We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Undara Experience

Savannah Way, Undara Volcanic National Park, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Undara Experience
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our family of four stayed in the Quad Swag tents and they were fantastic - very clean, beds super comfy and everything we needed. Little bar fridge, small bench area and sink with little table and four chairs. Perfect for our two nights there. We did the active tour, walk of the crater rim, enjoyed a dinner in one of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 2adl2chd
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My brother and I went to Undara after hearing a lot of great things. We did two bush walks, two tours and stayed in tent accommodation while we were out there over two days. Kalkani Crater walk - 2.5km return We did this walk once we arrived at Undara, after a four hour drive from Cairns. The walk itself is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lava tubes are rare, only found in a few parts of the world. They were more impressive than I had imagined. Like being in a cathedral. The night tour with the bats coming out the cave was amazing. Well worth it. you need to know that you cannot visit the lava tubes unless on a tour so book in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights in our campervan in the campground at Undara. The atmosphere is very relaxing. We felt very at home there. The facilities were excellent. We loved the communal area where the bar and restaurant are. This became our home away from home. Free coffee and tea are available all day and you can sit there and answer... More 

Helpful?
Thank 119denise
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great experience form start to finish , very friendly helpful staff , great eco based touristic site , the SWAG tent were the softer side of camping with off floor beds, linen and towels provided, facilities well looked after. The dawn chorus was wonderful. The Lava tubes are a wonderful natural site to see. Great hikes to give a... More 

Helpful?
Thank john h
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This resort came highly recommended to us and while the lava tunnels were amazing other aspects of our visit were disappointing. The staff seemed a little jaded with one of the ladies in reception being curt to the point of rude. We had booked a powered van site which was very narrow and unkempt. One of our neighbours was camping... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally H
Bram C, Owner at Undara Experience, responded to this review

G'day Sally H, Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your very valuable feedback on your recent visit to Undara Experience. I'm very sorry that your experience wasn't up to your expectations. As much as we would love every guest to be happy all of the time, we know this isn't possible. I will however, attempt to... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I camped for 2 nights at their campground. Their campground is huge and they try to allocate slots as far away as others as they can. Each site has their own number. This allows maximum privacy but at the same time orderly. We have been to campgrounds where we were told to just "pick a spot" which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wa15
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved visiting Undarra Lava tubes. Second visit in 22 years! The guide seemed to be fairly well versed in the information. We were disappointed to find out that the "Savannah School" where all guides are supposedly trained is a bit of a furphy. The gent was enthusiastic, well read, a little off information here and there however he was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharonofBuderim
Bram C, Owner at Undara Experience, responded to this review

G'day SharonofBuderim, Thanks so much for taking the time to give some feedback about your recent visit to Undara Experience. I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you regarding your comments about the training of our tour guides. I can assure you that there are no "Furphy's" when it comes to Savannah Guide training. There are, however, guides at... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a powered site which was situated in natural bushland. The sites were lovely drive-through sites; however with all the bushland available, the sites could have been bigger. We were right on top of our neighbours which did spoil the experience a little. The amenities were kept very clean; although the hot water ran out in the middle... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rainbowbeliefs
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

A great place to stop to break up a journey. We stayed in the recently refurbished railway carriages for a bit of fun. We booked a package (accommodation, meals and attractions) which seemed expensive, but turned out to be better value than doing the components separately. Bush breakfast every morning was hearty. Tours of the lava tubes fascinating, but the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty2525
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

233 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (222)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Near Undara Experience

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
UNDARA EXPERIENCE – AUSTRALIA’S ACCESSIBLE OUTBACK! Only 3½ hours drive from Cairns and four hours from Townsville in Tropical North Queensland Australia, Undara can be easily accessed via the Savannah Way by conventional vehicle and is situated right on the edge of the Undara Volcanic National Park. The Undara Lava Tubes are a world class natural geological phenomenon. Huge tubes formed approximately 190,000 years ago; molten lava drained out under a thick cooler crust, leaving a series of long, hollow tubes. Today, Undara’s highly trained Savannah Guides conduct small group tours from the natural Bush Resort, into the lava tubes where visitors marvel at this incredible geological wonder. Booking Essential ... more   less 

Additional Information about Undara Experience

Address: Savannah Way, Undara Volcanic National Park, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Undara Volcanic National Park
Price Range: $71 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Undara Experience 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Undara Experience Australia/Undara Volcanic National Park, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay