We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Valley

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carnon Downs
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Valley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Good news and bad news.... Bad news as many have pointed out.. very VERY slow wifi. .. however it did mean I got to TALK to my kids for a change and get then to put their phones DOWN for a change. It's a bit of an inconvenience bit not really an issue and I can't blame them for no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Japester
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The staff are wonderful. They are keen to help and, when we did encounter problems, they were quick to put things right. We stayed in a 3 bedroomed Gallery property. Pricey in school hols at £2k for 4 of us for 7 nights. The cottage was well appointed and the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethFM
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a week in August 2016. 2 Adults, 2 young kids. The cottage was really clean and well equipped, the beds comfy and kitchen & toilets clean in good order. The site had good facilities, and the staff were helpful. The one thing that could be improved is the free WiFi. For us it was totally unusable,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James W
didcot
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Short 4 night break with Family and In laws. Accomodation excellent, site and amenities excellent also. Had an enjoyable week ideal for us al and family dog Bobbie. Staff were friendly efficient and helpful. Peaceful and well kept grounds. Would recommend. Wifi and mobile signals as you expect in Cornwall is not brilliant but the cafe have free wifi and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped in The Stables for a week. The accommodation was great, with lots of room and everything we needed we couldn't fault it. The location is good too, we travelled about Cornwall during the week and the central location is good. The food was good at the cafe Azur and the swimming pools were both great. We used the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EthelLancashire
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are lots of good things about the Valley. The cottages are really nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and very quiet, and the beds are really comfortable. Not much room for improvement here. Serious cooks might want to bring a cook's knife and a bigger pan for pasta, but the kitchen is otherwise good too. Staff are friendly and helpful, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin Z
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Martin Many thanks for the review you have posted here. We are glad you appreciated the positives and would like to reassure you that we are working on improving the WiFi on a constant basis! Unfortunately our location, the topography of the site and constant reluctance of BT Openreach to help mean that it is certainly a challenge but... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sorry for the 3 star review as The Valley tries really hard to be 5 star. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, it's very clean and looks picture perfect. The outside play area is nice and parking is easy/good. It feels very safe and its quiet. Maybe if I hadn't stayed in better places in Cornwall (for the same... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you for posting a review although we would have preferred that you had spoken to us whilst you were staying. We like to receive feedback but we like to have the opportunity to put it right at the time and not just to hear about things after the event via tripadvisor. It would have been good to... More 

uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in cottage 40 which was clean, modern and had everything we needed for a fun and relaxing holiday. The site was well layed out and felt very safe and secure, both pools were well kept and great for young kids. The staff at reception were all really helpful and the site was well located and loads of attractions... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank richhell
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Richard Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. Cafe Azur is being run by a new team this year and they are constantly improving; your comment about the need for lighter and more healthy options is very valid and we will pass it on but I am glad that Nikki looked after you so... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

We stayed in Cottage 8, which had a lovely view from the kitchen across the valley and a nice, secluded garden off the living room. The cottage is extremely well equipped, all the beds were comfy, lots of bathrooms: a family bathroom, an ensuite and a guest loo. The location is great as well, so well placed between Truro and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PearlOfTheGlebe
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at The Valley. You're right about the number of bathrooms. Nearly all the cottages have almost as many loos as guests so no queues are ever necessary! The Devoran Inn is a great place to walk to along the old coast... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

We stayed for 2 weeks in one of the two-bedroom split-level villas (No.11). The villa was well-equipped, very clean and spacious, in ine with my expectations for the price we paid. The Valley complex is well-maintained and had a good variety of leisure facilities to keep my family occupied while we were on site. The on-site restaurant was good, with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy417
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. The hill from Cottage 11 to the facilities is quite steep which is great for the views but it is definitely a relief that its very short! We always tell guests that its 30 seconds to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnon Downs
17.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
14.3 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 5 in Truro
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Valley is an exclusive collection of 5 star luxury cottages set within a scenic valley in the heart of Cornwall. Enjoy indoor and outdoor pools, tennis, squash and contemporary bar and restaurant, all within the security of a 13 acre gated environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Valley

Address: Bissoe Road, Carnon Downs, Truro TR3 6LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro > Carnon Downs
Price Range: $70 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Valley Hotel Carnon Downs
The Valley Carnon Downs, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing