We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Old Road, Saint Mary's Antigua
6 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$1,050
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/14/21
Official Hotel
$950
View deal
Prestigia.com
$1,050
View deal
Destinia.com$1,063
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (514)
Room & Suite (151)
Pool & Beach (130)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Saint Mary's
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2021 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Flanked by water on both sides, Curtain Bluff sits on a rocky promontory (bluff) that juts into the sea between two beautiful beaches. One is calm, ideal for swimming and watersports; the other beach is washed by ocean surf. 72 Rooms and suites, all with staggering seascape views, are spread out along the Surf Beach and up the bluff. There are two restaurants: the open-walled Tamarind Tree serving breakfasts and candle-lit dinners, and the Beach Cafe & Bar, where barefoot-casual lunches are enjoyed one step from the sand and a few feet from the water's edge.The resort's exceptional facilities include a championship tennis center, a fully equipped watersports center (scuba, Windsurfing, paddle-boarding, waterskiing, Hobie Cats and kayaks), a squash court and fitness center. When it's time to relax, there's our tranquil spa overlooking the sea, a beachside swimming pool, a beach bar, and hammocks swaying in the shade of coconut palms.With the exception of a few above-and-beyond luxuries (Cuban cigars, vintage wines, spa treatments), everything is included in the room rate, making it one of the best values in the Caribbean.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Family Resort
671Reviews70Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 566
  • 65
  • 24
  • 12
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jeffrey V wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York13 contributions7 helpful votes
I visited Curtain Bluff for the first time this year with my fiancé and our good friends Jeff and Donald, who are repeat visitors and invited us to join them to celebrate their anniversary. It was everything that they said it was going to be and more from the gracious and welcoming smiles and greeting upon arrival, to the beautiful beach, lovely rooms, great food and warm and welcoming service. We booked our next visit before we even left and can’t wait to return in December!! Cannot say enough about how special Curtain Bluff is, both the people and the resort!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Fearless52806222433 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We have been all over the Caribbean , and by far this is our favorite resort. At first I could not understand how people keep coming back year after year, now we are one of them. We missed 2020 due to Covid, so we went for 10 days this year in April, and then we will be back in December for another 10 days.The resort is perfection, food, rooms, activities, and most of all the staff that goes far and beyond to pamper you and make you feel part of the family. Cannot rave enough about Curtain Bluff
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
don wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
The staff, the food, the location, the accommodations... all reasons to return not once, but twice a year for us. Attention to detail in the room and our special requests were met with amazing service and graciousness.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Kate K wrote a review Jun 2021
Lawrence, Kansas19 contributions13 helpful votes
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Curtain Bluff, but the level of service was less than what we expected. Have had better service at places in Mexico (Excellence Resorts) at a much better price point. The layout of the resort is on a bit of an awkwardly oblong piece of land, with the main restaurant and rooms at one end, then the pool is in the middle, and you walk down the beach to find the other eating area. The beach was beautiful and you did not ever have to wait for a place to sit ocean-front. Our first disappointment with Curtain Bluff was the expensive COVID tests that they told us we were required to get, but they never asked to see it. We got our negative COVID test in the US to go to Antigua, and first stayed at Hermitage Bay for a few days. Despite that, Curtain Bluff demanded we have another COVID test before we drive a few miles to their resort… that’s fine, we’re all about safety during the pandemic. But when we got to Curtain Bluff, they never once asked to see our COVID test results that we just paid $250.00 US to get, which was very frustrating. When Curtain Bluff scheduled our departure COVID test for us (7:45 PM the night before our flight the next day) we were SHOCKED to find out that the price tag for our 2 nose swabs was $500.00 US!!! Beware - If you need a swab while you’re there to get back home, I’d pay the $20-30 for a taxi ride and get it cheaper somewhere else. When we arrived to Curtain Bluff their computer system was down. No big deal, we’re on island time and not too concerned about it, but we just sat there at the front desk for 45 minutes watching them try to figure it out and there seemed to be a big lack of organization. Then the “no’s” began... The continual “no” response was not what we wanted to hear during our stay there. We are not high maintenance, we’re there to relax for our anniversary, and don’t ask for much, and I think we were particularly jaded as we had just come from Hermitage Bay where the answer was always “yes” or “we will make it work.” Hermitage Bay was exceptional, refer to our review from there as well. When we checked in to Curtain Bluff they said, “We have two restaurants, Tamarind and Sea Grape, but you can’t go to Sea Grape.” We got to Curtain Bluff on a Tuesday and were scheduled to leave on a Saturday. They said “Sea Grape is only open certain days, and you won’t be here long enough.” I said, OK, well you just told me they’re open Friday night, and we don’t leave until Saturday afternoon, so what’s the problem?” After some backpedaling and difficulty seeming to understand the order of days of the week, they reluctantly agreed to make a reservation for 8:00 Friday night. Great, we look forward to it! Fast forward to Friday night, we swing by the front desk to confirm the reservation we made 3 days ago, and they say, “No, you don’t have a reservation at Sea Grape, you made a reservation at Tamarind, you can’t eat at Sea Grape.” There was NEVER an apology, or “let me talk to someone and see what we can do,” it was just a flat out “no” which was the theme of our stay there. Seriously? – You’re not at capacity, dinner isn’t for 8 hours, and COVID or not, there is more than enough room to put a 2 top table for the couple that just wants to try out the restaurant for a nice dinner for their anniversary that you made a reservation (or said you did) three days ago. Never saying they were sorry or caring at all was the most frustrating part. They said it was our fault that we made a reservation at the wrong place, and maybe they could put us on a “wait list” in case someone else cancelled. They also request that you make a “reservation” at Tamarind every night too, which is kind of annoying. I get it, if you call and let them know what time you plan to be there it helps with their staffing and planning, but it’s not necessary, you’ll get seated whether you make a reservation or not, and we were always seated promptly. Actually we got seated quicker without a reservation. On the night of our actual anniversary we called and said “tonight is our anniversary, any way we can get a good table or do something special?” When we went to dinner that night they said we made a reservation for 4 (which we didn’t, it was just the two of us), and they put us in the back corner at the bus station so we got to have a noisy table with everyone’s dirty dishes stacked up behind us where all the wait staff hang out. There was never any special acknowledgment of our anniversary occasion. It was in sharp contrast to our stay the week prior at Hermitage Bay, another resort on Antigua, where they sent us a champagne breakfast to our room and did a really cool Happy Anniversary desert for us one night to celebrate our anniversary, even though they knew the actual date would be a few days later at Curtain Bluff. Another frustrating “no” we got was about scuba diving. We like to dive, and one of the great perks about staying at Curtain Bluff is that it’s included. We didn’t get to dive at the first resort because Antigua had a beach / boating ban for the first few days we were there (high COVID cases and didn’t want parties on the beach for Easter weekend), which didn’t get lifted until Tuesday when we arrived at Curtain Bluff. I checked an entire huge bag of dive gear, excited about getting to dive with the resort, and only got to go on 1 single dive. The resort takes 6 people each morning to a reef about a 10 minute boat ride away. The diving is not great, but ok and glad I got to at least get in once. I wanted to go on other days but they said “no, we’re already full.” Really? It’s impossible to take the boat out again in the afternoon for your guests, when I see 5 people sitting around their water sports shack all afternoon doing absolutely nothing? Lots of packing dive gear into a big heavy bag, paying out the nose to check it on the airlines and traveling with it, all for ONE dive. The dive we did take was beautiful, with great visibility and sea life. We would also get “no’s” for simple requests. At lunch I asked for a glass of sangria. The waiter said, “No, we don’t have that, what do you want instead?” I politely asked him to look into it and I’d come up with a different drink order if they couldn’t do it (which of course they can… the resort is flowing with wine and fruit juice, and the bartender had no problem making one). The point is that we just kept hearing no, no, no to very simple requests. We had a beach front room with beach chairs, and there is someone who helps you get “set up” which means they put a towel like cover on it. We asked if we could get that and the response was, “are you sure, it looks like it might rain?” Yes… it’s the Caribbean, showers are usually light and short, and after we got “set up” it didn’t actually rain anyway. On our last day there we decided to relax and have breakfast delivered to our room. It took them nearly an hour to bring it, and they forgot some items and got other orders wrong. When we asked them for simple requests (like a cheese plate), that showed up quickly, but was also premade, which meant you pulled off the Saran wrap to enjoy mushy crackers that had been in the fridge. I know we are picking this place apart, but that’s the point of the review for potential future guests, and the things that made our experience less than we had hoped for. Now… for what we did like! The food was great! Not quite on par with what we had at Hermitage, but still great. We never waited long for food or drinks at the bar or restaurant, their service in this regard was excellent and timely. There were lots of things to do like a basketball court, tennis courts, shuffleboard, kayaks, stand up paddle boards, Hobbiecats if you know how to sail (if not a lesson or guide will cost you money). We did some snorkeling in front of our beach front room, and also by the main beach / dock on the other side. You’ll see some fish and interesting things, there are a TON of sea urchins in front of the beachfront rooms, and to the LEFT of the dock (if you’re standing on the beach), not so many sea urchins in the main swimming area / beach, but there are a few. Just be careful if you are swimming out a little deeper and decide to put your feet on the bottom so you don’t get poked. It won’t kill you but it won’t feel good and the spines can break off (had that happen in Cayman). Like an ocean anywhere else in the Caribbean there are creatures to be aware of like stingrays and lionfish that we saw a few of, so use common sense and shuffle your feet around if you walk out into the sand in the water. We did have some really friendly and great service too. Steve the bartender was great, and several staff roaming around dinner at Tamarind were fantastic. There is not much drink service when sitting on the beach, we had someone come by once each day to take our orders but beyond that you just take the short walk down the beach to the bar. The beachfront room was beautiful, the room we had was great. Only problem with the room was our air conditioner had this awful howling / whining sound that would drive us nuts for about 10 minutes, then stop and the process would repeat every half hour. We never said anything about it because we had just packed up all our stuff to move between resorts and didn’t want to have to move rooms again, so our solution was to get the room cool with the AC when we were gone to dinner, then keep the fan on at night. We enjoyed the breeze and sound of the crashing waves. Overall it was still wonderful to relax on a beautiful beach in Antigua, but we won’t be going back to Curtain Bluff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wendy Eardley-Woodhouse, Guest Services / Front Office at Curtain Bluff Resort
Responded Aug 12, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Curtain Bluff. We are sorry that your stay was not all that you expected and wanted to sincerely apologize for the service issues you experienced on your anniversary stay. Covid testing last season was expensive due to the prices of the test kits. When we reopen on Oct.23 the price of a rapid test has drop significantly from last season. The new rate will be $95US per person. The government of Antigua Covid protocols restricted the numbers of persons we can seat in a restaurant, seat around a bar, take out on a snorkel/dive boat. The beaches and all water sports activities over the 4 holidays of Easter were closed again due to Covid. This caused a back log of guests who had signed up to dive and snorkel. We did our best to ensure all of our divers/snorkelers were able to go out at least once over the days after the holidays. Once again thank you for your review and we will certainly do our utmost to improve on the areas that you had issues with.
Read more
N'zeeka G wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
Myself along with 11 ladies visited the hotel for a spa date and it was overwhelming, first we got greeted at the gate by the security while we were walking up a spa attendant came and met us Jennie was definitely the best. I got pampered by another attendant sherry she was definitely amazing 🤩 I felt well rested after and also toy-ann she was a blessing. I can’t wait to come back again for another date
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Wendy Eardley-Woodhouse, Guest Services / Front Office at Curtain Bluff Resort
Responded Aug 12, 2021
Thank you for your review of you spa experience. So pleased that you and your 10 lady friends enjoyed their day at the CB spa. Please come back for a return visit next season. We reopen on Oct.23.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$980 - $1,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
curtain bluff hotel bolans, curtain bluff antigua
LOCATION
CaribbeanAntigua and BarbudaAntiguaSaint Mary's
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Curtain Bluff Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Curtain Bluff Resort?
Nearby attractions include Ffryes Beach (4.4 miles), Valley Church Beach (4.4 miles), and Darkwood Beach (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Curtain Bluff Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Curtain Bluff Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Curtain Bluff Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Curtain Bluff Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Island Fusion, Jacqui O's BeachHouse, and Cloggy's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Curtain Bluff Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Curtain Bluff Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Curtain Bluff Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Curtain Bluff Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Curtain Bluff Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Curtain Bluff Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Shirley Heights (5.9 miles), Fort Barrington (8.5 miles), and Fort James (8.2 miles).
Does Curtain Bluff Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.