We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Porters 24017 Barbados
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$353
Hotels.com$353
Travelocity$353
Priceline$353
Orbitz.com$353
eDreams$353
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (293)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (405)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

About

#1 of 4 in Porters
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.3
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Saint James Parish, The Sandpiper is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its luxury environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, The Sandpiper makes it easy to enjoy the best of Saint James Parish.

Guest rooms offer air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette, and Sandpiper Barbados makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including room service and a concierge. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While you’re here, be sure to check out Lemongrass Noodle Bar & Grill, one of the Thai restaurants that can be found in Saint James Parish, which is a short distance from The Sandpiper Hotel.

During your visit, be sure to check out St. James Parish Church (0.1 mi), which is a popular attraction within walking distance of the hotel.

Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, The Sandpiper is sure to make your visit to Saint James Parish one worth remembering.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Beach
Airport transportation
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
414Reviews18Q+A88Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 340
  • 45
  • 16
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Optimistic 48 wrote a review Jun 22
Liverpool, United Kingdom19 contributions36 helpful votes
We recently stayed at the Sandpiper Hotel in Holetown Barbados and what a joyful experience! Firstly let’s mention the excellent staff on reception - they were so welcoming and extremely efficient. Each and every one of the Team were knowledgeable and so helpful. We stayed in a suite on a b and basis- the room was excellent- very spacious and extremely high standard of room cleansing. The staff in the restaurant were fabulous! Too many to mention but young Destiny stood out! We loved chatting to Sandra and wish her a long and happy retirement! The food and service at breakfast was impeccable - vast array of fresh produce and fabulous smoothies and juices for all tastes. We ate in on Sunday for the BBQ - a tad pricey but exquisite! We swam in the pool close to the beach- great sun beds and very well maintained! The beach area was a tad busy for us to use for sunbathing and on occasion looked a little untidy but such a beautiful location and ease of access to the fabulous beach and warm water. Let’s mention the exquisite gardens ! They were amazing and the gardening team were so friendly and knowledgeable and very patient when I asked about the different shrubs. In all we just adored the hotel and wish the new Manager every success in his new job.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Alex Hardcastle wrote a review Jun 13
10 contributions
Where to start! The Sandpiper is the sister resort to The Coral Reef Club, but to my mind is by far and away better (we stayed at both). The grounds are breathtaking - the gardeners truly go above and beyond to create a luxurious oasis for reading, wandering, swimming. The rooms are very comfortable, and the housekeeping exemplary. The staff at this place are the crown jewel though. So friendly, helpful, open, kind - from reception to the water sports guys, the barmen and the servers in the restaurant. Special shout-out to the egg lady from breakfast who makes killer omelettes and conversation! We will definitely be coming back, and I can recommend very highly. This place is fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your positive review and 5 star rating of The Sandpiper. Your compliments about our staff, service and overall atmosphere are greatly appreciated by all. Thanks for making special mention of the departments which offered you great service, we will be sure to share this feedback with them. It was a pleasure to have you, and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you return.
Read more
Mr & Mrs Malthouse wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
It’s our final day at the sandpiper and we simply don’t want to leave. This really is a heavenly tranquil place to stay. In our case it was for part of our honeymoon choice and we leave for sugar hill today to experience villa life. We stayed in the Wimbryl suite which is elegantly furnished and has the comfiest bed ever with a beautiful large well equipped bathroom. The outdoor area of the suite is super private with your own dining and bar area and plunge pool. Some days we’ve not moved. The whole hotel is elegantly furnished but in a low key kind of way. There are really so many aspects that make the Sandpiper a beautiful choice for any holiday I’m Barbodos but here’s what stands out for us - 1. Location - located on a beautiful Sandy beach and within walking distance to Holetown for the shops and restaurants. It’s gated and private, secluded and safe. 2. Staff - without doubt the staff are truly happy wonderful people. Obviously employee satisfaction is very high and they are respected and cared for by the management team. Shaunette, Colin, Ricardo, Jamal, Jason are just some of the people who’ve helped make our stay memorable - helpful, happy, respectful, fun. 3. Food and service - outstanding quality and impeccably presented. Breakfasts are incredible. From the crisp white linen, to the iced water, fresh fruits, coconut, pastries, eggs, fresh juices - everything is truly fabulous. Lunch we often had in our suite - can highly recommend the shrimp Caesar salad and dinner in the restaurant is romantic and tastefully managed. Low lighting, flame torches light the perimeter of the restaurant, large colonial wooden fans keep you cool. I would not hesitate to return. X
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your glowing review and 5 star rating! We are honoured to have been a part of your honeymoon celebrations, and are pleased that our staff (who you mentioned by name) were able to contribute to your experience. We appreciate your kind words and for identifying all of the aspects of The Sandpiper which made your holiday truly memorable. We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay on the island, and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Read more
leslienorman1 wrote a review May 2022
Jersey, United Kingdom28 contributions11 helpful votes
Just back from two weeks at the Sandpiper. It really is "simply the best" ! Accommodation, food, service and location are just faultless. The west coast of Barbados is simply divine but the Sandpiper is the jewel in the crown !!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your glowing review and 5 star rating! We are pleased to learn we made a positive impression during your holiday. It was indeed a pleasure to have you, and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Read more
Angie058 wrote a review May 2022
Worthing, United Kingdom113 contributions117 helpful votes
Spent 8 nights at this hotel and loved it. We’ve been to Barbados many times and stayed in quite a few different places. The Sandpiper is definitely one of the best. Our room was perfect, a one bedroom suite, so spacious and really comfortable. We slept with the sound of the waves lapping the shore. Our balcony was very spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is probably one of the nicest hotel pools I’ve ever had the pleasure of swimming in. The restaurant was very good, breakfast a real treat. We had lunch by the beach which was always good. Drinks seemed a bit expensive but I’m hesitant to complain about anything because it was such a lovely holiday. Thank you to everyone at The Sandpiper.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Loved the one bedroom suite
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your 5-star rating, and for taking the time to write this lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words about our hotel, the staff, and your dining experiences. It was a great pleasure to have you, and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Poppy J wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
This was by far the best holiday I’ve ever been on! The staff were incredible, the rooms were perfect, the views were amazing! The food at the restaurant in the evening was 10/10. Service throughout the whole hotel was fantastic. Harolds bar is the perfect location for lunch and drinks! Breakfast selection was fabulous. There really is nothing I could fault about this hotel. I can’t wait to go again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your 5-star rating, and for taking the time to write such a positive review of The Sandpiper! We are especially pleased to learn that you rated us as your best holiday! Thank you for mentioning our staff and service, as well as our rooms, and dining experience! It was a pleasure to have you, and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Sam44London wrote a review May 2022
Beckenham, United Kingdom57 contributions47 helpful votes
Probably one of the nicest hotels we have visited over the years. It is small enough to be intimate but big enough to have the space you might require. All the staff were excellent at anticipating our needs and were friendly and courteous. A special mention goes to Jamel who went beyond the call of duty on several occasions. The dining experience both at breakfast, lunch and dinner was without fault with discreet live entertainment some evenings. The food at dinner was fine dining with different choices every evening. The hotel is situated on the beach and has fine views out to sea.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded May 10, 2022
Thank you for your five-star rating! We're thrilled to read about your time with us. Thank you as well for your complimentary remarks about our hotel, staff, and dining experience. It was our pleasure to make your stay memorable, and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
David A wrote a review May 2022
Warboys, United Kingdom140 contributions101 helpful votes
I know I love Barbados and I know I want to be on the west coast but other than that I am reliant on others advice as to where is good. The hotel were welcoming and so friendly, we arrived a little jaded but instantly felt the vibe and started to unwind. The hotel upgraded us to a suite overlooking the pool and gardens. It was massive with separate lounge, kitchenette and large balcony with recliners and table and chairs. The resort itself is not huge I think I read there are just 48 rooms. So it does not feel crowded. They offer an area with loungers and a pool or numerous spots on and around the beach. We found a lovely deck with a tree that provided shade if it all got too hot. Although with all recliners there are umbrellas to match. The sand is white the sea is blue, clear and warm. It is calm and safe for all. I have seen that they offer packages and having only booked B&B I decided to upgrade and add a dinner supplement. For breakfast try the Bajan. It’s a little taste of the Caribbean with plantain, flying fish and sugar dumplings along with some very tasty scrambled eggs. A word of advice though, go easy on the ‘One Drop’ pepper sauce as it is hot!!! Lunch was often a cold one and fish cakes.. either in the hotel or up along the beach. Dinner is something special, they were trying out a new chef whilst we were there and the grouper and the pork medallions were so good. We chose the hotel partly because they were happy to arrange our wedding for us whilst we were there. This is where I have to personally thank Onita Best. She is as her name suggests. All of the hassle was dealt with and the day came and went without any anxiety. Overall this was a beautiful hotel. Lovely setting, the right side of the island, great friendly staff including regularly meeting the owners. It is a bit pricey but worth every penny. See you again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded May 11, 2022
Thank you for your five-star rating! We enjoyed reading about your time with us. We were particularly pleased that Onita, whom you specifically mentioned, was able to alleviate the stress of your special day. Thank you as well for your kind words about our hotel, in-house dining, and your room. It was a pleasure to make your stay memorable, and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Read more
TaracarolineWestwood wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
When we arrived (our delayed due to Covid 3rd visit) we were placed in probably the worst room at the hotel, no views of anything at all and on the road.... to say we were disappointed is an understatement... However, this being the Sandpiper with the best staff in the business once we had voiced this to reception we were offered a better room and moved within 24hrs to a much better room and with a view! We couldn't have been more impressed. The hotel is just as good as when we last stayed before Covid, the staff are simply amazing and what set The Sandpiper heads above most hotels on the Island. They are warm, friendly and professional, the service is simply excellent, if only hotels in the UK had staff like this ! Special mention goes out to: Sachin, Mervyn, Tina, David x2 Colin, Lemarr, Vanessa, Tina, Jamal, Curtis, Nicholas, Glenroy, Janell ... and more! The food served at breakfast, lunch and dinner was always delicious as were the cocktails served in Harolds Bar and the hotel bar. We have already re-booked for 2023 and can't wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded Apr 7, 2022
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with our team, especially those who you mentioned by name. We are however sorry to read that you were disappointed at check-in but are glad that a solution was quickly found. We look forward to seeing you again in 2023 as we welcome you on your next holiday.
Read more
Fleetcat wrote a review Mar 2022
Ko Samui, Thailand2481 contributions635 helpful votes
So we love our suite. It has a full kitchen which we did not expect. It has a fabulous beach and sea view – albeit sideways on – which we also didn’t anticipate. The colonial décor is gorgeous. It is a little noisy due to proximity to sun lounger deck but we think a price worth paying for the view. What the room doesn’t have are any tea or coffee facilities, no minibar and no TV. I have absolutely no doubt that any or all of these facilities would be supplied if requested but in a hotel at this level .... ? Not even bottled water (you can drink tap in Barbados so not life threatening). A strange toilet flush that requires a ‘knack’ adds to the story. The hotel oozes Caribbean charm and most (not all) of the staff are an absolute delight. The food is OK not anything to write home about. Breakfast is very average with absolutely nothing special to commend it except excellent egg chefs. The evening entertainment is a bit cliché but I guess suits the vibe. The (cover version) music in Harold’s Bar is horrendous and would drive me mad if we were staying longer. The location is perfect – stunning beach and walking distance to the eateries in Holetown. Expensive yes and not value for money but hey it is Barbados so pretty much true of every West Coast venue.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianni King, Sales at The Sandpiper
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your 4 star rating, and for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to learn that you loved your suite and especially liked the colonial décor. Thank you as well for highlighting your areas of concern which help us to continuously improve. Please note, tea, coffee and water can be requested, and as you may already know, we offer complimentary room service so these items may be served to you, as well as your meals, on your private patio. All of our rooms at The Sandpiper also come equipped with a mini fridge, and guests may request items as they wish. While we do not have TVs in most of our room categories, this is a key feature of The Sandpiper as most of our guests prefer to go without television on their holidays. To those who prefer to watch TV, a smart TV can easily be requested before or during your stay. We are sorry to learn about the issue with your toilet and have received confirmation from our team that this issue was quickly resolved for you, and there were no further complaints. Your feedback about our dining options and music selection at Harold’s Bar have all been passed onto the team, and we will be sure review. While we did not meet your expectations in this area, we hope to get things right should you stay with us again. Overall, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$441 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the sandpiper hotel saint james, sandpiper saint james, sandpiper hotel saint james, sandpiper barbados
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosSaint James ParishPorters
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Sandpiper
Which popular attractions are close to The Sandpiper?
Nearby attractions include Best of Barbados Gift Shop (0.3 miles), St. James Parish Church (0.1 miles), and Holetown Beach (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sandpiper?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Sandpiper?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Sandpiper?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Sandpiper?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sandpiper?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nishi Restaurant, Fusion Rooftop, and The Mews.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Sandpiper?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Sandpiper have airport transportation?
Yes, The Sandpiper offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Sandpiper?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Sandpiper?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Andromeda Botanic Gardens (7.8 miles), George Washington House (7.7 miles), and Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club (7.9 miles).
Does The Sandpiper have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.