We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Moon Mountain Lodge

C 19 Road, 56 Km North of Sossusvlei | 50 Km From the Turn Off for the Gate at Sossusvlei, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Namib Sky Balloon Safaris
    40.3 mi
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 1 week ago
Stunning location
The location is absolutely stunnign especially around sunrise... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 133: English reviews
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is absolutely stunnign especially around sunrise and sunset when the whole area gets bathed in a golden light that makes it all seem a bit surreal and magical. The tents are very comfortable. But they are tents. Windows that zip open and shut. Not completely weather-proof perhaps (some other guests complained about the rain drenching their room -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyba
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I had a fantastic stay at Moon Mountain Lodge. It's in a unique and very special location with incredible views. Staff were so friendly. We did a tour of the dunes through the lodge (5.30am departure, $N1350pp) with Lotho, who was a wonderful guide. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well-thought out with great views. This would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyjayne11
K_Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The most memorable thing about Moon Mountain is its location. The view was just other worldly. We stayed in room 1, which was newly renovated and the furthest from the main lodge. We appreciated the privacy as it was our honeymoon. The room efficiently furnished. Very clean. The bathroom was in another tent, which was an unique configuration. The private...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K_Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Moon Mountain Lodge receives top class in location setting, accommodation and food. Fantastic place. Very beautiful place. However: The GPS coordinates are COMPLETELY wrong on Google as well as if you use Booking.com. Searching for 'Moon Mountain Lodge' takes you 184km South into the next town. I hope everyone will learn from our mistake here and spare yourself the extra...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wessel E
Fransd2015, Public Relations Manager at Moon Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wessel, Thank you for your valued response and review on the lodge. We will investigate the road directions and GPS coordinates to ensure they are correct and to avoid other guests getting lost. We wish you a prosperous 2017.

Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

This wonderful lodge is the best kept secret of the Sossus Vlei. Amazing accommodation (large suite like wooden houses with own tub outside) outstanding dessert views and lovely staff. The food is home cooked and a delight. We did a guided tour with Lotto which was highly recommendable. If you are looking for a unique dessert travel experience, dont miss...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kisa v
Fransd2015, Public Relations Manager at Moon Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your valued review during your recent stay at Moon Mountain Lodge. May you have a fantastic 2017, blessed with prosperity, excellent health and many more travels!!

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed December 18, 2016

What a place! This area is one of the most remote and uninhabited places I have ever experienced. We traveled the C27 to get there and passed maybe two other cars in the 6 hours we were on the road, honestly a little too lonely for me! The manager and staff at Moon Mountain were amazing, Fessi in particular. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tigerlilykelly
Fransd2015, Public Relations Manager at Moon Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your valued review during your recent stay at Moon Mountain Lodge. May you have a fantastic 2017, blessed with prosperity, excellent health and many more travels!!

Switzerland
Reviewed December 6, 2016

After traveling for hours on dirt roads, Moon Mountain is just the oasis you are looking for! Warm welcome, welcoming drink and fantastic views immediately put you at ease and let you know that all is well. The staff are extremely friendly and very efficient. The tents are not luxurious but very comfortable--could do with some better quality soaps rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Umkong
Fransd2015, Public Relations Manager at Moon Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your valued review during your recent stay at Moon Mountain Lodge. May you have a fantastic 2017, blessed with prosperity, excellent health and many more travels!!

Aalst, Belgium
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Our second night in Namibia, and we wanted it to be still relaxing and a stop in between windhoek and sossusvlei. Both points were met, it's about 50km before sossusvlei and the place is very peaceful. We booked a room with a plunge pool, quite welcome when having such hot temperature, the room has 2 tents, one is the bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvakat
Fransd2015, Public Relations Manager at Moon Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your valued review during your recent stay at Moon Mountain Lodge. May you have a fantastic 2017, blessed with prosperity, excellent health and many more travels!!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed November 8, 2016

Really felt at home at this Lodge, particularly thanks to Mia who goes out of her way to help her guests. The rooms are comfortable but incredibly dark and hot and a fan if not an aircon would be really welcome. Food is of the simple, tasty, home cooked variety.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tennille G
Sabadell, Spain
Reviewed November 5, 2016

That's what I call a place with a view! Moon Mountain is built at the high of a ridge overlooking the Namib Desert. It's good huge tented rooms on stilts equipped with comfy beds and a well provided bathroom, and some even with a small private swimming pool! The managers are very friendly and welcoming and will make sure you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paudeviatge
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

275 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
47.3 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
0.0 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
143 reviews
28.9 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
466 reviews
28.0 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
132 reviews
3.2 mi away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built and completed in 2009 on the Moon Mountain Top, as fixed "tented rooms" with all the comforts of a room, but the airy feeling of a tent. Moon Mountain lodge is ideally situated for any holiday guest who wants to visit the world’s highest dunes in Sossusvlei, as the lodge is only 50km away from the entrance gate and close to the quaint little village of Solitaire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moon Mountain Lodge

Address: C 19 Road, 56 Km North of Sossusvlei | 50 Km From the Turn Off for the Gate at Sossusvlei, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Price Range: $193 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moon Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Moon Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Mountain Lodge Sossusvlei, Namibia - Namib-Naukluft Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Moon Mountain Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Moon Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room one has great views and privacy”
 of 5 bubbles K_Australia, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“#7 is the highest with no fence around the pool - great views”
 of 5 bubbles tigerlilykelly, Dec 18, 2016 | Read review
“Luxury tents with your own pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Umkong, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room further from the restaurant and reception if you need more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles TennilleG, Nov 8, 2016 | Read review
“Amazing star gazing and fantastic private bungalows”
 of 5 bubbles 406matthewa, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question