We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Save
Share
Megalohori, Megalochori 84700 Greece
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
LuxuryCollection
$339
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 5 left at
$339
View deal
Trip.com
$292
View deal
Hotels.com$337
Booking.com$339
Travelocity$337
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (573)
360
Panoramas (17)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 02/24/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Updated 02/24/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 7 hotels in Megalochori
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
3.8
Travelers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Horseback riding
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Greek, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
693Reviews13Q+A89Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 455
  • 123
  • 57
  • 28
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
nbh wrote a review Oct 2
Rohnert Park, California202 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
This place is pure luxury, incredible service and attention to detail and magnificent beauty. It was fabulous to be in this lovely little town, away from the oppressive crowds. The restaurants on the nearby square could not have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rey B wrote a review Aug 2022
Washington35 contributions85 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Beautiful property, amazing service. A brand you can trust. No tricks. You get what you reserve for and what you pay for plus more. It was not an easy search but after reading reviews from other highly rated properties in Santorini I was shocked to read that honeymoon couples had arrived to hotels to find out they were being redirected to other hotels because their rooms were being remodeled. Not at Vedema. They are owned by Marriott -a brand you can trust. Second consideration for me, following advice from a Greek colleague at work, was to stay far away from the touristic centers and to enjoy quiet towns. Vedema is located at the center of Santorini in a beautiful town called Megalochori -beautiful town to walk and with access to great restaurants in the town. An unexpected bonus was the many daily shuttles from the hotel to busier towns like Thera, Oia, Black Beach plus other. Last, but not least, all the recommendations on restaurants and activities from the front desk were excellent. Not only that, wherever we went, we were received with VIP status with the best seats at the house. Service for the rooms and restaurants at the hotel were also amazing -with smiles and great attitude. We felt welcomed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
phileigner wrote a review Sep 2022
West New York, New Jersey37 contributions6 helpful votes
Beautiful property. Terrific breakfast. Quiet location away from the tourist crowds in a traditional village. I used Marriott Bonvoy points to book 5 nights. It should have been fantastic but for the entire stay we had no hot water in the shower. The sinks yes but the shower never got hot. Calls and texts to the front desk promised a prompt fix but that never happened. A lot of apologies but no fix. 5 days of cold showers. I used nearly 500,000 points for the stay. At checkout I requested a partial refund of my points. After calls and texts, I was offered a 10,000 point refund. I was made to feel that it was my fault for not contacting the hotel manager directly. Terrible way to treat a Platinum Elite member. Not at all what I am used to.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
yzlondon wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
If you are looking for an absolutely stunning and unique stay look no further. Light indoor minimalistic touches blend in with a volcanic rock decorated outdoor environment to create a universe of relaxation, luxury and comfort. The hotel has a village feeling as it is spread over a really big area full of alleys and paths, has two outdoor swimming pools, a spa and is the home to Alati, one of the best restaurants around offering a fine dining menu full of authentic Greek flavours made with local ingredients. The chef and his team exceeded our expectations and all staff in general were very well trained and accommodating. Will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kat O wrote a review Sep 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii14 contributions7 helpful votes
Arrived at Vedema for our honeymoon and as soon as we checked in they loudly exclaimed “Oh you are using points.” We should have known then and there that we were in to be treated as 2nd class citizens. Since I’m a gold member we were told we would receive free breakfast. Well we show up at breakfast and they say “oh well since you paid with points, no free breakfast…that will be $90.” Outrageous!! Also there was no complimentary upgrade despite the hotel not being full, nor anything that would even hint that we were on our honeymoon (no card, no bottle of wine, etc. that we received in the other hotels—to include others that we paid with points). Severely disappointed especially on our honeymoon. When we voiced these concerns to Marriott, we received an email from Ivan the manager saying no upgrades were available and that their records showed us receiving a bottle of prosecco from the hotel for our honeymoon (note: no mention/apology for the front desk lying to us about the breakfast mishap). When I informed him that we had not received the bottle, he accused us of lying because it was in their records and gave a snarky apology for not enjoying what they had provided us, and basically pointed the finger at us for not coming to him. Beyond disappointing and the worst experience with management that I have ever encountered.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivan Garcia Cuellar, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Kati42, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the above feedback with the rest of travellers. I was truly concerned to read about your experience and how you did not feel valued as loyal BonVoy Elite Member. I must assure you that we always do our utmost to recognise all of the many Elite BonVoy members that stay with us, so was saddened to hear that you did not share this sentiment. As a practice, we are more than happy to offer a room upgrade for our Elite Members, should we have the availability. We most certainly offer genuine and personalised service to all of our valued guests; thus, were very disappointed to hear about the extent of your overall experience. Please allow me to extend my sincere apologies for any shortcomings experienced and rest assured that I take this feedback very seriously and have discussed with the Senior Leadership team. I truly hope we will have the opportunity to rectify your situation and welcome you back to the hotel again. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mooandoink wrote a review Aug 2022
Connecticut4 contributions1 helpful vote
Very relaxing spot, set inside a charming village. Rooms/suites are quite lovely and updated. Only about 10-15min by car to Fira. About 15-20min from the airport. Lots of great tavernas and bakeries within a short walk. Good with teens, multiple pools and can easily walk around town on their own. But you really need a car if you want to explore the island. Does not have a caldera view, but a great low-key spot to use as a base for Santorini
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
amanda d wrote a review Aug 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom91 contributions77 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here to treat ourselves to a bit of luxury whilst island hopping to Crete, Santorini, Paros, Naxos and Mykonos. This place is absolutely wonderful. Situated in the small, traditional, peaceful village of Megalachori, the hotel offers excellent service, very comfy beds, great food and drinks by the two pools and a really wonderful breakfast. Eva was really kind and helpful, and looked after us beautifully during our stay, as did the lovely luggage man whose name eludes me. I highly recommend this place if you want a little bit of luxury!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Runnerny2244 wrote a review Aug 2022
Smyrna, Georgia965 contributions378 helpful votes
This place is really amazing. The staff and the actual resort were awesome. It is nestled in a quiet village area of Santorini, which we loved. The pools were excellent. We loved our suite, Dorian, as it was large and comfortable. The breakfast had a great selection of offerings. We will definitely stay here again if we get the chance to revisit Santorini.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Benja616 wrote a review Jul 2022
San Francisco, California9 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
We are Marriott Elite and stay all over the world with Marriott. I have never written a review here, but feel compelled to warn other prospective guests to find a different hotel. We arrived late at night, and had called to ensure the room would be ready. At 1:00 AM, the room was dirty, the bed was not made, they didn’t have the suite we booked, but gave us a regular room without enough beds for our family, and the staff was very rude. They also would not confirm late checkout, even though I explained that we were arriving late. The front desk person refused to call the Manager, but said they would help us in the AM. The front desk person confirmed to Marriott that he didn’t have any suites left (the room we booked) and had to give us a regular room. I want o be clear that we wanted at minimum the room we had booked, and we are not talking about the fact that the hotel did not have an upgrade. I did not sleep all night as there were not enough beds. The Manager Ivan, never contacted me, and when I contracted him in the AM made me come to his office where he was rude and accused me of having four people in the room. When I told him the shower (upper sprayer was not working) and the basin did not drain properly and filled with water, he said he had to go try the shower to confirm I was telling the truth! He also said he had to investigate the situation, and would not provide a resolution. After several days, I received an email and he offered us 15,000 points and has argued in emails with us. He starts that downgrading us three levels is appropriate so please beware that you will not only never get an upgrade here, but they will downgrade you and treat you horribly. Please choose another hotel as we are Titanium Elite and have never been treated so poorly anywhere in the world. I never write reviews, but feel compelled to tell other travelers so that you might avoid a terrible experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
B-Wizzle wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California7 contributions
We had a lovely stay at the Vedema. Everything was perfect from our room, to the restaurants, the food, the staff and especially the atmosphere of the whole place. The staff are all extremely attentive and very courteous, and they go out of their way to help you and make you feel very welcome and at home. I hope we will be back very soon as it was the perfect relaxation holiday we both needed . Thank You to everyone there!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Very spacious two bedroom
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$329 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vedema hotel megalochori, vedema resort santorini, vedema hotel santorini
LOCATION
GreeceSouth AegeanCycladesSantoriniMegalochori
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Which popular attractions are close to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Nearby attractions include Megalochori - Traditional Village (0.1 miles), Santorini Horse Riding (0.1 miles), and Symposion by La Ponta (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alisachni Art & Wine Gallery, Taverna Geromanolis, and Feggera.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini have airport transportation?
Yes, Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, and Greek.