We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Valley

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carnon Downs
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Valley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 133: English reviews
East Sussex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We have just returned from the most wonderful week at The Valley. It was everything we expected and more. The setting is perfect for visiting both the north and south coasts and there are so many interesting places within a short drive. The lodge we stayed in was the Haven type and was very clean and stylish with quality fittings... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sussexlady53
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Your description of the cottage, The Valley and the surrounding Cornwall is everything we want it to be. Craig's Posh fish 'n' chips are a firm Valley favourite and although Craig is cooking temporally at the moment, he has been part of The Valley team for 9 years! The noise at 3... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From paying in excess of £2k we expected a lot more. Only part we enjoyed was visiting the restaurant to eat. Reception staff unapproachable. Wouldn't recommend. Unhelpful management team. Would not stay again!

Helpful?
Thank mrsm11tk10
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We liked the look of the place from the beginning after having decided to holiday in cornwall and not bad reviews in tripadvisor. Staff were very friendly on arrival and we found our lodge no problem. Lodge was really nice however the heat was unbearable inside and the lodges could really do with air conditioning or fans. We had two... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamesA833
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for your thoughts. I'm sorry your little ones were bored; we offer loads in the way of low key entertainment so we have toy, DVD and book libraries along with games, jigsaws etc for all ages which can be borrowed from Reception and Cafe Azur but we don't have kids clubs. If you want to try a visit in... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good news and bad news.... Bad news as many have pointed out.. very VERY slow wifi. .. however it did mean I got to TALK to my kids for a change and get then to put their phones DOWN for a change. It's a bit of an inconvenience bit not really an issue and I can't blame them for no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Japester
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your compliments. Glad you enjoyed your holiday and we will look forward to seeing you again. The Valley is, as you say, perfectly positioned to explore all of Cornwall very easily and we always have lots of recommendations in Reception, as well as offering daily suggestions direct to guests. The WiFi difficulties have been... More 

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

The staff are wonderful. They are keen to help and, when we did encounter problems, they were quick to put things right. We stayed in a 3 bedroomed Gallery property. Pricey in school hols at £2k for 4 of us for 7 nights. The cottage was well appointed and the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethFM
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We hope we will see you again and maybe as you don't mind being further away from the facilities, you might prefer one of The Crofts, which do have great views and are in the most peaceful and tranquil area of The Valley. Best wishes Julie PS Both the Villa Gallery... More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

We stayed here for a week in August 2016. 2 Adults, 2 young kids. The cottage was really clean and well equipped, the beds comfy and kitchen & toilets clean in good order. The site had good facilities, and the staff were helpful. The one thing that could be improved is the free WiFi. For us it was totally unusable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank James W
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear James Thank you so much for leaving your review and we're glad you enjoyed the cottage and facilities. Hopefully you managed to enjoy some of the children's activities too; the tennis sessions seemed to have been extremely popular this year! We are working on the WiFi challenge and hopefully when you return you will be able to use it... More 

didcot
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

Short 4 night break with Family and In laws. Accomodation excellent, site and amenities excellent also. Had an enjoyable week ideal for us al and family dog Bobbie. Staff were friendly efficient and helpful. Peaceful and well kept grounds. Would recommend. Wifi and mobile signals as you expect in Cornwall is not brilliant but the cafe have free wifi and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Steve Thank you for your review. Really glad you enjoyed your time at The Valley and I'm sure Bobbie enjoyed all the walks nearby! You are right, The Valley is very peaceful and tranquil, even though we were full at the time of your visit, so hopefully you were able to relax and chill as well as enjoy some... More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

We stopped in The Stables for a week. The accommodation was great, with lots of room and everything we needed we couldn't fault it. The location is good too, we travelled about Cornwall during the week and the central location is good. The food was good at the cafe Azur and the swimming pools were both great. We used the... More 

Helpful?
Thank EthelLancashire
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Valley. The cottages are all designed to be spacious home from homes and it sounds like they were just what you needed to help you enjoy your Cornish holiday. The central location does make it very easy to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

There are lots of good things about the Valley. The cottages are really nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and very quiet, and the beds are really comfortable. Not much room for improvement here. Serious cooks might want to bring a cook's knife and a bigger pan for pasta, but the kitchen is otherwise good too. Staff are friendly and helpful, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin Z
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Martin Many thanks for the review you have posted here. We are glad you appreciated the positives and would like to reassure you that we are working on improving the WiFi on a constant basis! Unfortunately our location, the topography of the site and constant reluctance of BT Openreach to help mean that it is certainly a challenge but... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

Sorry for the 3 star review as The Valley tries really hard to be 5 star. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, it's very clean and looks picture perfect. The outside play area is nice and parking is easy/good. It feels very safe and its quiet. Maybe if I hadn't stayed in better places in Cornwall (for the same... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you for posting a review although we would have preferred that you had spoken to us whilst you were staying. We like to receive feedback but we like to have the opportunity to put it right at the time and not just to hear about things after the event via tripadvisor. It would have been good to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnon Downs
17.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
14.3 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 5 in Truro
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
15.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Valley is an exclusive collection of 5 star luxury cottages set within a scenic valley in the heart of Cornwall. Enjoy indoor and outdoor pools, tennis, squash and contemporary bar and restaurant, all within the security of a 13 acre gated environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Valley

Address: Bissoe Road, Carnon Downs, Truro TR3 6LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro > Carnon Downs
Price Range: $70 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Valley Hotel Carnon Downs
The Valley Carnon Downs, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing