We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

The location and property itself are nothing short of magical. As we stepped through the gates, we felt transported to another time. The intimate beach barbecue, with bonfire and local musicians...WOW!! It's difficult to translate the "Zanzibar Feeling" we had as we took it all in. The staff was warm, and service definitely above average. Fritz recommended dinner at Emerson... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marnie33
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016

A nice hotel, with very pleasant green territory, amazing sunset views and a decent beach. It was built on the ruins of the Sultan's Chuini Palace , which creates a somewhat authentic atmosphere. In the evenings you can watch the local kids bathing in the ocean, having cold drinks at the terrace before dinner. Sunsets are also breathtaking! Upon our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizaveta A
HakunaMatata1, Inhaber at Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Elisabeth thanks for you good comments. We will strongly look at you open critic and improove as much as possible. We are happy you enjoyed the time at Hakuna Matata and wish you all the best. Rose+Fritz More 

Marburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2016

We clearly recommend "Zanzibar feeling" - the best cocktail ever and a creation of the head waiter Suleiman! Service and food are great at Hakuna Matata; this is clearly the most oustanding feature of the lodge! We also enjoyed the pool and the private beach with its little fishermen boats anchoring there during low tide, which gives you something to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank M B
HakunaMatata1, Inhaber at Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hello thanks a lot for this beautiful comment. We will forward your praise to Sulei and of course to all other staff members. As we say on Zanzibar Karibuni tena - welcome again All the best Fritz and Rose More 

Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2016

This is not our first visit to Hakuna Matata but our 2nd time. If you want a classic feel and good seafood then Hakuna Matata is the place to go. The rooms are comfortable and neat. No unnecessary luxuries but has a feel of homeliness. The food is great and seafood is themed with each night being different. This add... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bushwakka
HakunaMatata1, Inhaber at Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hello we are very happ we could fulfill your expectations and want to say thank you very much for your wonderful review. Will pass it also to our staff. Hope to welcome you again. All the best Rose+Fritz More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016

A very beautiful and perfectly organised little Hotel close to Zanzibar town. Very delicious food, excellent service.The hotel owners are very friendly and do always care about the happinessof their guests :)

Helpful?
Thank Nadine_ho92
HakunaMatata1, Manager at Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Nadine, thanks for taking the time to enter a review in TipAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we could make you feel comfortable. Best regards Heike More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

I stay at many luxury resorts/hotels but this is not one of them. The landscape is beautiful but everything else was disappointing. The rooms (images attached) are not cozy. The beds are really hard and uncomfortable since the mattress lays on stone. Also it is so hot at night and the AC is weak and in the wrong area of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HappyExplorer222
HakunaMatata1, Owner at Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We think it is not really fair to give our staff this bad rating cause you had some trouble with me (Rose). You came to me (Rose) and started your complain about the New Years supplement with “ if you don´t agree what we will write a bad comment in Trip Advisor” as you have... More 

Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

very friendly staff, warm and welcoming reception, excellent food and great atmosphere, lodges were clean and surrounding gardens were delightful, highly recommended. Staff will assist with any special dietary requirements, options for excursions, beatiful location, steps down to bay which is very characterful and evening meal on the beach was fantastic

Helpful?
1 Thank Asif M
HakunaMatata1, Owner at Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Asif thanks a lot also on behalf of the Hakuna Matata Staff for you good review. We are happy we could fulfill your expectiations and hope to welcome you again Rose and the Hakuna Matata Staff More 

Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Beautiful intimate resort designed for those who enjoy quiet and excellent food. The individual villas are lovely and the food outstanding. The staff if friendly and helpful. We enjoyed ourselves and would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank LNSchmidt
HakunaMatata1, Owner at Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lisa and Family thanks for your nice comment. Also all of you have been wonderful guests. Hope to welcome you again Rose, Heike,Fritz and the Hakuna Matata Staff More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

I always wanted to go on a solo vacation in Zanzibar. Then I stumbled upon Hakuna Matata Resort. This was especially made easy by the fact that the reception were so easy to speak to while making accommodation arrangements. In addition, the reception was great, not to mention the breathtaking views and rooms. I especially loved the ruins and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mrefu
HakunaMatata1, Owner at Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mrefu thanks a lot for your good entry. We are always happy if the efforts of our staff is honoured in this was. Hope to welcome you one day again. so thanks again and all the best Rose, Fritz, Heike and the Hakuna Matata Staff More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

It's always nice to go to Hakuba Matata. I have been several times and it is always a pleasure. Rose and Fritz, the owners, are superb, so are most of their local team. The food is SUPERB. A definite place to recommend. I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Hans H
HakunaMatata1, Owner at Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hans thanks for your very good comment. We are happy we could fulfill your expectations. Hope to welcome you again Rose, Heike,Fritz and the Hakuna Matata Staff More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

427 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (399)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (53)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bububu
18.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
31.0 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa

Address: Chuini Ruins, Bububu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bububu
Price Range: $111 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuna Matata Beach Hotel Bububu
Hakuna Matata Beach Bububu
Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa Zanzibar Island/Bububu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay