We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horizon Resort Koh Kood

Save
Share
55 Moo 2, Koh Kood sub-district, Ko Kut 23000 Thailand
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (271)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (21)

About

#7 of 17 hotels in Ko Kut
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Horizon Resort, enjoy wonderfull panoramic sea view.Quiet and peacefull, a good place to stay.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Taxi service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Snorkeling
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Salon
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Thai

Location

Full view
38Car recommended
Grade: 38 out of 100
18Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
Contact
55 Moo 2, Koh Kood sub-district, Ko Kut 23000 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Bangkok Intl Airport187 miSee all flights
Trat Airport47 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
279Reviews8Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 112
  • 84
  • 56
  • 16
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Departure195268 wrote a review Jul 2020
18 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
The view from the resort is beautiful. That was pretty much the only good thing I could say about this place. The room was dirty, a lot of cobwebs and a thick layer of dirt on light switches. Some of the staff were helpful and friendly but the main man who was at the counter wasn’t very helpful at all. When we asked about snorkeling trips he said there wasn’t any, but a quick google meant we found a few. We then wanted to go to dinner near by and he said they didn’t have songteaw on the island and we should walk (it was dark and raining). When we asked about umbrellas he just said ‘I have one broken one’. He did ring for a taxi but it was expensive and he made no effort to help us find something cheaper. We then saw a lot of songteaw and in fact got a taxi back from our restaurant for half the price. The pressure in my friends shower was very low and he told us it was a water tank issue and would be fine in 5 minutes. 20 minutes later it still wasn’t fine and after asking again he eventually looked at it. We then had no water at all in any room at one point. He said there was a leak in a pipe and the tank needed to refill. This went on for at about an hour and through 3 of us asking about the water. After I asked when the water was coming back on, he said it was on and turn on a tap in the bar area.Eventually he did come and check with a muttered apology. Then the final kicker was the water quality. It was brown with worms in it (see my video). When I asked him about this he said he knew about it and this was before the sediment in the tank needed to settle. He didn’t believe me when I said there were worms in it and I told him I have a video of it but he still didn’t believe me. He said it was safe and told me how he has showered in it for 5 years...I brushed my teeth in worm water. Throughout all this he didn’t seem bothered by anything we said and was very defensive. Do not stay here. It’s way overpriced for what you get and...worm water.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Brynjar Å wrote a review Mar 2020
6 contributions5 helpful votes
We spent quite some time to decide where to stay on Koh Kood. We ended up with Horizon, since they had a lot of good reviews, and the bungalows looked nice. It was a little bit pricey, compared to what we normally paid in Thailand. We paid 2500 baht per night at Horizon. Peaks: - Great reception. One of the workers welcomed us with a glass of juice and told us to wait in the restaurant until our room was ready. - We requested to swap to another bungalow, with an even better view, and they let us do it without any problems. Great! - Great snorkeling outside the platform furthest away from the reception/dining-area - Stunning view from the resort. - The food was good. Pains: - The bungalows looked way better in the pictures than in real life. They were a bit worn out and the outdoor bathroom didn´t work out that well. The pleixeglass-roof covering half of the bathroom was dirty and radiated the heat so it got even warmer. There were also lots of small ants in the bathroom and the occasional spider. - We didn’t feel very welcoming… A little bit hard to explain, but felt like we was a burden everytime we had a question or a request. - Pricey food and small portions. - We knew that we had to inform the reception if we wanted housekeeping. The third day we asked if they could change bed linen and take the trash. No problem was the answer from the reception. We hung out around our bungalow until 1pm. Nothing had happened. Told them again around 1.30pm. Told them that we were going to the beach for a couple of hours, and it would be great if they could have it done by the time we were back. Got back around 5pm. Nothing had happened! At this time we had used up our patience. Went back to the reception, and told them that we didn’t think this was OK for a place where it cost 2500 baht per night. The guy at the reception ran around trying to find the housekeepers, but didn’t find them. I asked for the bed clothing, so in worst case, I could put it on myself, and got it. 20 minutes later, the housekeeper came and made the bed and cleaned the bungalow. - They had stored a damaged stove (?) under our bungalow (see picture). We saw similar things lying around other places as well (fluorescent light for example). - There was also smaller issues like getting wrong food, clumsy waiters, wrong balance amount to pay when we checked out. None of these pains itself is a big issue. We have been travelling a lot, and doesn’t require a high standard, but after getting pain after pain after pain, every pain got a little more frustrating. Horizon was way overpriced compared to the product you got. A lot of smaller pains made this a bad overall experience. Would not stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
walesdutchy wrote a review Mar 2020
Barcelona, Spain156 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
Absolute relaxation. The bungalows are stunning. Traditional Thai and with open showers for showering in the open air. Super clean and with everything you need. You get filtered water and refresh in glass bottles so they think about the devastation effects of the millions of plastic bottles every day. The owner is French so there is a few French speakers darted about and many French language books on the book shelve. The VIEW ( big letters!) is to die for. Just fantastic, gorgeous and super amazingly beautiful! The beach is private with some small resorts and it’s pretty much o my for you if you walk to the end. Loved it here! Tips: bring some smoke sticks for bugs if you like to sit on your balcony to see the sunset or in the bar at night. There is a super friendly man hiring out scooters on the Main Street right by the entrance of Horizon. He is has great prices and also boat transfers etc. His phone number is on the sign and you can WhatsApp him if he’s not there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Farvahar wrote a review Jan 2020
22 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights and there was so many little things wrong that it led to a extremely bad experience overall. It’s started with the doors to the accommodation never closing fully which allowed bugs and mosquitos in all the time. The showers and toilets are outdoors and the entire place is made of wood, it’s old and there is so many noises and creeks that there is no way going to the toilet in the middle of the night without waking somebody up. The water in the place is so weak that it takes five minutes just to wash your hands. On the last day the water just stopped so we had no running water all. The towels were dirty, stained and old, the rubbish was never taken out of the room after room service and sometimes they never gave us new towels after taking the old ones. The air con wasn’t working and had to get someone in to fix it, after a long time they managed to get it working but not properly but it did the job, kind of. We rented motor bikes for a day and used a third of a full tank of petrol. They charged us 90 baht even though for a full liter is 40 baht everywhere else on the island. When I mentioned this to the guy at check out he said if I got the petrol from outside he would have charged us 1000 baht cause it’s dirty petrol. So basically according to him, the entire island has dirty petrol except for him and if I didn’t buy his over priced petrol he would charge me 1000 baht. Basically extortion. Then they tried to charge us for drinks from the mini fridge which we never drank and after some arguments they checked the room and they were proven wrong. The place is ran by Non-Thai people so maybe that’s why they treat people like this. Cause I haven’t came across such a place that try take advantage of tourists in all my travels to Thailand over the past 10 years. The only thing this place has is a good view and decent food (which is also over priced) but accommodation is less than poor and renting or booking anything from here is a complete rip off, to top it all off WiFi is so terrible it’s slower than the water coming out of the taps.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephane G, Propriétaire at Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Hello So many little things wrong and for 3 days and I saw you every days for 3 days and you did not tell me anything If it was so bad, why not changing hotel ? Why not coming at the reception to tell me your feelings that I can find a way to solve it in order to at the end have a good stay ? As I answered to your other review on another platform, don't insult people telling they rip off, when there are prices on board every where, you have the choice to rent or not I hope you feel better after this long negative review (must took time to make such a list) Anyway, the most important is your stay, you did not enjoy and I apologise for it All the best Stephane
Read more
Stephanie H wrote a review Jan 2020
Guildford, United Kingdom81 contributions16 helpful votes
Beautiful setting and access to a perfectly secluded beach, topped with a great evening sunset bar, lovely restaurant and excellent management. Heartily recommend and would come back without hesitation. Yes, rooms could use a little maintenance, and as others have mentioned, water pressure is low - but nothing unusual for a Thai island and frankly, for the price you pay, this seems a fair trade. Overall, we loved our little bungalow and the views from our balcony were gorgeous. The icing on the cake for us was management - Fabi was ever-present, always ready to answer any questions, and full of expert knowledge on the island. His presence there completely transformed our experience. Thank you Fabi - hopefully we will be back some day !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$52 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hindard Resort Koh Kood
LOCATION
ThailandTrat ProvinceKo Kut
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Horizon Resort Koh Kood
What are some of the property amenities at Horizon Resort Koh Kood?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Horizon Resort Koh Kood?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Horizon Resort Koh Kood?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Horizon Resort Koh Kood?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Horizon Resort Koh Kood?
Conveniently located restaurants include Heaven sense, The Pink Kangaroo Cafe, and Bang Bao Home.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Horizon Resort Koh Kood?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Thai.
Does Horizon Resort Koh Kood have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.