We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

McKinley Chalet Resort

Booking.com$199*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
McKinley Chalet Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

982 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 933: English reviews
Start your review of McKinley Chalet Resort
 Click to rate
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This modern resort has beautiful views of the mountains and the river. The main building has the high, beamed ceilings and wood of Swiss chalet architecture but modernized to include lots of glass for those great views. Fireplaces, stone, wood all come together in an elegant styling. The bar even has a large skylight to capture sun and mountain. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaeguBubbles
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I just had a coffee in your coffee shop and it was absolutely amazing! I forgot the other names, but Adam was very knowledgeable, and let's just say that customer service can make your day. Looking forward to come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikola K
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for two nights. We were in room number U103. I'm about 4 months pregnant, so I decided to take an afternoon nap... it was about 3 PM and I heard lots of loud knocking and drilling from the maintenance they were doing next door. Since it was in the afternoon I let it go. The next morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsKay84
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very, very nice hotel! We had the 2 queen room and the beds are in two different rooms, not side by side so there's privacy. The location is great! Our building was by the river so we took a beautiful relaxing stroll. There's a little commercial village on the side that served great food and sells lotsa knickknacks. The property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mac O
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Unknowing, we stayed first night of the season. When we found out, we sort of expected the worst - new staff, several tour buses on the way, harried managers - but our stay wasn't nearly as unpleasant as written, below. Maybe our timing helped. Staff were friendly and helpful; the grounds neat and walkable; the room clean, with a comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wtaguy
Titusville, Florida
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very nice location above the river. Rooms are fine. Separate thermostat for living room, bath room and bedroom is very nice feature. Beds in our room were not the most comfortable but ample. The rooms were not sound blocking. We could hear anyone walking on the boardwalk or talking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charliesthomasjr
Lake Wales, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are with the Holland American Land Cruise package - this a newly built lodge that blends in well with the Alaskan Countryside! It's beautiful rooms are spacious clean - staff doing a great job trying to accommodate everyone. Yes there were a few things that had to be worked out but a few think there better than everyone else!...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Bob S
Tracy S, General Manager at McKinley Chalet Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback! It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable time. We hope to see you again on another Alaska adventure.

El Paso, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are taking a land cruise and it turns out we were the first group to arrive here. Some of the issues people experienced 1) rooms keys were not working and had to be reprogrammed and their response was our fault because we had it too close to the window. 2) One of the shuttle drivers decided to argue with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EPTXGAL53
Tracy S, General Manager at McKinley Chalet Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and I am so very sorry that you had a less than wonderful experience. The time of the year shouldn't matter as we strive to provide excellent service to everyone every time. We instill a sence of care and concern among our team, so it saddens me that you did not feel that while you...

Decatur, Georgia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room was nothing special, and it was a long uphill trek to the main lodge, but that's OK--we weren't there much except to sleep. This trip was an add-on package from Holland America Cruises for our Inside Passage cruise, and we took the train into Alaska (Anchorage to Denali) to see the national park and make a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hypatia
Champaign, Illinois
Reviewed February 21, 2017

We stayed here because it was part of the cruise package. Even though it is at the end of the town that's not saying much, it is still close to everything around. If you don't want to walk the resort has shuttles to get your around town. Nice place to stay clean and well taken care of.

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Scott N
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

426 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (419)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKinley Village
0.6 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
485 reviews
7.6 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
610 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Perch Resort
The Perch Resort
#5 of 6 in McKinley Village
211 reviews
7.0 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about McKinley Chalet Resort

Address: Milepost 238. 5, George Parks Hwy, McKinley Village, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve > McKinley Village
Price Range: $105 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKinley Chalet Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your McKinley Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Chalet Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Mckinley Chalet
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from McKinley Chalet Resort staff and other travelers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from McKinley Chalet Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose the room type when booking, not when you get there.”
maco981, 3 days ago | Read review
“stay in the main lodge if possible”
647mimij, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“Book upstairs rooms to avoid hearing people walking on your ceiling!”
G4439MDlisag, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“Our room was great except for the items I mentioned above - Bldg V, 2nd Floor”
bigbie1980, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“We were in the "Cottonwoods" building, which has the best view of the river.”
Murphy5708, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$199* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$199
Orbitz.com$199
Priceline$199
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates