, very moldy with stains on curtains, bedcovers. Just gross. Pictures on website don't reflect conditions of rooms or facility. The whole place is just grubby, dirty. Being a little old and careworn is forgivable - this place needs to be cleaned! Even siting on the the lobby and reception desk - dirty old broken fish tank, mud and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wondersoull
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Hello ma’am, as you have mentioned, your room was in substandard shape, and we did not give you the accomodations that you deserved. Additionally, this week we have relocated our tropical fish and are cleaning the fish tank. Within approximately 4-5 days, it will be back up and running. I apologise that you had to see this process. No excuses,...

Acworth, Georgia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This had been on my list of must visit resorts since I'd read about it years ago. The place is MASSIVELY Grand and elaborate. The amenities are exceptional and the hotel is impressive. It's a overwhelming undertaking to clean and manage so I give credit for the quality you do get.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell R
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! At Gamboa Rainforest Resort we strive to provide all our guests with the ultimate in guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again very soon!

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There are beautiful views here and really lovely grounds, but the place itself needs a lot of work! Rooms are spacious with balconies and hammocks, but the rooms are sadly out of date -- but clean. A/C works which is a big plus. The staircases have torn treads and are in need of repair. Food was fine -- buffet style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank REBECCA` A
Chillicothe, Missouri, United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is about 45 min from Panama City. We took an Uber here for approx $20 one way. There isn't much at the resort. Although the pool looked relaxing, this resort was VERY run down. There isn't much to do or see at the resort itself. We ended up taking a short walk to the marina where we hired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Margaret, your comments are helpful, and appreciated. The resort just came out of an unduly arduous rainy season, and even though all of the buildings received a paint job less than 12 months ago, we are scheduling another exterior treatment shortly. Your comments urge us to make this happen as soon as possible, and we thank you for...

NC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Good: Rooms were nice, incredible views of the river, nice pool. Being in the forest is good, quick access to the canal - - - and actually, into the city isn't too bad. The Bad: Needs rehab physically - - paint, update. Service. There are a few people who were very nice, helpful, and a few others (pool bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simnznc06
Quantico, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a package tour. We had a great view of the Chagres River from our room which was clean and comfortable. All of the staff were vey nice and friendly and the food was also good. We took some of the boat tours which were also very nice and you see a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate that you are taking the time to letting know your opinion is very important for us. Thank you so much for your very positive review! About your excellent stay. We are glad you enjoyed this visit.

Greenwood Village, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

There's no reason to stay here other than a nice view of the Chargres River from the hotel. There's a Radisson near by that is much nice, but without the view of the River. The dresser in our room was busted. The security safe not bolted down. Service in the restaurant very bad. We waited 45 minutes before they could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jerry z
Guest R, General Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jerry Thank you for sharing your comments. We take them quite seriously, and will be following up. There is no excuse for a safe not being bolted down, or a broken dresser. Nor is it ever allowable to wait 45 minutes for your check in the restaurant. Your stay should have been pleasurable, and while we try very hard...

NY
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights at the end of December at the resort. The rooms are clean and mostly basic . the hammock on the porch was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was adequate and kept refreshed. The dinner was also adequate and kept refreshed. The pool area was clean and quiet. The gym was also adequate. the pricing for some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westendave
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

On behalf of all the staff thank you for having stayed with us and give us the opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you back and have the opportunity to serve you once again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a lovely place. Beautiful setting, very tranquil with great staff. We didn't stay at the resort but enjoyed a number of their tours. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful. (My only wish is that the large fish in the tank be released back into the sea... he is miserable)... The boat trip was awesome and we really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrina C
Torrance, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The tour programs that they provide are awesome. Probably many people book this place for that. The resort is in the middle of jungle so you can see different types of exotic vegetation from the hotel too. But bit expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minimize940314
Guest R, Guest Relations at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! At Gamboa Rainforest Resort we strive to provide all our guests with the ultimate in guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again very soon!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,287 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1243)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (309)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
View from Room (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
0:11
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (517)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
15.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
15.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#19 of 115 in Panama City
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,017 reviews
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 115 in Panama City
776 reviews
17.8 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#2 of 9 in Colon
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Price Range: $131 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and other travelers.
58 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (58)

Questions? Get answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure to have a balcony -- better views”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccaaM160XY, 3 days ago | Read review
“Ask yourslef "Do I really want to be in this location?"”
 of 5 bubbles jerryz716, 1 week ago | Read review
“all rooms face out but newer wing has hammocks on the porch”
 of 5 bubbles westendave, 1 week ago | Read review
“I enjoyed a room that required me to take the elevator near the Monkey Bar.”
 of 5 bubbles NeilT_12, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“For birders, rooms around 343, 443 and higher - overlook trees from balcony, wires and other trees from hall.”
 of 5 bubbles CtFreddie, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay