We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Alveston Manor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alveston Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely atmosphere, rooms absollutely divine. Only thing that we could find fault with was the noise in the dining area from the kitchen, we could hear pots clattering etc, not very romantic. Staff were very good and the spa was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
Alveston-Manor-Hotel, Manager at Alveston Manor, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your feedback. It is always helpful to know where we can improve and when we get it right :) We hope to welcome you back soon....so we can make sure it is more romantic next time round. Kind Regards Alveston Manor More 

Vanderbijlpark
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Elegant restaurant, beautiful Spa, very professional treatment, nice and very quiet. Perfect for a relaxed getaway from the hustle and bustle of JHB. Michelle sent a reminder of our booking a week ahead.

Helpful?
Thank Z6405FFkm
Alveston-Manor-Hotel, Manager at Alveston Manor, responded to this review

Good Day Thank you for letting us know we are getting it right. We hope to see you in the future for another weekend get away :) More 

Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Alveston Manor Guest House is a great venue to host family lunches. Our first family lunch was with my sons christening. They made the day so special and their attention to detail is out of this world, not to even mention the food. Our second family function at Alveston Manor were my father in law’s birthday party. Once again they... More 

Helpful?
Thank natasjahattingh
Alveston-Manor-Hotel, Manager at Alveston Manor, responded to this review

Good Day It is always a delight to hear from our guests that they have enjoyed every aspect of thier stay or function at the Alveston Manor. Feedback of any nature helps us keep our guests happy and improve where needed. We look forward to helping you host your next family function. Alveston Manor More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2016

We as family enjoyed our stay at Alveston Manor small hotel and spa. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The standard double rooms are clean and tidy, although small. The beds (mattresses) needs replacement. The atmosphere of the hotel is cosy and pleasant. The breakfast was nice! The hotel could improve their security, the gate is open all day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rudi O
Alveston-Manor-Hotel, Manager at Alveston Manor, responded to this review

Good Day Thank you for your feedback on our establishment and facilities. We are in the process of a refurbishment with all rooms getting airconditioning, new beds, towels and we have already replaced all the linen. With regards to the gate, it is always closed and one needs to ring at the intercom for reception. However this weekend with the... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

We arrived 7.30pm the reception staf friendly. Had to change rooms we booked one with a bath. This one only had a shower..with a dismal plasric curtain. The carpets is absolutely filthy. They moved us to n room with bath..no clean towels and the bath not cleaned. The poor guy at reception tried he fetched new towels. Apparently matric girls... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patti S
Alveston-Manor-Hotel, Manager at Alveston Manor, responded to this review

Good Day We apologise for the delayed response as we believe in getting back to our guests swiftly. We were however investigating all your comments before responding. Your booking come directly from our website and no mention or request was made on line for a room with a bath. We only have 3 rooms with bath and shower and as... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Spent a night at Alveston manor and I was very impressed by its charm, it was in winter so I really appreciated the lounge area with its fire place. The chef's salad is also a killer. My only suggestion is that they find a way to keep the towels in the room white.

Helpful?
Thank ChiwaTi
Alveston-Manor-Hotel, Manager at Alveston Manor, responded to this review

Good Day Thank you for taking the time to let us know how are doing. We are very glad that you enjoyed the fireplace as it is a big winner in the winter months. With regards to the towels we are waiting for delivery of new linen and towels as it time again to refresh our stock. This should be... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Great location (easy to find), it is quiet and a wonderful place to unwind. The staff (especially Michelle) was wonderful, warm and very welcoming, absolutely hospitable. The food and the spa were great. Absolutely worth every cent, we are definitely going back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Dwight87
Alveston-Manor-Hotel, Manager at Alveston Manor, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for the feedback. We strive to make sure every guest leaves here feeling great about their experience, so it helps to know we get it right. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Alveston Manor More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2016

wow what a wonderful experience hubby and i had arriving at the place was so peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg, the room was so beautiful we never wanted to leave it romantic suit amazing bathroom the whole experience spa treatment is a must when visiting candlelight dinner and breakfast served in your room so cozy hubby... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joilenet
Alveston-Manor-Hotel, Manager at Alveston Manor, responded to this review

Good Day We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Alveston. We strive ourselves on great service and product and so appreciate it when guests let us know we are getting it right :) We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards Alveston Manor More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2016

We booked into the Lodge for a romantic spa experience and it was really well worth it. The reception on arrival was very friendly and personal and we were shown to our room which was very comfortable and inviting. We started the spa experience by enjoying a snack platter on the terrace with a bottle of wine, followed by a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mac055Johannesburg
Alveston-Manor-Hotel, Manager at Alveston Manor, responded to this review

Good day Firstly thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased that you were happy with your stay and the service. We pride ourselves on keeping our guests happy and leaving here feeling better than when they came in:) We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Alveston Manor More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2016

Friendly staff and good food. Around the corner from the mall, Alveston Manor is a lovely, quaint little hideaway. The accommodation is cosy and the grounds are quaint and well kept. They have a spa with a lovely Jacuzzi. Thumbs up.

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura12332
Alveston-Manor-Hotel, Manager at Alveston Manor, responded to this review

Good Day Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing in this competitive world. We pride ourselves on great service and hospitality and it is always wonderful to hear when we get it right. We hope to welcome you again soon. Regards Alveston Manor More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middelburg
15.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Witbank
14.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Witbank Highveld
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pumpkin Tree Guesthouse
Pumpkin Tree Guesthouse
#2 of 28 in Middelburg
31 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oregon Place Guest House
Oregon Place Guest House
#4 of 28 in Middelburg
16 reviews
2.2 mi away
Del Roza Guest House
Del Roza Guest House
#1 of 28 in Middelburg
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As the flagship of the Swanne Group, Alveston Manor stands apart as one of the most sought after up market hospitality establishments in Middelburg. Situated half way between Johannesburg and Nelspruit on the Maputo Corridor, it is well positioned for a relaxing stopover on your way to the low veld (Mpumalanga). It is also conveniently located close to the new Middelburg Mall and N4 high way making it easily accessible to travellers and affording you a modern shopping experience. For the business traveller, it is close to all the main industries, mines and power stations in the area, while being set in a tranquil and picturesque suburban area. Alveston also cater for small weddings, launches, networking events and other private functions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alveston Manor

Address: 21 Hexriver Street | Aerorand, Middelburg 1050, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Middelburg
Price Range: $46 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alveston Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alveston Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alveston Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“First floor rooms you great views of the area.”
 of 5 bubbles Dwight87, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
“Corner suite was large and had more than enough room for very large suitcases.”
 of 5 bubbles somayyag, Aug 28, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms were great”
 of 5 bubbles Callypuff, Aug 13, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the honeymoon suite”
 of 5 bubbles mel272014, Jul 29, 2015 | Read review
“All are clean and tidy”
 of 5 bubbles James_007764, Apr 28, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay