We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tube \\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and a friend spent 2 nights at Tube & Axe and had a comfortable stay (private room). Staff were really friendly, informative & helpful. We have also enjoyed a delicious Spit during our stay & some drinks on both evenings next to the bonfire (warm & cozy atmosphere). Sure to return in the near future (to try out the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pixie_1012
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location location location ....great vibe and very well located for a variety of outdoor sports , sadly the food was poor , no burger buns ,no mozzarella cheese , no pita breads , the chicken livers were too salty to eat and the vegetarian stack was just a oily frozen has brown and two slices or oily aubergine , to... More 

Helpful?
Thank kbsmarais
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I Hope that this Letter meets you in Good Spirit. My husband and myself are completely horrified reading your review , with complete understanding of your experience. i will assure you that we will take great steps to ensure that such experience does not occur in the future. this is certainly not the way we do things and... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attention nature/outdoor lovers, adrenaline junkies, active adventure seekers. Tube n axe is a backpackers paradise ripe with fun all year round. surrounded by picturesque views, select from cosy cabins or camp in style with a pre-setup tent (includes bed) or pitch your own. Enjoy a meal prepared from tube n axes very own produce garden around the bonfire while engaging... More 

Helpful?
Thank RichardHaubrich
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for the wonderful review Kindest Regards The Tube n Axe Team More 

Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Really nice place!! Try the 'bungee'-shooter at the bar after the real bungee jump! Nice and really big fireplace where you can hang around and have a drink with your friends. Rooms and tents and dorms, I checked everything out, haha! They are all great!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne V
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest What a heart warning read thank you so much The Tube n Axe Team More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

From booking the room the staff were very helpful. We arrived to check in and were told that unfortunately our activity we had planned couldn't go ahead as we were the only people booked in. However the lady was very helpful as to help us choose last minute another excursion to go on and straight away got us booked in.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ge0rgiahannah
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to thank you for your review and it makes me feel warm knowing Tube n Axe is in such great hands when we are not around Warm Regards natasha marnewecke More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We spent a night in the dorm. Coukd not get any rest at night. Loud music at the bar which is inconveniently close to the room (its door doesn't close properly!) and people speaking loudly until late. Kitchen is poorly equipped-no kettle, cups or plates. Extra Fee for coffee and tea. Doesn't deliver for budget travellers.

Helpful?
Thank Maya_SK
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your review unfortunately our large dorm was placed in that area catering for young energetic guests , the dorm has been there for the last 20 years. we do have other more quieter dorms and private rooms available at the same rate that we would have been happy to move you to should you have... More 

Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

What a great backpackers friendly and hellpfull staff clean and tidy ! Staff gives great information on adventures and activities in and around the area with the highlight being the accommodation and bon fire at night meeting other travellers! Black water tubing a must do !!!! Thank you richard for making it even better best guides !!

Helpful?
1 Thank Armand G
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for the wonderful review Best Wishes The Tube n Axe Team More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016

They are disengaged and they have no knowledge of the hospitality industry. When we booked there was nothing on the website that alerted us to the fact that there is no cleaning service, the rooms have no cupboard space and there is no desk to work from. All they really offer is a low-pressure shower and a bed. Very disappointing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Phuhlisa N
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you so much for your response. Please note that we are not a hotel but a backpackers , we are unable to offer you what you expect as we are not a hotel. we are a third of the price. we do not offer cleaning service unless its requested. i am sorry that you assumed we were... More 

JHB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

The staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfasts are great, I stayed in the Rooiels room at the back end, the room is a bit small and whe someone walks in the room next door you can clearly hear them, that was a bit disturbing as a staff member stay next door and worked till midnight. The kitchen also had... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank tinabH5938MZ
New Takoradi, Western, Ghana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

Very nice well appointed place. Mix of ensuite double and bunk rooms. The round brai pit fire with seats - the biggest social brai pit I have seen - is a great social spot to chill, cook and / or eat. We had a prepared meat pie and salad. The best pie on the whole two week Garden route trip.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Storms River hotels
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#3 of 5 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge
Armagh Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.9 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#3 of 12 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Storm Rriver Backpackers - This fantastic youth hostel is located in Storms River Village on the pulse of adventure and is ranked among the top backpackers lodges in South Africa let alone Garden Route. Our Accommodation offers warm cosy beds, clean facilities, Stormsriver Activities and Adventures. A buzzing night-life attracts travellers from all over to Tube ‘n Axe Backpackers Lodge and Accommodation. Storms River Village is a must visit while in Tsitsikamma and Garden Route area. Tubenaxe is also home of Blackwater Tubing and it is close to the Garden Route National Park at the famous Storms River Mouth – we offer shuttles on a daily basis to our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Address: Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Price Range: $21 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay