We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sand Island Beach Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tiwi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sand Island Beach Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sand Island Beach Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Sand Island is the perfect place to relax in peace and watch the tides roll in and out. The cottages are comfortable, private and fully equipped.... and the managers, Cheryl and Arti are truly generous and gracious hosts. I took my partner to Sand Island for his birthday and Arti took time out of his day to bake him a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the chocolate cake! It was a pleasure to bake it for you and lots of fun too. Wonderful that you would like to come back and we really look forward to your next visit - maybe next time we will be baking...

bertenkyra
Reviewed December 12, 2013

For the third time, me and my husband and three kids, went to Sand Island Beach. We love the place, its perfect, the kids enjoyed every single minute in the water, at the beach, around the house, chatting with Cheryl and Arti in their office, the food prepared by Ali is excellent, managers Arti and Cheryl really take good care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertenkyra
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for this review - you are such great supporters of Sand Island and we love the fact that you enjoy being here so much. It was wonderful to welcome you and your family, with the new addition this time, back to Sand Island and we hope that you will be able to visit us again before returning to...

Chillicothe, Missouri
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It's been some time since my wife and I stayed at Sand Island (we were there for a week following two weeks of safari during the summer of 2012), but our memories of this amazing B&B are still very vivid. We stayed in a central, one-bedroom cottage with a gorgeous palm-lined walkdown to the beach (less than fifty yards to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Haines E
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review and you certainly have captured all that is 'special' about Sand Island - the privacy, the quietness, the lovely seafood and the 'home away from home' feel about the place. The owners really do try to keep it as a bit of 'old style' Kenya as these kinds of places are very few and...

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent five days there starting from November 3rd. Just after the arrival we admired sun eclipse on the beach. People have different needs regarding the place to spend their holidays. Some like noisy resorts with lots of entertainment, some others like it quiet. We are the later ones. Basically the place is a small group of very comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vujevasyl
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review

A very generous and enthusiastic review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us so much that you shared so much information with other travellers - thank you very much. You truly captured and enjoyed the ethos of Sand Island - a little bit of paradise that is hard to find anywhere in the world today....

nairobi
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Sand Island for 4 nights and honestly did not want to leave. It was an absolutely wonderful place to be and I can't recommend it more highly. From the lovely hospitality of the Managers Cheryl and Arty who made us feel so at home, to the amazing fresh seafood and fresh fruit & veg...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcbrik
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review and we love the fact that we are the best place you have ever stayed on the Kenya coast. Friendly, homely and peaceful is what Sand Island is all about and of course not forgetting the daily 'catch of the day'! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sand Island for a week in Oct. 2013. It was our first time in Kenya and we spent many hours researching accomodations on the Kenyan coast. We based our decision to stay there on the many excellent reviews the Cottages received from other travelers and we were not disappointed. Our cottage was the Kasa,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure to meet you and your wife and really glad you enjoyed your time here at Sand Island. A busy schedule you had and sadly we never did get to enjoy a Cosmo together! This is truly a little bit of unspoilt, quiet, beautiful coastline in Kenya and our aim is always to ensure that you...

Hong Kong
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our group of 3 stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. As a destination for relaxing it is hard to think of a better option. It is about a 45min drive from Moi Airport, the managers can organise you a taxi, which is a good idea as you'll need to stop at a supermarket to stock up for your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arno05
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Mask, snorkel and reef shoes are always a good idea although you can hire masks and snorkels from the fishermen for a very nominal fee. We have ordered a selection of different size reef shoes for hire and hopefully they should arrive this...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at Sand Island for 3 nights as a couple and we absolutely loved it! The whole experience was incredibly positive from the outset. The lovely couple who look after the cottages arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport, take us to the supermarket to buy some groceries, and take us to the cottages. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RitaMatos
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Wow..great review. Thank you. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much that you had no hesitation in recommending us to your friends and we look forward to welcoming them to Sand Island at some stage. We work hard with the local fishing community to help them to run their little businesses and to encourage them to see and...

Koerich, Luxembourg
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Sand island was recommended to us as the perfect, relaxed, safe, family friendly place to go. My first experience was the booking process which was simple, straightforward & customer friendly. It appealed straight away. Cheryl arranged our taxi pick-up from Mombasa airport which worked flawlessly. We were warmly received by Artie & Cheryl and felt at home straight away During...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc J
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time out to review us - always very much appreciated. The saying 'variety is the spice of life' was very pertinent for your stay with us and really glad that you enjoyed all the different cottages. Sand Island is simple and not over the top and our aim is always to make your stay...

London
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Despite being a frequent visitor and lover of Kenya, I had never really found the perfect beach destination for us. I now have. I visited Kenya in 2013 with my daughter and other members of my family for the first time, and took SAND ISLAND on recommendation from a friend. It could not have been more perfect. Private beach, comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin J
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Great review and thank you for taking the time to write this. We are thrilled that after spending so much time in Kenya and visiting the coast so often, you have at last found the 'perfect place' here at Sand Island and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again and again. Yes, sea urchins on...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

168 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (149)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiwi
1.3 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#30 of 30 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
1.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Diani Beach
1,295 reviews
4.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
396 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
#11 of 33 in Ukunda
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sand Island Beach is comprised of ten fully self contained cottages - which sleep between 2 and eight depending on which one you take - on a pristine piece of Kenya's south coast. It's geography offers guests something unique: a private beach within easy proximity of shops and restaurants. Set in acres of orchard and indigenous coastal forest and just meters from the beach, there is a real sense of space and peace. We will arrange airport transfers, assist with shopping and offer advice on local attractions and adventures. We pride ourselves on our hosting and our extraordinary location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sand Island Beach Cottages

Address: Tiwi Beach, Tiwi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tiwi
Price Range: $24 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sand Island Beach Cottages Hotel Mombasa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sand Island Beach Cottages staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sand Island Beach Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“you can't go wrong”
 of 5 bubbles hannahkd2017, Jan 14, 2017 | Read review
“All cottages have a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles AnneS601, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“Houses have ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles JoyYaa, Sep 20, 2016 | Read review
“Get enough food!”
 of 5 bubbles 317lynna, Jul 31, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Papa which was fantastic for 4 adults and 1 small child.”
 of 5 bubbles 867philr, Feb 20, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question