We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Lambton Arms Hotel

61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Lambton Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I stayed for two nights and had breakfast and evening meals. Meals were delicious, particularly the chips! Breakfast full English, cereal and toast with tea or coffee for £5. Easy place for trains and buses. Pleasant,friendly and helpful staff. rooms clean and comfortable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Willcp16
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Can't fault the Lambton Arms for value! Stayed one night on business and looking for somewhere close to train station and this was ideal, less than 5 minutes walk from Chester-le-street station. Room was large and spotlessly clean, lovely bathroom with power shower and bath, lashings of hot water. Large double bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimlee4
yorkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

A long drive in testing conditions, I just wanted to settle in and unwind. In trying to check in, I was required to pay up front – no problem, except that their card machine either was not working or its use not understood. I thus could not pay by credit card and they would not give me the key to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike707
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review - in respect to your points, we had no other issues with accepting anyone else's credit card or debit card payments either before or after you checked in so maybe the issue was with your cards. I'm not certain why you had to go out into the rain to get cash as within 10... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chester-le-Street hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

Visiting family and friends for the first time this year. Decided to have a few drinks in the town centre, was unsure about visiting again after a disappointing visit last time but everything about the place has been much improved. Can't wait to go back next time I visit

Helpful?
Thank John S
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here many times & " it does what it says on the tin " its clean,staff are friendly,food is fine,the only thing that is a bit shabby is the carpet on the rear entrance to the hotel stairs ( threadbare & dirty ) however you get what you pay for

Helpful?
Thank Mazmik89
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a conference and had the pleasure of staying at The Lambton overnight, after a weary day I found checking in very easy and I was stunned at the size of my room and the ensuite bathroom. After freshening up I ventured downstairs for a meal which was excellent value and came piping hot, I must say... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank LeeDag
North East England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2016

I was attending a function and wasn't sure whether to stay the night,i decided i would,very good room rate,i arrived at the bar to check in,very friendly barman,checked me in,he showed me to room.the room was a double very spacious,and the bathroom was huge very clean,i ventured downstairs had a bar meal,very reasonable prices and the burger was delicious,the night... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Teesside1
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016 via mobile

I have visited this pub on many an occasion due to it being local. It is well decorated but unfortunately the food is quite average. It's not a terrible place to eat but most of the food - that myself, friends and family have ever ordered - doesn't appear to be cooked from scratch. Most of the staff seem friendly,... More 

Helpful?
Thank nvaskelton
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Lambton Arms, it is disappointing that the table was not cleared promptly once you had finished your meal. In respect to your claim that the food doesn't appear to be cooked from scratch, I can confirm that most of our food is cooked fresh to order, our meat is supplied fresh by a... More 

Co Durham uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Go three times a week to have filtered coffee had a very nice Christmas meal for the last 2 years can get very busy but could do with being refurbished staff on the whole are friendly coffee is served to your table . Also free wifi available

Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I'm glad that you enjoy your visits to the Lambton Arms - I would like to say that the pub was extensively refurbished 3 years ago and is in my opinion still the best looking and most comfortable pub in Chester le Street. Also the coffee that we serve is not filtered but is... More 

Reading
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

Used the hotel as a base to visit Durham. Good location next to the Angel 21 bus service with buses evey 15 minutes. Hotel is mainly a large bar/ restaurant/function venue with a few guest rooms. Noisy until 11:30 when the live music stops down stairs. Rooms are large, clean and a little dated but at £55 for a double... More 

Helpful?
Thank Biffo4444
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#4 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning

Additional Information about Lambton Arms Hotel

Address: 61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Chester-le-Street
Price Range: $58 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Lambton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambton Arms Hotel Chester-Le-Street, County Durham, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay