We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104 Sri Lanka
Lowest prices for your stay
$212
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
$212
View deal
Orbitz.com
Priceline$235
ZenHotels.com$260
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2231)
360
Panoramas (15)
Pool & Beach (632)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Fortress Resort & Spa
Updated 08/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Koggala
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.2
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
1984Reviews76Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,494
  • 356
  • 95
  • 28
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kaushan wrote a review Jun 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka8 contributions
+1
Hotel located very beautiful beach area. Pool has good view and room setup is amazing. F&B service is excellent. Some food taste are not familiar to us but overall foods are okay. Staff are very friendly to all customers not only us. it is very good point for the hotel. my wife took spa treatment, she said that they provide excellent service. her therapist Manel did such a great job. Thank You all of you to make our holiday especial. love to visit again. *my idea is provide more Sri Lankan authentic foods and prepare the foods match with the local taste. Provide some excursions
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea View Room is amazing for relaxation
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear Kaushan_peiris, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa!! Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards, Brendon Meurling Resident Manager.
Read more
Noshika B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We had a wonderful experience at the fortress resort. We celebrate our anniversary at the fortress and cake is very delicious. Highly Recommend to Anyone. Warm and remarkable reception. Wonderful place to relax.Staff was extremely friendly. Delicious Foods. Hope to see you again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 18, 2022
Dear noshikab, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa!! Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and your anniversary with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
paulas312015 wrote a review May 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom50 contributions52 helpful votes
Absolutely fabulous hotel. On arrival when the main doors are opened it takes your breath away. Food was amazing, staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn’t do enough for you. The rooms and pool were fantastic. Had a spa treatment which was very relaxing. Will definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Dear paulas312015, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and we trust you had a pleasant journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
Simon B wrote a review May 2022
Singapore, Singapore149 contributions78 helpful votes
We went here for dinner this week- and the place is very impressive as a building and location. We ate in the main restaurant area which has a nice ambience and at the moment is naturally very quiet. The food it self was well presented and tasted good- but I felt like we were really oversold on what we needed for 2 people - it could have fed 4 of us. This was despite the fact we asked. So enjoy - but just go easy on the portion sizes as you will end up wasting food. Overall a good experience
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Dear Simonb, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and we trust you had a pleasent journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made you feel comfortable. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
gooners2 wrote a review May 2022
18 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
We couldnt fault this hotel. It was so beautiful. The room was amazing, first floor sea view, bed and towels changed every day, decorated with flowers and balloons on my birthday. The staff are wonderful, just cant do enough for you, towels on our sun beds every morning, such lovely friendly people. The restaurant was a really high standard without a high price, could quite happily spend the evening there, lovely bar area for after dinner drinks. The pool and garden area was perfect and the sunset was amazing. Galle is a 20 min ride away in a tuktuk and will cost about £12 return. There are lots of trips you can do, we didnt, was there to relax which we certainly did. Will definitely return, was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel is amazing, nothing the staff wont do for you. Not alot directly outside the hotel but...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded May 3, 2022
Dear gooners2, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and we trust you had a pleasent journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
Marylynsouth2 wrote a review May 2022
Ryde, United Kingdom12 contributions11 helpful votes
Arrival was great , long journey but 120 miles of straight road , no potholes and smooth. Arriving at the hotel we were greeted by staff , with there unforgettable greeting , after 10days of trying to learn it , gave up on day 10 !! To many to thank but the pool staff were fantastic and release of the baby turtles was quite emotional. Thank you all for a very nice stay , given the situation the country is in everyone was tremendous , the manager without going into detail went out of his way for us , which of course we were extremely grateful. Had a birthday treat for my wife , your team can sing happy birthday really well , thanks for the cake. Rooms were clean and airy with sea view and high vaulted ceilings, cleaned to a very high specification, sea great for surfing warm with a safe swimming area , protected from the high surf. Please pass on our gratitude for looking after us so well and would have no hesitation in recommending your hotel to anyone, including families.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ocean rooms overlook the sea,
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded May 3, 2022
Dear Marylysouth2, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and we trust you had a pleasant journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
Waruna wrote a review Apr 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka6 contributions
Wonderful place to relax with your family. Magnificent koggala beach will never disappoint you. Staff was extremely friendly even to local guests. They treat every guest with same respect. Room we booked was very spacious with a massive bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 16, 2022
Dear awviraj, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and we trust you had a pleasent journey back to colombo. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
anuka9 wrote a review Apr 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia323 contributions175 helpful votes
We stayed in one of the suites with the plunge pools on half board. The rooms were great and our personal valet was amazing, making sure that we wanted for nothing. The food was good and the chef will accommodate your wishes and makes things that are not on the menu. Had such a lovely time in this luxurious hotel and never felt like there were too many people around. Would stay here again without a doubt.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 16, 2022
Dear anuka9, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and we trust you had a pleasent journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
Prettyjen wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom126 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
From the moment we checked in we were treated like royalty. A welcome drink and a tour of the hotel followed. The rooms are amazing- we were in room 39. We had the Teppanyaki meal experience, the fine dining experience and also the regular buffet which were all excellent. Sri Lankan night and Barbecue night were as well. Positives: Welcome Check in/ check out Spa treatment Rooms size, quality and modernity Good quality, availability and amount of food Good service - always remember your names and drinks order Pool staff are excellent Gym Cleanliness and hygiene of everywhere Sri Lankan night Gardens Library Ambiance Location Pool size and temperature Only one tiny negative was the volume of the saxophonist under our balcony on the last night when we had to leave at 6am for our flight. So maybe ask for a room away from the bar area. Thank you to all the staff for making this a wonderful 5 night stay! This was truly a 5 star experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 10, 2022
Dear Prettyjen, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and we trust you had a pleasent journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the effort taken to mention the factors that made your stay exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
NakulPasricha wrote a review Apr 2022
New Delhi, India8 contributions14 helpful votes
My wife and I spent 4 days at the Fortress from 30th March to April 1st, our first holiday in more than 2 years due to the ongoing COVID situation. We were looking for a quiet resort by the sea, and the Fortress delivered. It's a beautiful property and really well-maintained. The size of the property relative to the number of guests (at least during our stay) ensured that it was neither empty (which can get creepy in my experience) nor super-crowded, which is of course not relaxing. The rooms are beautiful (we had a beach room), the staff is courteous and efficient, and the food is delicious. The sunset from the property is to die for. It's also close to Galle, Unawatuna or (if you like surfing), Weligama Bay, so you can take day trips if you like. In short, it's a great place to unwind. You won't regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Select a Beach room away from the pool/lobby area. It's quieter and you have an amazing view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brendon Meurling, Other at The Fortress Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 10, 2022
Dear NakulPasricha, Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa and trust you had a pleasent journey back home!! It’s was our pleasure to read your encouraging feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.I would like to extend my sincerest appreciation for taking the time and effort to mention the factors that made your stay very exceptional. We are very much humbled by your kind words and rest assured that these comments will be shared with the rest of the team to serve as an inspiration to continue on providing outstanding services to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit Stay Safe!! Warmest Regards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$217 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the fortress hotel koggala, fortress hotel galle, fortress galle, fortress sri lanka
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictKoggala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Fortress Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Handunugoda Tea Estate (3.2 miles), Ashintha Tours & Taxi Service Koggala (0.9 miles), and Martin Wickramasinghe Folk Museum Complex (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Surf 'n' Turf, Follow The White Rabbit, and A'la carte restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does The Fortress Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, The Fortress Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Fortress Resort & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Koggala.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Fortress Resort & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Galle Fort (8.2 miles), Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (7.9 miles), and Meera Mosque (7.9 miles).