We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Serena Rd, Shanzu, Mombasa 80100 Kenya
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Official Hotel$230
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (745)
Pool & Beach (175)
Room & Suite (111)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Updated 12/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#2 of 8 hotels in Shanzu
Travelers' Choice
With the shimmering sands and waters of the Indian Ocean stretching before it, amidst verdant, bougainvillea-filled gardens, and shaded by gently swaying palm trees,Serena Beach Resort and Spa offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Treat your palate to a superb selection of of a la carte seafood dishes at the Jahazi Grill which is set on a beach and styled to resemble an Arab dhow.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Bay View
761Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 453
  • 208
  • 62
  • 25
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
James C wrote a review Sep 6
8 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Serena -- we loved its older style of architecture and the relaxed spirit of the place. the staff was excellent and provided top notch service with a wonderful spirit of hospitality. The food was excellent -- particularly at the Jahazi Grill with its world class seafood menu. The Spa was also wonderful, with a particular shout out to Judy the massage therapist. We particularly enjoyed being on the north coast, away from the busier and more touristy Diani Beach area south of Mombasa.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Wilfred Shirima, Owner at Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear James We are delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay at Serna Beach Resort & Spa. Yes, the Hotel design is inpired by Swahili/Arabic design borrowing from the rich history of coastal people. We are also pleased to not that our staff offered wonderful and friendly services and the food was great. We will pass your regards to all the staff who made your stay most enjoyable as we look forward to hosting you once again. With Regards Alphaxad Chege General Manager
Read more
Excursion799952 wrote a review Aug 2021
Lavington, Kenya3 contributions
Maisha Spa! Really enjoyed the steam/sauna! Best 60 minutes Swedish Massage ever from the lovely Judith! What a way to come out of such a gruelling two years! Extremely grateful... looking forward to a long stay soon with friends !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Response from Mombasa Serena, General Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for for visiting Maisha Spa. We are glad you enjoyed the treatments with Judith. We indeed look forward to hosting you for a longer stay soon. With warm regards Alphaxad Chege General Manager
Read more
CharlieBeau Diary of a Muzungu wrote a review Aug 2021
Kampala, Uganda408 contributions111 helpful votes
Mombasa Serena Resort is everything I wanted it to be: a wide expanse of white sand, friendly courteous staff, some unusual activities and fantastic food (of course). My Mombasa trip was my first international trip for two years. I cannot think of a better way to come out of lockdown! (I wasn't very organised, had not even thought about the transfer from the airport but the hotel staff were very quick to make arrangements for me). The Zanzibar Suite was amazing! I loved the bold colourful interior, the day bed and the hot walk-in shower. The Wi-Fi was good enough to catch up on some Zoom meetings. The entertainment system worked okay so some days, we just enjoyed room service. One of the highlights of our four night stay was dinner by the beach at the Jahazi (Seafood) Grill. NOT TO BE MISSED! The atmosphere was chilled and the food was sensational. I lost count of the number of courses we ate! My friend loved the steak (and the burger). He's a bit of a foodie and quite particular but he actually singled out both of those for praise. Some wildlife highlights were watching newly-hatched Green Turtles rush down to the ocean! What an unexpected joy. I also toured the small Butterfly Garden on the last day of my trip. This was a lovely experience run by a gentlemen who is clearly passionate about these beautiful creatures. All these activities were complimentary. Unfortunately I wasn't able to have a steam (closed for COVID reasons) which was a real shame because the spa looks beautiful. One area of the spa has a yoga area, surrounded by soothing running water. I did enjoy a good massage though. My friend used the gym a few times but neither of us used the pool. I can't believe I didn't swim now, when I look back at the gorgeous photos. The Swahili-themed architecture made for interesting walks around the resort's compound. On day one, I took the complimentary architectural and cultural tour, led by a member of staff decked out in cultural attire. I'm glad I did this at the start of my trip because it meant that the design themes of the resort resonated more with me. (I have done a similar tour at the Nairobi Serena Hotel and it is superb). Serena Hotel takes their COVID responsibilities very seriously. At reception, your passports will be 'zapped' to kill the virus before being handed back to you; when you eat buffet in the restaurant, you are asked to put a disposable glove before picking up the shared serving spoons. (I know it's well-intentioned but I do hate all this extra waste). Overall, this was a great trip. There were few international guests, but Kenyans from Nairobi and beyond are making the most of the downturn in international tourism to travel more. Well done to everyone at the Serena; I hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from Mombasa Serena, General Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Charlie Wow what a lovely review. We are soo glad that you had a fantastic stay and that our team went all the way to ensure you were comfortable. We are always committed to turning stays into memorable occasions. My team and I are looking forward to hosting you again soon. With warm regards from Mombasa Alphaxad Chege General Manager
Read more
Nelima wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I'm currently on my 6th and last night of my holiday at resort today. So sad to be leaving because it's a wonderful homely resort. Very child friendly. Was not crowded and not noisy unlike neighboring hotels.The staff are so attentive, ever jovial and ready to assist. The room is spacious, has good finishing including the bathtub and shower cubicle. The hot water in the bathroom is consistent. Our room is garden facing but being on top floor and having both a balcony and a private veranda gave us a beautiful glimpse of the ocean amidst the green lush beautiful garden.Definitely would recommend the top floor rooms. The staff assigned to do housekeeping in our room did a great job, was very friendly, considerate and professional and ensured the impeccable beautifully neat and tidy set up we found on Day 1 was always restored daily.Much appreciated. The food is great; despite being a buffet, I have so far not felt like I have kept repeating the same meal daily, there was always a unique twist to each starch, protein, veggies, pastries etc. There was even a separate buffet for kids. Got a chance to eat at their seafood restaurant called Jahazi and the food was great as well. Though, a downside, the fresh juice selection during dinner at the main restaurant and at the Jahazi restaurant was limited to only passion and melon juice. Hope the overwhelmingly wider selection of fresh juices available during breakfast could be considered during dinner as well in future. I had a welcome fruit basket on day 1 in the room, wouldn't have minded having the basket replenished daily or every other day even if at an additional cost. Delivery of food in the room via room service took quite some time though maybe it's because we ordered during mid afternoon when probably the staff were clearing lunch and prepping for dinner but needless to say, once delivered, the food did not disappoint at all, was worth the wait. The WIFI is strong and consistent though limited devices access to only 3 per the assigned username, must be some sort of internal controls thing, I don't know. But overall, this has been a wonderful stay, I'm leaving relaxed and refreshed. Thumbs up !!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: Higher floor garden facing rooms have combined ocean and garden view; do take your kids to the...
See more room tips
Response from Mombasa Serena, General Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Dear Dnelima Hope you are well. We are soo pleased to read of this wonderful review. I am happy that our team delivered and made your stay a memorable one. We will will share your appreciation to them and have also noted the very positive feedback on where we could do better. We thank you once again for choosing Serena Beach Resort and Spa for your holiday as we look forward to hosting you again very soon. With kind regards Alphaxad Chege
Read more
Eadiey wrote a review Jul 2021
Nairobi, Kenya15 contributions1 helpful vote
The place is beautiful, the reception area is beautiful, quite elaborate and well adorned with Swahili furniture. Covid regulations are implemented to the letter. The rooms are spacious and stunning. Food and delicious and there's variety to choose from.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Response from Mombasa Serena, General Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Dear Eadiey Thanks for taking your time to post your review here. It is indeed hospitality the Swahili way. We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and are hopeful that you will be back soon. We appreciate you. Thank you Alphaxad Chege General Manager
Read more
$174 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
serena beach hotel shanzu, serena beach hotel and spa, hotel serena beach
KenyaCoast ProvinceMombasaShanzu
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Haller Park (3.6 miles), Bamburi Beach (3.2 miles), and Nguuni Nature Sanctuary (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafesserie Mombasa, Pavilions Restaurant, and Yul's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Serena Beach Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Serena Beach Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Serena Beach Resort & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Shanzu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Serena Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Serena Beach Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.