We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100 Greece
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book directly with us & Enjoy Flexibility at the best value!
Booking.com
$130
View deal
Expedia.com
$139
View deal
Trip.com
$109
View deal
Priceline
Travelocity$139
Hotels.com$139
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3469)
Pool & Beach (720)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 11/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 16 in Adelianos Kampos
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
The legendary Aquila Rithymna Beach fronts the azure 500 m long beach on the north coastal line of Crete. A favorite destination for repeater visitors and vacationers from all over the world, proves the delightful experience of hospitality, sunshine, modern amenities and faultless service. Most of the generous rooms, bungalows and villas housed at the hotel's colorful gardens or at the local style buildings. The resort is specifically aimed at families with children of all ages for magical holidays with plenty of in-house facilities and entertaining activities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Book directly with us & Enjoy Flexibility at the best value!
3192Reviews448Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,755
  • 854
  • 342
  • 117
  • 124
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
klooqdcfc wrote a review May 16
9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We’ve just spent two weeks in this superb hotel (01/05-13/05) and I cannot praise it enough. The hotel is amazingly clean and spacious, facilities are superb and the staff are fantastic. Our experiences these past two weeks are unrivalled and I’d like to personally name check, Georgios, Stellios and Kiki from the buffet area, Leonardo and Chrysanthi from the main bar and Sandy from the pool area. You are all truly amazing and nice people who go way beyond your job description and make the experience very personal and welcoming. True assets to the hotel. I’ll remember you all for a long long time. Briefly on the hotel. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and thoroughly cleaned every day. Our room was facing the sea and such a great view. The buffets were interesting and good quality every day. Plenty of variety and optional themed evenings a delight. The pool was huge! Cleaned regularly and a lovely temperature for Spring. Weather was great for the time of year. The a la carte restaurent was high quality and worth a visit. The boys run a good show and look after you. The food is gourmet quality. Credit to the chefs. No down side to this review. We will be going back for sure and promises have been made! There is a spa with massages available at additional cost. Well worth a visit. My Cretan massage was incredible. Love this place and all who work there. A must to visit. Kids and families very welcome and looked after too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Great views from the majority of rooms.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Maura L wrote a review Sep 2021
Galway, Ireland2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
Just returned from a wonderful two week holiday at the Aquila. Cannot recommend this hotel enough. I am surprised at some of the negative comments on TripAdvisor - guests should consider the challenge for the Aquila team in running a massive complex, after 18 months of uncertainty while keeping every single guest safe from COVID. Everyone on the team is doing their best and more. Everything about the Aquila experience is well thought out to optimise for relaxation - accessible & beautiful beach, plenty of pool areas, spacious interiors, quiet rooms and smiling staff at every turn. I have travelled & experienced resort hotels across many parts of Europe & Greece and can say without hesitation that the selection, quality and choice of food at the Aquila is exceptional. An abundance of salads, the best of Cretan produce, beautiful cheeses, bountiful fresh fruits, fresh fish - the options are endless. The jewel in the Aquila crown is it’s staff - what an amazing team! Warm, always smiling & willing to go the extra mile at every turn. For example, I had a preference for a certain imported wine which was in limited supply - the hotel mgt did a special reorder of the wine during my stay so we did not go without. There are a number of staff who warrant a special mention. The yoga instructor who offered amazing sunset yoga experiences on the beach. Elena & the spa team for their care - don’t miss the spa experience! The lovely Emmanuela for always remembering our lunch preferences & the wonderful captain Eddie (Neli) in the main restaurant - always smiling & making sure every evening meal was one to remember. Thank you to all of the Aquila team.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Bring sea shoes for pebble beach - helps getting in/out of water.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded Sep 16, 2021
Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review, following your recent stay with us at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel. I am absolutely delighted to read your comments and to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay is extremely rewarding indeed. During these unprecedented times, we have had to make a number of changes to our usual operation and I would like to thank you most sincerely for your understanding and support. I will certainly be sharing your feedback with my team, particularly Elena, Emmanuela and Eddie who will be so pleased to learn that they went some way towards ensuring your stay with us was so memorable and enjoyable. Thank you on behalf of us all for your very kind words. We all hope we may welcome you can in the very near future. Kindest regards Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Judith3863 wrote a review May 11
Paphos, Cyprus43 contributions63 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is beautifully clean, well maintained and nicely laid out. The food is very good and there are a lot of options at each meal. Staff are very friendly, helpful and work really hard. The grounds are well maintained and nicely laid out. I came with my elderly mother who has some mobility difficulties, the staff swopped her to a room with a shower (as opposed to one over the bath) when we requested it (the tour company we booked with advertised it as a shower, not shower over a bath and I did ring to check). This is the first time I have been away with my mother since her mobility has declined and whilst we managed, it would have been helpful to have had handrails on both sides of the main stairs (one arm is better than the other) and on the front steps of the hotel. There is a step going into the indoor pool that is not clearly marked and this is a BIG hazard (raised it with the hotel and Rep). I prefer tap water rather than bottled (recycling and all that) but the hotel seems to prefer to provide/sell bottled water with meals at a cost of 5€. Drinks are expensive. The sunbeds at the main pool are really comfortable, the ones by the small pool are basic. Plenty sunbeds on the beach, outdoor showers and changing rooms are available. The rooms are very nice, plenty storage space, spotlessly clean, comfy beds, selection of pillows, dressing gowns and slippers provided. There is also a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. TV is good quality and there are mirrors on the wardrobe and above the dressing table. The Air Con is one of the best I have come across, whisper silent and very efficient. The shower is powerful, the water hot and a good, non slip bath mat is provided. Lovely balcony with dryer, pegs, chairs and a table. We attended one extra BBQ night, it was lovely and the food was good but I was disappointed as it was buffet style again, the meat was warm, not hot and it cost an extra 22€ on top of what we had already paid. Overall, we had a very nice time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: We came on 1st May for two weeks, it was quieter when we arrived but got busier towards the end....
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
woobalina wrote a review May 6
Kent, UK19 contributions24 helpful votes
Just back from a week at this fabulous hotel. We were 5 people, 3 generations. We had 2 bungalows with partial sea view, which was lovely. Rooms may need a little updating, but were exceptionally clean. Housekeeping were fantastic, rooms cleaned daily and the housekeeping staff were just brilliant. We were half board, the food choice was of a very high standard and plenty of choice. Drinks were expensive, even the bottled water. Lots of swimming pools to choose from, including an indoor pool. Outdoor pools were chilly but the kids loved them. It's easy and cheap to take the bus (bus stop literally outside the hotel) to Rethymno which is a gorgeous town with lots of shops and restaurants. You can buy tickets for €1.20 each way in the on site shop. We went with Tui, and the flights and transfers were really good, no issues at all at Gatwick or Heraklion, it's around an hour from the airport. The Tui app is really useful, giving you your bus numbers etc. Finally, all the staff here are outstanding, I can find no fault. They are all so polite, friendly and helpful. Book here with confidence. Well done Aquila Rethymno
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, I am absolutely delighted to read that your stay with us was all that you expected and more. We take great pride in the Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel, and it is extremely rewarding to receive such wonderful feedback. As you have experienced, the levels of service we offer our guests, and the enjoyment of all those who stay with us is of paramount importance at all times. It was our great pleasure to host you, and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind Regards, Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Annantic wrote a review May 6
Rugby, United Kingdom67 contributions43 helpful votes
Like everyone travel abroad has been restricted but as a widow of 78, I felt there was no time to waste . I came to This area some years ago so knew it was both interesting and beautiful. The Hotel Rethymna Beach is situated on a lovely Blue Flagbeach a few kilometres outside Rethymno easily accessible on the local bus. Set out as aCretan Village the Hotel offers a great choice of accommodation. I stayed in the main hotel in a lovely seaside room with a good bathroom. There are several different restaurants and a main dining area with buffet service. The dining area is run to very high standards by friendly and experienced staff. Everyone is greeted and seated for every meal with some friendly chat. It is a very international hotel with very mixed age range. My Stay here has been lovely thanks to all the kind staff. Big shout for Carlotta and Kevin for all the fun
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, We are so delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful holiday and would like to thank you very much for choosing Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel I am very pleased that our hotel fulfilled all of your holiday needs. Your positive comments have been shared with the whole of my team. It is always such a pleasure to read such a personal recommendation regarding the cuisine and service our guests have received from our amazing staff and I am sure Carlotta and Kevin would wish me to thank you on their behalf. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope that you will be joining us again in the very near future. Kind Regards, Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Tim T wrote a review May 5
Harby, United Kingdom12 contributions13 helpful votes
Our week away towards the end of April was booked fairly last minute - we just needed a relaxing and restorative break after some tough times at home. We went to Crete with no huge expectations, but left refreshed and revitalised after a fantastic week at this lovely hotel. Our room (if a little dated) was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed, with the bonus of a superb sea view from our north facing balcony. The buffet food at both breakfast and dinner was very good with plenty of variety, though the wine list was a tad expensive. We didn't have to drink, did we - but sommellier Stelios was a star! How could we resist him? The beach location was great, even if the sand was on the gritty side. The pool was just amazing. And what made our week really special was the unfailing kindess, efficiency and friendliness of all the staff. They are a true credit to the hotel. We had everything we wanted or needed on site, but it was easy nonetheless to get a bus to charming Rythmna town just 20 minutes away. Honestly, there was nothing to dislike and a few things that made our week really special - warm sunshine in April, a relaxing spa massage (worth every cent!), the celebration of Greek Orthodox Easter (priests and fireworks!) and, most of all, the lovely people that staff this excellent hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: North facing rooms have great sea views - not much daytime sunshine - but fabulous sunsets when...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a lovely review, following your recent stay at Aquila Rithymna Beach. I am absolutely delighted to learn that you and had a most enjoyable and memorable stay with us. It is our constant aim to ensure that our guests receive the very best in service, and I am therefore thrilled to read your comments regarding my team, in particular Stelios, who will be thrilled to know that his efforts have been appreciated and that they have gone some way towards ensuring you had a fabulous vacation. I would like to thank you again for your kind comments and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Julie L wrote a review May 2
1 contribution
We went all inclusive . Our garden bungalow had a sea view which was a lovely bonus but felt the room need an update especially the bathroom as the bath had been repainted by hand and rust spots were coming throughthe mini bar was refilled daily but we were a little confused at the fact that the crisps in the room we had to pay for but in the bar when you ordered a drink nuts and crisps were served with them we went for the Crete night experience was lovely and went to the gala meal too was very disappointed when only the wine we were offered was not all inclusive and we were charged for water too . The staff were all lovely . The all inclusive option was not what we expected as in the taverna and Greek cafe only certain things were in the package plus the drinks and cocktails too which made you feel a little like a second class holiday maker having to ask to make sure you were ordering what was in the package . The only evening entertainment we saw were on the Crete night so nothing much to do after your evening meal except go to the bar or go for a walk . I wouldn’t class this a 5 star hotel but again would say the staff were lovely
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel for your holiday and for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am pleased to hear that there were some aspects of our hotel which you enjoyed and that overall you had a pleasant stay. I am sorry we were unhappy with the way the All Inclusive programme operated. Please accept my apologies if you were not aware that certain items of food and drink were not included in your AI package. It is not uncommon in many hotels, particularly those who offer differing board options, that some items will incur an additional charge. I very much appreciate the constructive comments you have made as these enable us to monitor and improve on the services we offer where possible. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
rougepierretc wrote a review Apr 2022
Ilkley, United Kingdom206 contributions146 helpful votes
We've just returned from Aquia and were sad to have to leave on the Greek Easter Sunday (one week after UK). The programme of events and food from Maundy Thursday onwards was a treat and the culmination was on the day we left. We travelled half board which, although All inclusive is very tempting, was just right for us. We're not huge fans of buffet food but this is pretty good, with huge variety and replenished very frequently. We only have breakfast and dinner and were never hungry. This is a very friendly cosmopolitan hotel, where Brits are not in a majority. Everybody was extraordinarily well behaved, adhering to the mask ruling indoors. The situation on the beach could not be improved, but there are also three pools. When the wind was up, we were very happy around the main pool. We have no complaints about our room, but you ideally want one facing East or West unless the weather is hot, because the North facing rooms get no sunshine until late afternoon, though do face onto the beach. But I have left the best till last. Those who served us were wonderful, without exception and as someone else has observed, this is in the Cretan (Greek) personality. Although everyone was excellent, patient and helpful from day one until we left, we do want to single out a few names. Stelios, the Sommelier became a good friend. He is a lovely man, generous and for whom nothing is too much trouble. We looked out for him every mealtime. Evangelia is a treasure. She and Miron will always give you a warm welcome at mealtime, but all the staff were excellent. So I will only single out one other example, because it is the 'troops' that make hotels like the Aquila work and all were as good as Soyla. One tip. Take the trouble to learn a few Greek greetings phonetically (such as Kalimera and Kalispera). It always pays to say please and thank you but doing it in Greek reaps rich rewards. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts to all at Aquila Rithymnia Beach. PS Knossos was disappointing; the 4wd excursion was a laugh but we loved catching the bus 7km to Rhethymna and spending the whole day there. Oh and there's a Blanc du Nil shop opposite the hotel...the next summer fashion trend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: East or West facing.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, I am absolutely thrilled to read your review and learn that you found our services to be to the highest of standards, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us at Aquila Rithymna Beach. It is our absolute aim, at all times, to ensure that our guests have a memorable vacation, and it is therefore so rewarding to learn that you had a vacation with us which was so relaxing. I will certainly be sharing your feedback with my team, in particular Stelios, Evangelia and Miron, who will wish for me to thank you for your kind comments. Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope we may have the pleasure of your company again in the near future. Kind Regards, Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Drew wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom67 contributions75 helpful votes
Right from the moment of check in, the staff (from concierge, front of house, support staff and ground maintenance) were incredibly friendly and welcoming - although the same can be said of all Greeks! The rooms are not the most modern (we had some bits of ceiling olasterboard powder falling in the bathroom) but it doesn't market itself as a luxury hotel so that doesn't really matter. The grounds are beautifully kept and its frontage onto the beach is gorgeous. We had the half board and the food was varied throughout so no complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The bungalows are definitely worth paying a few more euros for per night
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, I am so pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel. There is nothing more rewarding then learning that our valued guests have had a wonderful and memorable vacation with us. Our priority at all times is to ensure that the services we offer are second to none, and it is therefore with absolute pleasure I read my team met and exceeded your expectations. I appreciate your constructive feedback regarding your room and please be assured that this will be duly noted, as such comments really do assist us in our continued pursuit of excellence. It was our pleasure to host you and I hope that we may welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Michael M wrote a review Apr 2022
Sunbury, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
We went as a family of 4 with a 5 and 3 year old. The kids club was great for the kids during the day. We could drop them off and the staff was super friendly and the kids were excited to go. They would come back with new art and dances. It's fenced off within the resort, but also fairly large with both indoor and outdoor spaces, giving them a variety of options depending on the weather. Our first day back home our 3 year old asked if she could do kids club today, but alas, no. They also have a playground onsite, which proved extremely useful and a few hours were spent enjoying the swings. For the adults, the pools were great, although cold while we were there. There is also an indoor pool we found on the 4th day that was very nice. I Scuba and there was a super convenient scuba office right off the pool. I was able to book and leave from right there for some great diving only 30 minutes away. We didn't explore much on the food front, but the main dining room was always tasty, convenient, kid friendly and had 30 options for every meal. Everything was clean, our room was done up perfectly each day, and the staff were very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Aquila Rithymna Beach for your well earned vacation and for taking the time to share your experience. I am overjoyed to learn that our hotel fulfilled all of your holiday needs, and it is so pleasing to learn that we met and exceeded your expectations. I can also see that you were particularly impressed with our kids club. We appreciate that one of the main factors of a good holiday is keeping everyone entertained, especially children, and it is encouraging to read that we have done this. Please be assured that our team will be made aware of your complimentary feedback and I am sure they would ask me to pass on their thanks to you. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aquila rithymna beach rethymnon, hotel aquila rithymna beach, rithymna beach hotel
LOCATION
GreeceCreteRethymnon PrefectureAdelianos Kampos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
519
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Archelon Sea Turtle Protection Society of Greece (0.2 miles) and Kouros Store (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roulis Beach Bar, Café Greco, and Giampous Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, and Greek.