We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Maradankadawala-Habarana-Thirukkondaiadimadu Highway Siriketha, Puranagama, Giritale, Polonnaruwa 51026 Sri Lanka
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (5)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (5)

About

#1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Giritale
Service
Rivonway Hotel is an excellent hotel and restaurant within the area situated in the middle of scenic paddy field, there is no shortage of choice to suit all tastes and budgets and tastefully furnished hotel with modern interiors and comfortable bedrooms, a 10 minutes ride away from Polonnaruwa ancient city and just 2 minutes’ ride away from Girithale tank. Its unique design influences provide high quality accommodation with A/C & NonA/C bedrooms. All bedrooms are equipped with television, WiFi facilities, hot water, tea and coffee making facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Compare More Popular Hotels
4Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Gregory S wrote a review Nov 2019
Alice Springs, Australia182 contributions54 helpful votes
This place could be a whole lot better & there is so much that it doesn’t have but could. There are two queen size beds (quite comfortable) in my room, which is overkill, but only one chair, no hangers or storage cupboards. There is nowhere to put anything really apart from the floor. The power points are at least a meter off the ground so to charge your phone or camera is with some difficulty as there is no table suitable. The bathroom could be cleaner. There is no where to hang anything apart from one towel rack & there is no shelf to put your toiletries. The TV had poor reception, each channel was fuzz but there was nothing in English anyway. On the positive side the room did have a small outside sitting area with a good view overlooking rice paddies (though a mosquito coil would have been nice to deter them) and the room does have a fan and air con. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfasts, I chose Sri Lankan over the continental, was great. Would I stay here again? To be fair there are two answers here, ‘yes’ & ‘no’. Yes, if you only want somewhere to sleep for the night (4 out of 5stars). No, if you are here for more than one night since the room didn’t have what it took to be able to really relax in and be comfortable for more than a night (3 out of 5stars).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from RivonwayH, Manager at Rivonway
Responded Dec 30, 2019
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for your review, * Firstly please understand We are not a star class hotel, we can't give you amenities like star class hotel, we have normal middle class hotel. * TV is an extra amenities for our costumers. we are not yet listed anywhere about TV and it's a plug & play TV. so don't hope more about extras. we are always give our costumers good value for their money. * Everyone can see, what we have before the book us after they can select stay or not. * Please carefully look & understand what you need. Your next time you could better to book 5 star hotel we think its will be suitable for you. Best Regards, Rivonway Hotel.
Read more
Giovanni S wrote a review Mar 2019
Lisbon, Portugal57 contributions6 helpful votes
+ goede ligging + ruime gratis parking + vriendelijke ontvangst met een warm handdoekje om je op te frissen en versgeperst vruchtendrankje + ruime, propere kamer met twee grote bedden + op onze vraag, een gratis kookles in hun keuken (aanrader!) + simpel, maar lekker ontbijt - slechte tot geen wifi-verbinding op de kamer, enkel in de lobby - de badkamer kon properder - de ramen hebben een schrobbeurt nodig - een tafeltje en een mogelijkheid om je handdoeken op te hangen ontbraken Dit hotel heeft het potentieel om uit te groeien tot een echt succesverhaal ! De zoon van de eigenaars voldoet aan alle wensen en verlangens. Wij zouden dit hotel zeker aanraden bij onze vrienden en familie !!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from RivonwayH, Owner at Rivonway
Responded Mar 21, 2019
Thank you very much for your valuable review & recomending us to other travelers.
Read more
holiday09 wrote a review Nov 2018
Nambucca Heads, Australia7 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel ticks all the boxes, large, clean rooms with great views. Very friendly helpfull staff and the food is just brilliant. They made us a fish curry and also fried fish and was one of the best meals we had in our whole trip. The service here is something that you would expect from a more expensive hotel. If you are visiting this area of Sri Lanka stay at Rivonway, you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from RivonwayH, Owner at Rivonway
Responded Nov 29, 2018
Thank you very much come again to rivonway hotel polonnaruwa
Read more
sdkgss22 wrote a review Sep 2018
Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka2 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice view of the paddy field, Can experience nature closely. Comfortable Spacious rooms. Good service, Food was nice. Good location to visit the ancient ruins of Polonnaruwa and Somawathie temple.They arrange Safari tours too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: All rooms are very good & excellent
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from RivonwayH, Owner at Rivonway
Responded Sep 24, 2018
Thank you very much sir
Read more
Write your review
What was your hotel experience like?
Write a review
Share your best travel photo
Let the world see your hotel experience through your eyes.
Post a photo
Get quick answers
Ask fellow travelers and hotel staff your top questions.
Ask a question
PRICE RANGE
$17 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaNorth Central ProvincePolonnaruwaGiritale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rivonway
Which popular attractions are close to Rivonway?
Nearby attractions include Gal Vihara (4.9 miles), Lankathilaka Image House (5.0 miles), and Thivanka Image House (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rivonway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Rivonway?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Rivonway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rivonway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jaga Food, Rasa Bojun Gedara, and Gami Gedara.
Is Rivonway located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Giritale.
Are there any historical sites close to Rivonway?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lankathilaka Image House (5.0 miles), Thivanka Image House (4.7 miles), and Lotus Pond (4.6 miles).
Is Rivonway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.