We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Bay Beach Resort

Traveler (647)
360
Panoramas (12)
Pool & Beach (212)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Like an island within an island, this is GRAND BAY BEACH RESORT. Understated design, attention to detail, instinctive hospitality, tasteful food and a personalised approach are only a few of the ingredients which make our small "island" a very special getaway, ideal for those who seek tranquillity and calmness, excellent cuisine, and upgraded spaces and services.GRAND BAY BEACH RESORT is located directly on the 3 km long beach of the scenic fishing village of Kolymbari, amongst scenery of unparalleled beauty, and near settlements that retain their traditional Cretan character, just 23 km west of the most picturesque town of Crete, Chania and about 35km away from its international airport.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Paid Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
18Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
581Reviews
1,022Photos
41Q+A
69Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 368
  • 145
  • 38
  • 19
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+6
At the outside of the hotel, you don’t have immediately that wow factor, but once you get inside you have the feeling you want to stay here forever. We booked the junior suite with access to the pool. But my first night was terrible! So we tell this to the receptionist and she
Read more
Response from GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort
Responded Dec 13, 2018
Dear DaveHoegh1, Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to spend your summer holidays here with us! We are sorry about the issue faced during your first night, however, as you mention, we have done our best in order to satisfy your needs and to provide you the best holiday experience. It is great to read that you are planning to visit us again next year! We are already looking forward to your arrival!! Best regards, The management.
Read more
My husband and I spent 10 days at the Grand Bay Beach Resort Hotel in June this year. It was a special holiday for our wedding anniversary and we could not have picked a more lovely place to relax and enjoy a romantic break. It was blissful not to have kids there, this adults
Read more
Response from GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort
Responded Dec 15, 2018
Dear Louise H, Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to spend your summer holidays here with us! We are happy to read that you enjoy the relaxing child-free ambiance of our resort so much during your stay! The management and the staff of our resort wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you again next summer!! Best regards, The management
Read more
Nice staff and lovely rooms. Bus outside to Chania helpful. But it is in the middle of nowhere with very little to do outside this small hotel. I'm afraid I just didn't get the raving reviews about this place- sorry.
Read more
Response from GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort
Responded Nov 12, 2018
Dear Hollibobs45, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. The feedback from our guests is very important to us in order to upgrade our services to the highest level. Our resort, located in a small village near to the most popular beaches of western Crete, ideal for those who wish to have some excursions during their stay, and it is 30 minute’s drive away from Chania city center. We are sorry to read that the location of our resort did not meet your expectations. However, we hope that our services and our hospitality were satisfying your needs during your stay with us. It will be a pleasure for us if you give us a second chance to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. The management
Read more
Just returned from a week at this small but perfectly formed beach hotel and it made our holiday. Certainly among the best all-inclusives we've ever stayed at. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean; the food was excellent, the public areas very well kept and the staff
Read more
Response from GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort
Responded Nov 12, 2018
Dear DarrylWDyke, Thank you so much for your detailed review and for all of your kind words and compliments! We are happy to read that you enjoy your stay here with us and after all these kind words we have nothing more to say but a big ‘THNAK YOU”! The management and the staff of our resort wish you all the best and we are already looking forward to your next arrival! Best regards. The management
Read more
hotel was over booked on arrivel, booked sea view room, became garden view room accross the bar, loud as good be, they gave us an upgrade to ultra all inclusive with free massage, but the massage wasn't good at all, after 3 days we finally moved in our booked room, breakfast,
Read more
Response from GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort
Responded Nov 12, 2018
Dear ANDY A, Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to spend your holidays here with us. Firstly, please accept our apologies, once again, about the booked room type. However, we have done our best in order to compensate you and to offer you a memorable stay here with us. Regarding the proposal from our staff members at our front desk, we would like to inform you that the relocation to our five star, sister resort, was just an alternative proposal in order to give you the opportunity to choose the most suitable solution according to your needs. We hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. The management
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGrand Bay Beach Resort
The Double Room with Sharing Pool at the Grand Bay Beach Resort
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGrand Bay Beach Resort
The Double Room with Sharing Pool at the Grand Bay Beach Resort
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGrand Bay Beach Resort
The Junior Suite Sea View at the Grand Bay Beach Resort
View from Junior Suite with direct pool access
view
PreviousNext
12345646
Definitely the shared pool rooms , 5 rooms only with private patio and sun bed , very relaxing and quiet , amazing hotel
3 votes
Show all answers
Really depends on the transfer you chose, in October we went by coach and it took around 1 1/2 hours. If you go by taxi is only about 30 - 40mins Hope this helps the Grand Bay is a great quiet Adults only resort we are looking at returning during the summer.
1 vote
Show all answers
Normally they have all a private bathroom, but I guess the suite is the same. Only 1 bathroom for the whole room. But personally I would book the room with immediately pool access, nicer views!
0 votes
Show all answers
No charge that I can recall. I felt everything was good value fir money. Would definitely revisit
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234569
"Sea view is worth it"
"Book a suite. It's well worth it."
"I'm not sure"
"Junior suites upstairs good size, pool rooms with shared pool were great"
"Definitely try to get the Junior suite with direct pool access, it was the perfect choice for us."
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
$97 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand bay beach hotel chania town
LOCATION
GreeceCreteChania PrefecturePlataniasKolymbari
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing