We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rich Resort Beachside Hotel

Save
109/12 M3 Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret 84310 Thailand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
lovevacations
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (240)
Room & Suite (79)
Pool & Beach (70)

About

#29 of 54 hotels in Lamai Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel is conveniently located on the central Lamai beach road, close enough to all of Lamai's amenities yet far enough for a nice, quiet relaxing holiday. Located on what many consider to be Koh Samui's most beautiful beach, Rich Resort Beachside Hotel is within walking distance to all of Lamai's major amenities and conveniences including shops, bars and restaurants. Free use of the swimming pool and sunbeds in our partner restaurant Kon Tiki with a minimum purchase (per person) of any item from the food and/or beverage menu.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing offsite
Airport transportation
Massage
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Baggage storage
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 1 more
514Reviews10Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 177
  • 174
  • 72
  • 41
  • 50
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The woman in the reception was quite unfriendly and threw bad looks. The POOL is NOT part of the resort apparently, we asked and the woman said we had to pay a drink os something every time we go, so completely horrible to pretend it is part of the place when you actually have to pay...😒 The room was just as in the pictures but the tv didn’t work (at least not for us) and the bathroom floor was not clean. I don’t recommend this “resort”
Read more
Warning: do NOT make bookings with this company.they lie about the itinerary, there are hidden costs, the food they provide is of a low standard as are all other facilities. For example: no catamaran in sight just a ropey fishing boat. Then to top it all off, we ran out of time to do the snorkeling ) on the snorkeling trip). There are many other agents far more responsible than these pirates. Avoid
Read more
Lovely staff who were very helpful. When we were taken to our room the girl who was with us said that our room seemed to smell a bit - to us it just smelt like fresh paint but she quickly went to see if another room was available and came back to say they were upgrading us to a superior room. Just shows the commitment to guest satisfaction that they have. When we checked out we were asked by (possibly the owner?) how everything was and he seemed genuinely interested in hearing if there were any issues. The restaurant attached to the hotel is also a lovely place, small pool but a few steps and you are on the stunning Lamai beach front. If you are staying at the hotel you can use the sunbeds and pool for free. The manager of the restaurant is such a lovely and attentive person too. We also rented a scooter from the hotel at the standard price of 200 bhat per day. Great service and amazing location!! We paid about £14 per night which was about 535 bhat so for what it was... It was great value. Definitely chose a room with an air con though, our air con was so nice and worth the extra expense. WiFi was perfect too! Sadly the bed was so hard and uncomfortable. Half of it was broken and very noisy to move on but the size of it was really great as it seemed to be king size. Not unbearable but I guess you pay more for a softer mattress.
Read more
Response from Wander27459671824, Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Responded Dec 25, 2019
Thank you very much for your review, customer feedback and satisfaction is very important to us. We are glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Read more
As soon as we arrived we realised how misleading the photos are. The pool is part of the Kon Tiki beach bar and restaurant, which itself is truly superb! Sadly the Rich Resort is falling apart at the seams. Ok so it’s a budget place, but we have stayed in Chiang Mai, Bangkok and Phuket for the same money and they were luxurious by comparison. We spent a bit more for a sea view. You can see the sea, but over the top of corrugated iron roofs, through a balcony door which took great effort to open. The toilet in our room was leaking onto the bathroom floor. The main door to our room was almost falling off its hinges and a sturdy boot would easily allow access. The air conditioning worked but was uncontrollable - it was either on or off and it wasn’t possible to adjust the temperature or air flow. On a plus, there were no mosquitoes, a large fridge in the room and hot water. We were booked in for a week but only stayed one night. There were no issues with receiving a refund which was good and in fairness the receptionist did ask if we would like to see another room or speak with the manager in the morning. We realised that there was little they would be able to do to improve the situation. There are much better options for the same money. We wouldn’t recommend this place. We found much better accommodation 50m along the road (Lamai Inn 99) which was far superior for a little extra money. We would definitely not return to The Rich Resort.
Read more
Response from MattBSamui, Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Responded Oct 2, 2019
Dear monkeysacks, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we appreciate any and all feedback from our past guests. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however, I’d like to take this opportunity to clarify some inaccuracies in the statements you made. First of all, the pool is a shared pool that happens to be located within the Kon Tiki restaurant, this is seldom an issue with guests though we apologize if you somehow felt slighted by this. Moving on, I’m sure you understand that Thailand is a large country, and, as in any country, cost of living and expenses vary throughout the different provinces; so it isn’t fair to compare Koh Samui to places like Bangkok and Chiang Mai, where cost of living is significantly lower thanks to their location on the mainland. Rest assured that our hotel is priced very competitively considering the hotel’s location, the amenities we offer, and the average price for similar properties on Koh Samui, and our year-round high occupancy averages and yearly return guests are testaments to the value for money we provide. The only room we advertise as having a sea view is our One Bedroom Suite with Sea View, which you didn’t book. So, your claim of having paid extra for a sea view is not only inaccurate but also concerning and if you did pay extra, I would advise you to take that up with whomever you booked your stay with. Your comments about the room are most surprising, this room is a favorite among returning guests, who often request it specifically. We’re sorry you found the balcony door too hard to open, nobody else has had this issue. Yes, we agree that there was some (fresh/clean) water dripping from the flushing cistern behind the toilet. The leak in question was so small that it was hard to notice as the room was being cleaned and was caused by a loose nut which took a few seconds to re-tighten – sorry if this inconvenienced you in any way. Perhaps there were a few hairline cracks in the cement securing the door frame which were missed during regular room inspections, but the door is/was most certainly not “falling off its hinges” as you put it. The A/C works fine and is 100% controllable, sorry if you had trouble working the remote. We’re glad that you at least enjoyed the fridge, hot water, and the lack of mosquitoes. We’re also glad you found the receptionist fair, however, your statement that there would be little we would be able to do to improve the situation is uncalled for and frankly unfounded – considering you even mentioned that you were offered alternatives which you outright refused. Last but not least, while we’re happy you at least found alternative accommodation at the hotel down the road, it needs to be clarified that this hotel is in a different (higher) category to our property and their cheapest rooms start at roughly double what you paid for your room with us, hardly “a little extra money” but for this price, a larger/more luxurious room is naturally to be expected. All in all, we are truly sorry your stay with us didn’t work out, however from this review and others you have posted it’s evident that you’re more used to staying in higher-priced, more luxurious properties and seemed to have set expectations beyond our simple, budget property. Thank you once again for leaving your review, we hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Read more
If you are looking for budget room, near the beach and central then this is the place. Its set behind a beach-side restaurant with a small swimming pool for guests use. Within yards of the hotel reception you be soaking up the sun on Lamai beach in a central location. Looking for food then beach bars dot along the front close to the hotel or just behind is the main street with plenty of bars, food outlets, mini marts everything you need in easy reach. Mc Donald's its the nearest landmark directly behind the hotel. Rooms are equipped with fan or air-con, TV (with no reception), fridge, hot shower and small safe. Nothing special and basic but for the price its perfect. To sum this up if you are on a budget, want a pool, want to be central, close to the nightlife and the beach then this place ticks all the boxes.
Read more
Response from MattBSamui, Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Responded Oct 2, 2019
Hi Sean, Thank you so much for your kind words. We're really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your description of the surrounding area, this is sure to help any potential future guests. We're glad you enjoyed the price/quality ratio we offer and hope to see you again on your next visit to Koh Samui!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$12 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKo SamuiMaretLamai Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Skandi Collection Tailors Lamai beach (0.2 miles), Bear Cocktails (0.1 miles), and V-Versace Tailor (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oyster Bar x Samui, SamuiDivino, and Seventy Fahrenheit.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Rich Resort Beachside Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Rich Resort Beachside Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Rich Resort Beachside Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Lamai Beach.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wat Sitlaram (3.2 miles).