We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Missenden Abbey Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016

Tried to book a room in The Abbey but as there was wedding on the only room available was in the Coach House. I was promised a large room. On arrival my husband and I were given our key and directed to our room, which was not connected to the main building. No help with our baggage. The room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hazel L
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. We make it a high priority to deliver high standards of service and this includes informing all of our guest of exclusive events taking place at Missenden... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

A delightful day at missenden Abby ,my family and i were met with a very warm welcome from a very polite and courteous young lady who showed us to our table. We were seated in the library,the table was set with various pieces of bone China and beautiful cake stands which made the table look exquisite. The sandwiches ,cakes and... More 

Helpful?
Thank CatLady48
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on the recent Mothers Day tea that was held here at Missenden Abbey. It means so much to all of us that you enjoyed your experience of, the occasion, the food, the China, Tom Wakley on the piano and that you found the staff attentive polite... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2016

Our wedding at Missenden Abbey was all we could have hoped for and much much more. Spectacular grounds, magnificent ceremony room, beautiful dining room with delicious food, fantastic attentive staff, a lovely relaxed bar area, and rooms on site for ourselves and our guests which were clean and comfortable. 6 of us stayed the night before the wedding and 16... More 

Helpful?
Thank jwagha
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your wedding that you held a Missenden Abbey. It means so much to all that you chose to share your special day with us. I was so pleased to hear that the Missenden Team and Natasha in particular have provided such good service. I will... More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

Whilst Great Missenden is a lovely village and the Abbey is set in lovely surroundings it is somewhat dated.The staff are well spoken and presented but the rooms are outdated and could do with a complete makeover.Our shower was poor and the general appearance a tad underwhelming.On the plus side it's within walking distance of great eateries and the local... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dwe1972
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay with us here at Missenden Abbey. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. Thank you for giving us your perception of the standard and appearance of the bedrooms. Its feedback like this which supports us in... More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2016

The main Abby building is well maintained and attractive in a plain style with good public areas, however the main dormitory/accommodation block is another world. Probably designed and built in the 60's or 70's it would have been then a really suitable accommodation block for conferences etc. sadly time has passed and so has the opportunity for maintenance and upkeep... More 

Helpful?
Thank L0GCH0PPER
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. The Main Dormitory you mention actually called the Coach House was built in 1985 to a standard which was then, deemed acceptable to serve its purpose for... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2016

It's a conference centre and that needs to be borne in mind when assessing facilities. The main house is attractive and the surrounding grounds pleasant to walk in. The meals are well prepared but the choice for dinner is limited with what seemed to be a disproportionate number of fish dishes. The conference room was adequate and refreshments provided during... More 

Helpful?
Thank david h
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent conference stay. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. Thank you for your kind comments on the Main House, the grounds and the meals. We try to cater for all diets and taste's when planning our daily... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016 via mobile

A disappointing cream tea, and ignored or misunderstood dietary requirements. Polite and courteous but inexperienced waiting staff. My family and I had researched a few locations for afternoon tea to celebrate my grandmother's birthday in the South Bucks area before settling on Missenden Abbey on account of its seemingly reasonable prices and picturesque location. We informed the kitchen a week... More 

Helpful?
Thank R M
Jonathan D, Front Office Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Ruby M, Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that you did not have an enjoyable afternoon tea at Missenden Abbey. We usually receive great feedback from these and we are sorry that we have disappointed you. I have spoken to the kitchen regarding the sandwiches as there clearly was a mix up regarding your dietary requirements. They have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Great Missenden hotels

London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016 via mobile

I booked online. Upon checking in I found my room in a block I can only describe as resembling an old peoples home. Needless to say it didn't look like anything I'd seen online.. I told the receptionist who replied 'well, yeah. A lot of people say that. But we're not really a hotel if you know what i mean'.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scottyn
Jonathan D, Customer Service & Reception Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate feedback, this gets brought up in regular meetings. I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I am also disheartened with the response that you got from the receptionist. Although the information that we are conference centre rather than a hotel is correct, this is not... More 

Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
462 reviews
242 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016 via mobile

Missenden Abbey must once have been an impressive country house. It's now a university owned conference center with a revolting 1980's accommodation block. The main building is fairly attractive but as others have said, the accommodation is dreadful. It needs a complete overhaul. The entire building is grubby, dusty and unmanaged. My kettle was unusable it was so dirty; the... More 

Helpful?
Thank francophileonthemove
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. We will investigate and look into the details of this cleanliness and service shortfall that you felt you received. We make it a high priority to deliver... More 

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2016

This is a conference centre which lets its rooms if no conferences are on. The grounds are beautiful as are the old building parts. The rooms are basic conference venue rooms, not what you might expect from a hotel. They are a bit tired. The breakfast was disappointing. It was a cooked breakfast but very poor quality ingredients. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank danhanjon
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay here with us.We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. Thank you for acknowledging that we are a Conference Center as we do not have the same facilities as a Hotel. I am sorry that you did... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Missenden
2.7 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
De Vere Latimer Place
De Vere Latimer Place
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#7 of 11 in Aylesbury
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Missenden Abbey Conference Centre

Address: London Road, Great Missenden HP16 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Great Missenden
Price Range: $78 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Missenden Abbey Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre Hotel Great Missenden
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre Great Missenden, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay