We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dog Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Sodbury
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Dog Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a fab time at the pub and the food has really improved. Can't wait to come back. Recommend the steaks and Cajun chicken. Pub was a lovely village pub with lots of locals in making a lovely atmosphere. Good prices that are fare for the area. Hosts where helpful and made sure all the customers where happy.

Helpful?
Thank hairrisonxxxxxx
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Dog use to be a great place to eat. Sadly not now. The menu has been cut and quality is disappointing. Maybe it's now called the Dog as you have dogs sniffing around your table when eating not a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
thedoginn2016, Owner at The Dog Inn, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor member, we're sorry to read of your disappointment with your recent visit to The Dog Inn. The menu has been slightly reduced from the previous version, however, many of the old favourites have remained in place and we have also introduced a number of new and delicious, traditional pub menu favourites. We have also chosen to focus on... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you to the warm welcome and helping me out with accommodation. Enjoyed meeting the locals and a very nice evening dinner. I really enjoyed my stay and the Breakfast was excellent too. I would recommend a visit or a nights accommodation.

Helpful?
Thank Gwen H
Orpington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are comfortable but are showing their age although we understand that refurbishment is due in November as they have been too busy to schedule it any earlier (obviously a good sign that they are so busy). They serve a full English breakfast, which included black pudding & it was great. We also had dinner & lunch both of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Longissimus
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Double room was larger than expected (was really a family room with two extra single beds) We stayed two nights (Sat & Sun) and had dinner there on the Saturday. This place has tremendous potential. Upgrades to the rooms, which they badly need, are planned for the autumn.Breakfast was excellent (apart from cold plates) and the dinner was pretty good.Beers,... More 

Helpful?
Thank roger h
Old Sodbury
Level Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Living locally, we have never used the rooms, but are regulars on a Friday or Saturday evening for dinner. Vicky & Glen, the new owners, have worked hard to improve The Dog since they took over. The menu is now much smaller, but more focused, which enables the quality of the food offered to be a lot higher than previously.Good,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChairmanBill
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our 'local' about 18 years ago. It's changed hands but still offers a great menu and our Sunday lunches were very, very good. Generous servings of the roast meats, fresh, tasty vegetables. Pleasant service too. The delightful Chipping Sodbury is local too.

Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

We stayed for one 1 night when hinking the Cotswold Way. The Dog Inn is right at the Cotswold Way and depending on how you design your daily routes, you will come across here some day. Our room was really spacious and nicely equipped. I had a really good sleep here, although the street is running by directly. The pub... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carly M
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

We have stayed here on previous occassions to meet up with friends nearby. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean and very comfortable. The restaurant is welcoming with good food and good bar facilities. The staff are friendly and helpful and the present owners a real pleasure. Glenn and Vicky Prested have not long taken over the hotel and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin S
thedoginn2016, Owner at The Dog Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robin S Thank you for taking time to review The Dog Inn. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully you'll visit again soon. Best wishes Glenn and Vicky More 

BRISTOL
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

The Dog in Chipping Sodbury over the decades has been good and bad. I have to say my last visit was disappointing. The starters was okay,as was the main meal,but the nicker bocker glory was disgusting. Seating was in a window seal,very uncomfortable with no cushions to support your back or give some comfort. Very disappointing,will not be going back... More 

Helpful?
Thank HOLIDAYMANBRISTOL
thedoginn2016, Owner at The Dog Inn, responded to this review

Dear HOLIDAYMANBRISTOL we're sorry to read of your disappointment with your recent visit. It is unfortunate that we didn't get the opportunity to address that disappointment when you were here with us as, it goes without saying, any concerns brought to our attention at the time will be dealt with in the most appropriate way. From our perspective it is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Sodbury
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
7.3 mi away
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
7.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Rounceval House Hotel
Rounceval House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Dog Inn

Address: The Hill, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Sodbury
Price Range: $103 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Dog Inn Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing