We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 187: English reviews
Nairobi
Reviewed January 25, 2016

This is not our first visit to Hakuna Matata but our 2nd time. If you want a classic feel and good seafood then Hakuna Matata is the place to go. The rooms are comfortable and neat. No unnecessary luxuries but has a feel of homeliness. The food is great and seafood is themed with each night being different. This add...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bushwakka
HakunaMatata1, Inhaber at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Hello we are very happ we could fulfill your expectations and want to say thank you very much for your wonderful review. Will pass it also to our staff. Hope to welcome you again. All the best Rose+Fritz

Reviewed January 9, 2016

A very beautiful and perfectly organised little Hotel close to Zanzibar town. Very delicious food, excellent service.The hotel owners are very friendly and do always care about the happinessof their guests :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine_ho92
HakunaMatata1, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Nadine, thanks for taking the time to enter a review in TipAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we could make you feel comfortable. Best regards Heike

Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

I stay at many luxury resorts/hotels but this is not one of them. The landscape is beautiful but everything else was disappointing. The rooms (images attached) are not cozy. The beds are really hard and uncomfortable since the mattress lays on stone. Also it is so hot at night and the AC is weak and in the wrong area of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HappyExplorer222
HakunaMatata1, Owner at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We think it is not really fair to give our staff this bad rating cause you had some trouble with me (Rose). You came to me (Rose) and started your complain about the New Years supplement with “ if you don´t agree what we will write a bad comment in Trip Advisor” as you have...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed January 2, 2016

very friendly staff, warm and welcoming reception, excellent food and great atmosphere, lodges were clean and surrounding gardens were delightful, highly recommended. Staff will assist with any special dietary requirements, options for excursions, beatiful location, steps down to bay which is very characterful and evening meal on the beach was fantastic

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Asif M
HakunaMatata1, Owner at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Asif thanks a lot also on behalf of the Hakuna Matata Staff for you good review. We are happy we could fulfill your expectiations and hope to welcome you again Rose and the Hakuna Matata Staff

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed December 27, 2015

Beautiful intimate resort designed for those who enjoy quiet and excellent food. The individual villas are lovely and the food outstanding. The staff if friendly and helpful. We enjoyed ourselves and would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LNSchmidt
HakunaMatata1, Owner at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lisa and Family thanks for your nice comment. Also all of you have been wonderful guests. Hope to welcome you again Rose, Heike,Fritz and the Hakuna Matata Staff

Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

I always wanted to go on a solo vacation in Zanzibar. Then I stumbled upon Hakuna Matata Resort. This was especially made easy by the fact that the reception were so easy to speak to while making accommodation arrangements. In addition, the reception was great, not to mention the breathtaking views and rooms. I especially loved the ruins and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrefu
HakunaMatata1, Owner at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrefu thanks a lot for your good entry. We are always happy if the efforts of our staff is honoured in this was. Hope to welcome you one day again. so thanks again and all the best Rose, Fritz, Heike and the Hakuna Matata Staff

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

It's always nice to go to Hakuba Matata. I have been several times and it is always a pleasure. Rose and Fritz, the owners, are superb, so are most of their local team. The food is SUPERB. A definite place to recommend. I'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans H
HakunaMatata1, Owner at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hans thanks for your very good comment. We are happy we could fulfill your expectations. Hope to welcome you again Rose, Heike,Fritz and the Hakuna Matata Staff

Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Reviewed October 19, 2015

This is one amazing place, very quiet, off town. We had an amazing time, we were always entertained. Those three days were completely magical and sure as heavens we will recommend this place to all our friends. It was also recommended to us. The staff are nice and helpful. Check out this place people!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nuya H
HakunaMatata1, Leiter Front Office at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this nice comment. We are pleased to hear you had a good time here and you´re always welcome.

Zanzibar Archipelago, Tanzania
Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

Well situated about half an hour from Stone Town. Situated amongst some old ruins with splendid views overlooking the ocean. Lovely private beach located in a bay. Delicious food and friendly service, but rather expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dirk M
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewed September 7, 2015

It is the lodge with the very friendly staff, delicious food and spaciously arranged rooms with the strategic location to make stay far from crowd and urban movements yet it is not far from main bus and ferry stations. I strongly recommend it for whoever wants to enjoy stay in Zanzibar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mtalii_12
HakunaMatata1, Leiter Front Office at Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge, responded to this review

It is always nice to hear that the guests enjoyed their time here at Hakuna Matata. Thank you for this nice comment and remember, you are always welcome.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

466 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (407)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (53)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bububu
4.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
435 reviews
14.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,450 reviews
26.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
26.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,048 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge

Address: Chuini Palace Ruins, Bububu, Tanzania (Formerly Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bububu
Price Range: $125 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuna Matata Beach Hotel Bububu
Hakuna Matata Beach Bububu
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Bububu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
3 months ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The Villa is fantastic. Make sure you add in tax when you figure the nightly rate.”
 of 5 bubbles Marnie33, Jul 17, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in "Tabora" (executive bungalow, air conditioned) which was excellent, with a nice view over the bay from the terrace .”
 of 5 bubbles I8868FXmb, Jan 31, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms closest to the beach. Or the ones in the private little bay area.”
 of 5 bubbles Bushwakka, Jan 25, 2016 | Read review
“Request a room far from construction if you want to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles BugraC86, Sep 1, 2015 | Read review
“Any...all rooms are worth the luxury”
 of 5 bubbles Arfanz4444, Jul 23, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question