Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Traveler (672)
Panorama of the Aegean Suite at the Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
360
Panoramas (17)
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
Only 5 left at
$303
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 5 left at
$303
Breakfast included
$298
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 resorts in Megalochori
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
3.9
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Greek, Italian
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
724Reviews15Q+A99Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 478
  • 126
  • 58
  • 30
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tom N wrote a review Sep 2021
London, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I decided at the last minute to getaway. Vedema was excellent. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautiful, the resort spotless and we left feeling extremely relaxed and refreshed.

The staff at the hotel were excellent, from the front desk staff to those working in the bars and restaurants. The hotels preferred method of contact with the staff was WhatsApp, which worked extremely well. Anytime we wanted anything, or had a query, they were there for us. For example, my partner has a nut allergy and we were struggling to communicate to some of the staff in local restaurants, and they instantly provided us with a translation.

The hotel concierge was excellent, they gave us brilliant recommendations and helped us to get into a stunning restaurant in Oia, to watch the sunset.

One thing we didn't quite realise before we arrived was how challenging it can be to move around the island. We thought that we could walk/public buses, but this wasn't really practicable. Megalohori was stunning, but small, with only a couple of restaurants/shops and bars. However, the hotel had a shuttle which ran at great times into where we wanted to go. Anytime we needed a lift, we could WhatsApp the hotel and within 20 mins a private shuttle was available, although it was expensive.

Fira and Oia were very busy and touristy, it was great to be able to have somewhere peaceful and tranquil

An excellent stay, highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Achilleas H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Dear A5297QPtomn, We would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort and for sharing valuable tips and information with other travelers and recommending us. We are truly happy to read that you loved all aspects of our beautiful property, including your suite and the location. Vedema is indeed located in a very picturesque and tranquil village, Megalohori, just minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Fira and Oia, this is our great advantage. Thank you also for mentioning the concierge services and hospitality of our staff in your comments. The team has been already informed about your kind words and they are thrilled to know they made a positive impact to your experience. It was a privilege to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Hatzikostas Achilleas Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Justine W wrote a review Aug 2021
Chicago, Illinois60 contributions128 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel helped us before we arrived when we had a problem with the ferry tickets and the Mykonos hotel we were coming from would not help us. We arrived early and our rooms were ready. Our room was comfortable and spacious and nicely decorated and service was consistently professional and friendly throughout the resort. We enjoyed the gym daily--it was well equipped and modern. Housekeeping was professional too. We found the breakfast excellent in selection, quality and service. We loved the mezze platter for lunch every day. We also enjoyed dinner at Alati. The cuisine and wine and service and atmosphere were all outstanding. The hotel went above and beyond in providing a water softener for the shower when I had an allergic reaction to the chlorine level. They put hours of work in to providing it and we hugely appreciated it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Achilleas H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Dear Justine W, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities of our beautiful property, including your spacious suite, gym and the Alati restaurant. Our Executive Chef and the kitchen team are committed to deliver well crafted dishes and experiences. It is wonderful that you pointed out our staff service as we are all happy to be here and deliver great personalized service and unforgettable holidays. We would like to thank you once more for your kind words and we are looking forward to welcoming you again whenever time brings you back in Santorini. Kind Regards, Hatzikostas Achilleas Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Perry B wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia2,707 contributions1,858 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel was at its best last summer . The staff are always very caring and helpful and the rooms are super comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bedding was particularly comfortable and made for wonderful nights sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The rooms with views of the hillside were fine.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dbocca wrote a review Aug 2021
Detroit34 contributions65 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Please be very careful and read the fine print when booking with this property. I made a reservation with this property in May 2021 under a flexible cancellation policy. I cancelled the reservation 3 weeks before and they charged me the full cost because unbeknownst to me they have a 21 day cancellation policy and I cancelled 1 day later. When they refused to budge, I asked them to reinstate the reservation, which they refused, asking me to make a new reservation and prepay the full cost. I was even willing to pay the eventual price difference but they refused to work with me. So please be careful and make sure you understand the terms of the booking because this property will not work with you. They seem to be in the business of taking people's money, not in the hospitality business.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Achilleas H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Responded Sep 1, 2021
Dear dbocca, I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience you describe and that you were not able to experience Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort. Kindly be informed that our cancellation policy is quite clear. Date changes after 21 days prior to the confirmed arrival date are not allowed and a full cancellation fee will apply. However, had we been asked to change the dates of your booking, we would more than happy to do so as we have done to several other bookings. We wish you had contacted this to our agent, and we would have proceeded without any extra charge. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at operations@vedema.gr in case I can be of help with your booking. Kind Regards, Hatzikostas Achilleas Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yolanda V wrote a review May 2020
Kansas City, Missouri13 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I were traveling Greece as a part of a business trip and realized we had access to this amazing resort. It is absolutely beautiful and the staff was so accommodating. We were enjoying the beautiful pool when I walked out onto the flat surface that lies just beneath the layout area which allows you to then transition into the deeper part of the pool and my feet flipped out from under me! It was terrifying as I thought I’d really broken something. Both ankles and 3 toes got extremely bruised and I limped the rest of my trip (3 days). While they offered to put ice on the injury, I really wish they’d just fix that area for future guests. Or at least out up a sign that discourages you from stepping into that area. As I laid in pain, others around us said they’d seen others either slip or also fall. This is just a dangerous thing to potentially seriously injure someone. I know it made for an uncomfortable time for me the rest of my visit.

Other than this, it was a nice place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Itunu O wrote a review Oct 2022
Bel Air, Maryland7 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We used Dream Makers Vacation Services to plan my 40th birthday trip to Greece. From the moment the taxi arrived at the hotel, we were completely blown away! The charm of this hotel was like nothing we had ever seen. The cobblestone floors, tucked away behind two double doors, was just what we needed to kick off our Greek experience. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants that serve authentic Greek cuisine, and with just a five-minute walk up the road, you'll arrive at a bakery that serves every treat your sweet tooth could possibly desire.

The rooms were gigantic! We stayed in The Aegean Suite which was like having a large condo all to ourselves. The minibar in the room was quite expensive, so we didn't eat or drink any of the refreshments from there. You'd be better off walking a few steps and getting a full meal at one of the nearby restaurants for the same price. Breakfast was included with our stay, but we only had breakfast twice while we were there. I wasn't exceptionally impressed by the selection. They could have had more hot options to choose from, but because we're not much of a breakfast eater it wasn't a big deal for us.

Any time you need a taxi to Fira or Oia, the concierge will make the arrangements for you and notify you via whatsapp when your ride is ready. They were very accommodating and hospitable during our stay at the resort.

The only issue I had was that our suite had drain flies. I understand that drain flies are born when a pipe has not been used for a long period of time, however, this was a very big deal for me because I cannot tolerate any animals, rodents, or insects of any kind. I am very afraid of them! For the amount of money we were paying for this resort, I expect the place to be immaculate. This was the ONLY reason that I didn't give Vedema an 'excellent' rating.

Every other aspect of our stay was amazing! I would definitely stay here again if they can guarantee that we will not have any drain flies in our room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roibeard W wrote a review Aug 2021
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Today we check out after five nights to remember in this amazing resort. We arrived just after our wedding in Ireland and from the start were made feel very special by every
single staff member!

We would like to give a special thanks to Geroge, Valendez and Miguel.... Each making there own subtle gesture of kindness to make our honeymoon over and above our expectation.

The location is perfect, in a magnetic traditional village, sunset views from the heart of Santorini just behind the resort and just a few minutes from beach. The rooms are exceptional and on site facilities are top drawer.

No stone is left unturned - The attention to detail is beyond belief, we will be sure to return.

Warm regards,
Rob & Stephanie
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Achilleas H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Responded Sep 9, 2021
Dear r0ibeardw, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are more than happy to read that you had such a lovely time in our premises and thank you for choosing us for your honeymoon. It is wonderful that you loved all aspects this property and its location it is indeed a medieval picturesque and tranquil village surrounded by vineyards. George, Valantis, Miguel and the rest of the team are thanking you for your kind words! We are all committed to deliver great personalized service and memorable experiences. It was amazing to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Hatzikostas Achilleas Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JBH wrote a review Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This might be one of the best resorts I've stayed in, hands down.

Not only is the setting beautiful, but the staff are beyond kind, friendly and welcoming. They really are the differentiator here.

We loved our suite and found it hard to leave the resort and the village. The Cerce pool looks over the ocean and the highest point in Santorini, providing you with the perfect location to relax by the pool for a few of their signature drinks.

Everyone at the hotel was extremely nice and took pride in everything they did, which was evident in the level of service and attentiveness they gave to every matter.

Don't get me started on the club sandwich, I might have eaten 1 everyday they were so good.

We did a wine tasting at the 400 year old cave which was a journey through the wines and history of Santorini.

I want to come back to Santorini not because its beauty is unmatched but because this hotel and its staff are unmatched in their quality of service.

This place is truly a dream and we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Achilleas H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Dear JBHTravels, We appreciate you taking the time to post your experience and such positive feedback! It is always nice to hear that you enjoyed all the facilities of Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort. Our team is thanking you for your kind words which give us the motivation to always improve. It was a real pleasure to have you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you back to Santorini. Kind Regards, Hatzikostas Achilleas Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelmommyny wrote a review Jul 2022
Glen Head, New York11 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just lovely! Stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 teenagers and another family we traveled with. This hotel pleased and impressed us all! The rooms were beautiful, spacious and clean. There was a $100 a night charge for an extra roll away bed that we weren't aware of. The grounds were meandering with little surprises around each turn. The service was attentive and very helpful - especially with arranging transportation. Be aware, it seems as thought the car service is complimentary - like a shuttle - it's not. That said, it's very convenient. The location of the hotel is ideal. In a small village with a few tasty restaurants and small shops. We were SO thankful to be removed from the crowds and total chaos of Oia and Fera. Yet each of those spots was only a 30 minute car ride. Overall a wonderful stay in a gorgeous location. Wish we had stayed longer!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Timbeach3 wrote a review Jun 2022
Merced County, California151 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is situated in the village of Megalochori. This village is famous for it small taverna's and history. The hotel room is beautiful and the grounds are as well.
When we checked in, we were taken to our room and shown how to work the lights and air conditioner. We had a welcome gift of a bottle of prosecco and chocolate.
What we didn't get was a tour of the property so we didn't know they had a private dining area, a wine cave that offers daily wine tasting, and 3 different swimming pools. We also didn't know that there were 2 restaurants on property.
This is lamentable because it was never mentioned by the staff, almost like they were hiding it. I don't understand this at all.
We loved out room with the private jacuzzi and patio. It was large and the only weird thing that the toilet seats were so high that you felt like you were sitting on a barstool!
The transfers to the airport were not super expensive and took about 25 minutes each way.
They have a free shuttle that will take you to black beach, and they will arrange for you to go to see the sunset in Fira and Oia.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Pick a room away from the pool.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natalia C asked a question Apr 2023
Fullerton, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
free breakfast included even if you used ukur points for the stay?
Answer from Laura B
Sudbury, Massachusetts239 contributions72 helpful votes
Yes, it is a fairly easy stroll west towards the "Heart of Santorini", where you can take in the cliffside views of the beautiful sea.
Answer from Phil_CGN
Cologne, Germany233 contributions55 helpful votes
hi, this is the e-mail I have from them: concierge@vedema.gr
Carol N wrote a tip Oct 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the complimentary bus to the sister property at the beach. You can ask the hotel to arrange a car/driver to from airport for a fee"
Read full review
Terri G wrote a tip Oct 2023
Westfield, Indiana9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are slight stairs occasionally on their paths that are very hard to see, especially in the dark."
Read full review
Ang01622 wrote a tip Sep 2023
Maidstone, United Kingdom210 contributions87 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast. They will bring everything at once, so if like us you'd like fruit followed by something else, order the fruit first and when you're finished order the rest! "
Read full review
Nathaniel J wrote a tip Sep 2023
Toronto, Canada127 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want modern yet traditional way of Greek living, visit here. This is not for a guests that want absolute luxury."
Read full review
David E wrote a tip Sep 2023
Surbiton, United Kingdom68 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Little restaurants in Megalocori are great and walkable "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Megalochori area.
PRICE RANGE
$371 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vedema hotel megalochori, vedema resort santorini, vedema hotel santorini
LOCATION
GreeceSouth AegeanCycladesSantoriniMegalochori
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VEDEMA, A LUXURY COLLECTION RESORT, SANTORINI - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Greece)

Frequently Asked Questions about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Which popular attractions are close to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Nearby attractions include Megalochori - Traditional Village (0.09 miles), Santorini Horse Riding (0.1 miles), and Symposion by La Ponta (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alisachni Art Gallery, Raki Santorini, and Feggera.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini have airport transportation?
Yes, Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, and Greek.
All Megalochori HotelsMegalochori Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MegalochoriHotels near Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars