We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Traveler (126)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (25)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Rose in Vale is an historic Grade 2 star listed building and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in our own wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens, a duck pond, 10 acres to explore with access to local walks. With a sunbathing terrace next to the outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, both of which are open between mid-May and mid-September. We are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Rose in Vale is primarily a hotel for adults welcoming children overnight from the age of 12. Privately owned and run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our talented Chefs provide seasonal fine dining along with a classic brasserie menu in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide a peaceful retreat at the end of the day with a cocktail or two in the bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Concierge
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
548Reviews
3Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 300
  • 110
  • 64
  • 39
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were very fortunate to have amazing weather and could enjoy the grounds which are beautiful. The room - when we arrived it was really warm in the room. Despite turning all the radiators off and opening the window it was a stuffy nights sleep. We requested a fan for the rest
Read more
Response from RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Jen, Thank you for your review. We know that you liked your room and did not want to swap to the alternative option that we were able to offer you. The room descriptions are accurate regarding configuration but we understand your preference and will make a note for next time.
Read more
Excellent facilities very comfy bed. Full cornish breakfast great. Fruit chose was restricted.We had evening meal too.The choice was comprehensive and many locally sourced ingredients.many original chef ideas e.g. Charcoal bread for one.which turned out not to be hard and dry as
Read more
Response from RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time. For sure we cannot cater for every individual need for physical assistance but we may have a room that meets your needs so do discuss it with us next time.
Read more
My wife took me here for a birthday treat and upgraded us to a superior room, a very quiet and lovely spot. The room was adequate but nothing special and very bland. We were only 6 for dinner and place in a very cold and disappointing room, we have had better rooms for dinner in
Read more
Response from RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
There is a substantial element of detail missing from your review. You booked a two night stay well in advance. Unfortunately you were unlucky in that your arrival coincided with named storm Gareth which thundered and raged outside but you competed quite favourably whinging and whining on the inside; oh the weather, what am I going to do, where am I going to go...and on and on....and on. All of our remaining guests had worked out a wet weather program and amazingly one couple stuck resolutely to their coastal path walk. On your first night you complained about your steak. We offered you every remedy imageinable but you purposefully declined them all. In the kitchen we analysed and tested every single element on your plate and found nothing untoward and the seatk was perfect. Next morning you turned up at Reception to complain about your steak and you then added that you had been waiting for breakfast service for 20 minutes but nobody had arrived at which point you got quite nasty, demanded your money back and threatened us with a legal suit. Good old CCTV, you have to admit you can't beat it can you! So off you went to have a leisurely breakfast thinking your stay would be refunded whilst we reviewed your claimed 20 minute wait. CCTV shows you turning up at the bar, checking around to see nobody had seen you, walk around in a circle and then head straight to Reception to claim your 20 minute wait time. We knew it was simply not possible but there is nothing like concrete visual evidence. We relayed our findings to you, you settled up in full and left quietly.
Read more
It frustrates me that hoteliers don’t test out the beds they expect their customers to sleep on!!! Our stay at this so-called 4* property was not great. The mattress was well past it’s sell by date - very lumpy and uncomfortable. The pillows were also very lumpy. On the second
Read more
Response from RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Responded Mar 21, 2019
You first reported a problem with your mattress on check out after a two night stay. By the time you had reached the car park we had rolled on it, bounced on it, run a UV lamp over it, checked it with a spirit level and gave it a fairly tough time to see if we could locate a problem. Try as hard as we did we were unable to find any issue with your mattress and your claim that you kept quiet about this critical issue for two days until check out, a point which you aim to defend in advance within your review, less than credible. To further validate our findings we have requested a number of independent persons to kindly check the same and they have had nothing to report. However, whilst in your room checking your mattress we noted the empty bottles of alcohol which you had brought in with you to avoid purchasing anything at the hotel which is more likely to be the reason you did not want management in your room until after your departure. Ultimately the only thing that we could find relating to your stay that was a bit lumpy was your attempted route to a refund which we can now conclude bounced back without a squeak, save the clanking of a few alien empty bottles..
Read more
The first room we were shown was cold with a poor view. We had to pay £20 per night for an upgrade to a warm room with a better view. We were disappointed that the room we had booked was so cold and looked out onto a steep terraced garden. Dinner was rather pretentious, there
Read more
Response from RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Carole, we had a long and detailed discussion about this in the bar but despite our attempts to explain the dinner menu to you it would seem that we must try harder. You selected Venison from our 2 rosette a la carte menu and the description very clearly does not include chips. Lower down the page there is a section titled 'Sides' which includes Hand Cut Chips which is there for you to select should you want. You did go on to say the venison was delicious but you would have liked a 12x12 raft model (in chips) of the 1947 Kon-Tiki pan-Pacific expedition to sit alongside your venison. This we would happily have created for you do need to help us with just two points, firstly you would need to order chips and secondly you would need to provide our chef with an approximate layout to complete the construction to your specification. May headwinds always be with you as they say.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$153 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTruro DistrictSt AgnesMithian
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing