We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mandara Rosen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mandara Rosen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 256: English reviews
Start your review of Mandara Rosen
 Click to rate
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were booked in here for three nights but only stayed one The room itself was ok but the bathroom very dirty see photos The Resturant was to me like a canteen If going on a safari breakfast is finished before you get back so it's a packed breakfast or nothing When we left our room at 04.45 to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamY_11
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed last 17th night with my cousins' family in this luvly place where our stay was made soo memorable with all its facilities and ambiance. Front desk was super fast with our both Check In and Check Out. The Triple room we were given was amazingly spacious and it was the biggest I've ever been so far. Had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harshaka_Kushan
Derbyshire, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

The pool is supposed to have underwater music, but while swimming, I couldn't hear it. Lovely looking hotel reception, pool area, dining room. You order food ahead of time, then turn up at the assigned time to eat. Excellent lunch time salads, and great a la carte meals at a reasonable price. Retire to the bar after putting in your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorriemarc
Management response:

Dear Lorriemarc, Firstly let me thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holiday trip towards Sri Lanka. We are so impressed that you have enjoyed our hospitality and your nice note on this will bring my team's moral high up undoubtedly, we also have noted your comments about the slippery tiles near the pool and I will discuss with...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our one night stay here - the room was pleasant and spacious and the bathroom clean. The buffet had an excellent range of food and drink both at dinner and breakfast. The sous chef in particular was very attentive and came to check on us twice. Would definitely recommend !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ravina T
Management response:

Dear Ravina T, Firstly let me thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holiday in Sri Lanka. we are so impressed that you have enjoyed our hospitality and your encouraging notes on this will bring my team's moral high up undoubtedly, whiles thanking you again hope to see you back at Mandara Rosen on your next holiday visit to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent two nights here on a tour. Although lovely surroundings where we saw monkeys and chameleons in the grounds our room especially the bathroom was very tired. The grouting around the bath was very discoloured and the room smelt mouldy and damp. The food in the buffet was the worst we experienced on our 10 day trip. The tureens both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lowri L
Management response:

Dear Lowri L, Firstly let me thank you for choosing our Hotel for your great holiday. We are surprised that you had few bad experiences during your stay at our Hotel, we have not only noted your troubles but also have discussed with my team in order to rectify those Whiles thanking you again we hope to see you back...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with my colleagues on a work related visit and found the facilities, food and overall experience very good. The rooms were spacious and clean and the prices competitive. We didn't have time to use the extensive facilities including a very large pool. The only downside was the weak internet signal in the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JS F
Management response:

Dear JS F, Let me thank you firstly for choosing our hotel to stay for your official visit to Katharagama. We are so impressed that you have enjoyed our hospitality and your beautiful words will bring my team's moral high up undoubtedly, whiles thanking you again we hope to see you back at Mandara Rosen on your next visit to...

Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is frequented by locals coming into Holy City of Kataragama and tourists heading for wild life excursions to Yala National Park and Buttala Area. The hotel caters to requirements of both alike. Located right by the main road, the hotel is easily accessible whether you travel at your own or with public transport. Parking is available on site....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chamidissa
Management response:

Dear Chamidissa, Firstly let me thank you for choosing our hotel for your great holiday. We are so impressed that you have enjoyed our hospitality and your nice encouraging words will bring my teams moral high for sure. Whiles thanking you we hope to see you back at Mandara Rosen on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Thanking You, Nihal...

Portugal
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were given a huge room. I felt lost in the bathroom. The hygienic douche leaked and had to be replaced. Mosquitoes everywhere eww a nuisance. The rooms had a repellent but it was useless. Service in the restaurant was helpful but not efficient to the standards that the hotel claims and its location and luxury needs. Wifi only in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aquino Noronha
Management response:

Dear Aquino Noronha, Firstly let me thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. We are so impressed that you have enjoyed our hospitality, and your nice note on this will undoubtedly bring my team's moral high, I have made a note on Mosquitoes and Wi Fi in order to discuss with my team for sure. Whiles thanking you...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Mandara Rosen Hotel. We arrived shortly before 1400 for a restful afternoon prior to an early morning Safari into Yala National Park, start time 0530. Unfortunately some of the rooms for our tour group were not ready and one or two had to sit around waiting. Ours was ready and proved to be large with a double bed which proved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveladviser43
Management response:

Dear Sir/Madam, Let me thank you first for choosing our hotel for your wonderful holiday and making your valuable time available to write a feedback on us. We were so nice to read that you have enjoyed our hospitality and so your note will encourage my team undoubtedly to high up their's moral, whiles thanking you again and hope to...

Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

It was a family visit with a pilgrimage and relaxation in mind. My mother is wheelchair bound and was important to have good disable access. This hotel fulfilled all our requirements very well. The customer service was exceptional. More importantly the staff were very helpful with moving the wheelchair and the hotel is disable friendly. Food was excellent and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nayan P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

270 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (262)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kataragama
11.5 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,295 reviews
7.7 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
252 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gregory's Safari Bungalow Yala
7.8 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
518 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Mandara Rosen

Address: No 57 Detagamuwa, Kataragama 91400, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Kataragama
Price Range: $112 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandara Rosen 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mandara Rosen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandara Rosen Kataragama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mandara Rosen staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mandara Rosen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Pick a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles Chamidissa, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Look for a room as away from reception as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles traveladviser43, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Bring some hair conditioner!”
 of 5 bubbles TeriS190, Dec 27, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are better”
 of 5 bubbles JayanthaP_12, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
“Since the rooms are in set in two long corridors, a room closer to the beginning of the corridor would be better.”
 of 5 bubbles SujaJai, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question