We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Bedingfeld Arms

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Bedingfeld Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 283: English reviews
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This is a tricky review The venue is lovely. It's quaint clean and bright We came here for a bank holiday family lunch While the staff were happy and attentive is it was their lack of attention that let the place down While offering a reasonable range of food choices, personally i struggled to find something I wanted The problems... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam B
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've visited The Bedingfeld Arms a few times now and I cannot fault the service, food, quality or prices! I had a Chicken Sandwich served with crisps and a salad garnish. The thought, care and passion that goes into the food is just pure excellence. It's a gastro-pub feel but with a fantastic selection of drinks, you simply can't go... More 

Helpful?
Thank PetleyJ
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff here during our stay. The room was comfortable - one of the coach house rooms. It was a little stuffy, but we were there on one of the hottest days of the year! A real little gem hidden away. We loved to nip outside in the middle of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ThomasJPitts
Swaffham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

It's our 2nd visit good selection of vegetarian meals on the lunchtime menu I can recommend the beanburger and the bedingfield burger.Our second visit with friends was a Sunday evening it was an anniversary celebration they dressed the table and made the evening special.The service was excellent. Can't wait to try the a'lacart menu.

Helpful?
Thank Dave C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting family in nearby Stoke Ferry and decided to chance a visit for a Saturday evening meal without a reservation. Luckily, although busy, they could accommodate us. The menu offers a range of interesting starters and mains. The dishes were well presented and the food freshly prepared and well cooked. Service is excellent. The pub/restaurant is next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
VenetianStar, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this review

Dear Stephen D Thank you for your wonderful uplifting review posted today! We have a new team in place so watch this space as we continue to strive to improve all aspects of running the Bedingfeld. We are aiming for 5 stars from you! Please come back soon to give us that chance. Best wishes Catkin More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Let's not be petty here,this is a tremendous old place with great rural charm brought back to life and much enhanced by the present owners.OK so you might find a bit of dust and the odd spider but this as rural Norfolk village as you will find,the food and drink may be a bit pricey (normal for Norfolk ?) but... More 

Helpful?
Thank GJ N
VenetianStar, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this review

Dear GJN (still trying to work out a clue as to who you might be behind the initials!) THANK YOU and as you say 'let's not be petty here' - we have indeed transformed the place totally and every aspect of the Bedingfeld is aimed to please our guests/customers. The staff have been Magnificent and under a lot of pressure... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Blessed by warm evening sunshine, we saw this place at its' best. Beautifully designed outside seating area in oak with natural polished stone flags. The staff were polite and attentive, the food well cooked. No complaints and we would happily return.

Helpful?
Thank Stefan L
VenetianStar, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this review

Dear Stefan L Hooray! We did well - although we didn't make a 5 star rating? We hope you will return soon and we can achieve the maximum star rating - that is our aim, every time! Best wishes and thank you for your lovely review. Catkin More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been here several times and it does not disappoint. We like the friendly and attentive service, the well presented food and most of all the relaxed and welcoming decor which simply makes you want to stay. Today (Aug12th) it was blistering hot and we had visited after doing a four mile hike in the area (Google walks Norfolk). Visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank tyketyke
VenetianStar, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this review

Earle Arms (Heydon), Copenhagen galore, and many more fascinating discoveries! Do please write a guidebook, tyketyke, for us to enjoy your Fabulous reviews and all in the right spirit - to give the benefit of doubt and be upbeat and supportive of so many of the places you experience. I wish there were more people like you. Thank you for... More 

Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice meal with the Cataniens on Friday evening. 20 of sat down in the new extension, with its oak beams. Good food and ale with great service on a lovely summer evening. What more can you want when it's coupled with good company...

Helpful?
1 Thank issued_xw
VenetianStar, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this review

Thank you _xw for including a lovely, friendly review on us in your catch up on TripAdvisor - I am now intrigued by Keswick! I am relieved to hear you and fellow Cataniens enjoyed your evening at the Bedingfeld in the new Oak and Stone Garden Private Dining Room. Your party were a pleasure to serve - kindly appreciative and... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On visiting Oxborough Hall we decided to stop and have lunch, and upon walking into the bar we were greeted with a warm frendly welcome. The menu looked very pleasing with a good choice we opted for a sandwich, I had the gammon and tomato on granary it came with crisps.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mossey58
VenetianStar, Owner at The Bedingfeld Arms, responded to this review

Dear Mossey58 Thank you for your positive feedback/review. We appreciate the good reviews greatly and in some ways they are harder to write as Life is so busy and so harder to find time to write that everything was a good experience. Useful though for potential new customers to balance reviews, especially where some seem to be unnecessarily aggressive. Looking... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

196 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxborough
2.2 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Knights Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
8.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bedingfeld Arms is an 18th century freehouse coaching Inn, located in the picturesque village of Oxborough, that has been fully refitted in 2012 and now has 4 large comfortable and stylish ensuite bedrooms in the main building and 5 smaller but well appointed Coach Rooms. Impressive Marble/Stone Fireplaces in relaxed and comfortable bar and dining area. Good locally sourced fresh food, fine wines, and real ales all open to both resident guests and the public, with an extensive south facing and lawned garden where food and drink is also served in the summer. Situated opposite the popular National Trust Oxburgh Hall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bedingfeld Arms

Address: The Green | Swaffham, Oxborough PE33 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Oxborough
Price Range: $79 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Bedingfeld Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedingfeld Arms Hotel Oxborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay