We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Damara Mopane Lodge

Save
Share
C39 20 Km East of Khorixas, Khorixas Namibia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$235
View deal
Hotels.com
$235
View deal
Destinia.com
$243
$195
View deal
SAVE $48
Free cancellation until 09/16/21
Booking.com$243
Priceline$243
Lol.travel
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (416)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (31)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Khorixas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Built in the wattle and daub style under Mopane trees and connected by a labyrinth of paths, the main building and chalets of the lodge look like an African village. The walls are adorned by copies of the rock engravings at Twyfelfontein. Each of the 60 double room chalets (with air conditioning) sits in a vegetable and herb garden surrounded by a low wall. The gardens supply fresh ingredients for supper, which consists of a starter followed by a delicious buffet. There is a swimming pool for chilling out and a viewing point for relishing sunsets. The lodge at the gates of Damaraland is ideally suited for excursions to Twyfelfontein (130 km), the Petrified Forest (70 km) and the Vingerklip rock pillar (50 km).
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Ironing service
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German

Location

Full view
Contact
C39 20 Km East of Khorixas, Khorixas Namibia
Getting there
Hosea Kutako Intl Airport211 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
719Reviews5Q+A42Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 274
  • 312
  • 97
  • 26
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
chippabenjamin wrote a review Oct 2020
Windhoek, Namibia2 contributions
The design and cleanliness of the room caught my eye as soon as I entered. Every chalet had its own garden(I think thats just awesome). Enjoyed the pool, the ever-friendly staff and the location! Definitely worth coming back!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernd Grahl, General Manager at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded Nov 16, 2020
Dear chippabenjamin, We are so grateful for your 5-star review and are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us! See you again soon. Kind regards Koney
Read more
Melanie S wrote a review Apr 2020
2 contributions
We stayed for three nights. Wonderful staff, service, food, amenities and location. In spite of our visit coinciding with difficult and frustrating times, the staff made us feel really welcome. Compliments to the chef(s)!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from GondwanaCollection, Community Coordinator at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded May 29, 2020
Dear H2216SPmelanies, Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It is really good to know that you had such an excellent time with us and we hope you give us another chance to cater to your needs again in the future. Keep well and safe until we meet again. Koney
Read more
Mensovw wrote a review Mar 2020
Den Dolder, The Netherlands19 contributions5 helpful votes
Really bad experience! Made a reservation for a night. Because of the distance to travel I made a phonecall to make sure everything was ok. Unfortunately the lady on the phone told me they were overbooked and not able to accommodate us the next day. So we had to make a reservation in another hotel for that night. She told me someone would contact me for the refund. The next day the hotel called me to ask at what time we would arrive (it was already 8pm). I explained the situation and told her we were in a hotel far from their place. She promised me that someone would call for the refund. Unfortunately after a lot of e-mails and calls I haven't received any refund. 182$ lost! Really disappointed by their customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from GondwanaCollection, Community Coordinator at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded Apr 7, 2020
Dear Mensovw, Thank you for approaching us on this matter. We are truly sorry to hear that you didn’t have a good experience with us. We always strive to provide our guests with the best customer service in all our departments. Could you please forward your booking information and previous communication regarding your refund with us pr@gondwana-collection.com. Our team will review and attend to your matter at the earliest convenience. We hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards on behalf of Gondwana Koney
Read more
gunillak52 wrote a review Mar 2020
Nacka, Sweden38 contributions2 helpful votes
A lodge with very beautiful surroundings. A nice room with comfortable beds. The breakfast was good and our buffet dinner was excellent! Outside in "our" garden, the vegetable that we had in the diningroom, was growing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from GondwanaCollection, Community Coordinator at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded Apr 7, 2020
Dear gunillak52, Thank you so much for five star feedback! We hope to meet you again in the future. Best regards Koney
Read more
de-san wrote a review Jan 2020
Rotterdam, The Netherlands675 contributions195 helpful votes
This a a large hotel what caters for tour groups and serves only buffet food in the evening. So if you like buffets this is the place to go. Rooms are nicely decorated and the hotel has a large swimming pool, they need it because this hotel can accommodate 120 people. Staff is friendly. I have seen better but it was ok for 1 night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from GondwanaCollection, Intern at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded Jan 30, 2020
Dear de-san, Thank you for reverting back with your feedback. Our lodge caters to all guests who want to experience our beautiful country and we hope you enjoyed your visit. All the best of luck on your travels and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards on behalf of Gondwana, Daniela
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaKunene RegionKhorixas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing