We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lambton Arms

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Lambton Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here as we were attending a friends wedding in the area. The pub was very nice & the rooms were clean and tidy. Overall the pub and rooms are excellent value for money and we wouldn't have any hesitation about staying again.

Helpful?
Thank dellis432
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the Lambton for the 1st time over the weekend. It's a great value for money pub with some hotel rooms. The pub is clean and tidy with good food and drinks. The hotel rooms are large and clean and beds comfortable. There's a little bit of noise from the pub but that was expected as I read that... More 

Helpful?
Thank dezplews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A busy weekend with "Toon" football on, people arriving to stay overnight for the Great North Run. The staff took time to serve everyone in a warm and welcoming manner. The Manager was brilliant sorting out our issues, easily sorted. Food was good value for money, beer was far far better than the poor stuff you get down south. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan J
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Visited here for brunch. Not happy 1 breakfast 1 steak sandwich 1 tuna wrap with sweet potato fries and 1 jacket potato. The breakfast was so greasy it made my partner ill for the remainder of the day. Steak sandwich wasn't much to write home about and the sweet potato fries that came with the wrap were full of greasy... More 

Helpful?
Thank gemh23
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food you received. Although you state other people were complaining about the food, I can only take it that you didn't complain as you don't mention speaking to anyone and we have no record of your complaint at the pub. More 

Travelers are raving about these Chester-le-Street hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

We had our wedding do upstairs here, must say the dj made the night quickly cottoning on to our requests for more Rock/Punk/Ska music than the usual wedding fayre, never sat down. The food was good and just about polished off. Only downside was the temperature, they could really do with some air conditioning especially when your'e diving around on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

A friend and I stayed for two nights and had breakfast and evening meals. Meals were delicious, particularly the chips! Breakfast full English, cereal and toast with tea or coffee for £5. Easy place for trains and buses. Pleasant,friendly and helpful staff. rooms clean and comfortable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Willcp16
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - we are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Can't fault the Lambton Arms for value! Stayed one night on business and looking for somewhere close to train station and this was ideal, less than 5 minutes walk from Chester-le-street station. Room was large and spotlessly clean, lovely bathroom with power shower and bath, lashings of hot water. Large double bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimlee4
yorkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

A long drive in testing conditions, I just wanted to settle in and unwind. In trying to check in, I was required to pay up front – no problem, except that their card machine either was not working or its use not understood. I thus could not pay by credit card and they would not give me the key to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike707
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review - in respect to your points, we had no other issues with accepting anyone else's credit card or debit card payments either before or after you checked in so maybe the issue was with your cards. I'm not certain why you had to go out into the rain to get cash as within 10... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

Visiting family and friends for the first time this year. Decided to have a few drinks in the town centre, was unsure about visiting again after a disappointing visit last time but everything about the place has been much improved. Can't wait to go back next time I visit

Helpful?
Thank John S
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here many times & " it does what it says on the tin " its clean,staff are friendly,food is fine,the only thing that is a bit shabby is the carpet on the rear entrance to the hotel stairs ( threadbare & dirty ) however you get what you pay for

Helpful?
Thank Mazmik89
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#4 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.5 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
3.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lambton Arms is a lovely pub in the centre of Chester-le-Street that also has 11 letting bedrooms and 2 function rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lambton Arms

Address: 61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Chester-le-Street
Price Range: $57 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Lambton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambton Arms Chester-Le-Street, County Durham, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay