We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Missenden Abbey Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 190: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Cold, so cold ! No heating in the room and no alternative offered Rooms are shabby and dirty, whole place is tired. Quite cheap but to be honest my car is more comfortable Unless you're desperate just best avoid this place It's like the owners really don't care

Helpful?
Thank Rich190_10
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Missenden Abbey is situated in the Buckinghamshire countryside. It is a accommodation and conference centre situated in extensive as well as beautifully landscaped grounds. The whole complex is built around the original abbey. Reception is sited in the old abbey and on entry is extensive as well as breathtaking with its medieval style and vaulted ceilings. The lounge bar and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allan P
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place was nice and clean but the food you could not eat at all complained didnt eat fat all over plate you could squeeze the fat out off the food, when i showed the waiter my hand was covered in grease never seen such bad food have traveled the world Could recommend food in the village

Helpful?
Thank facebook533
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay here at the abbey. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. I will investigate the feedback that you have left regarding the food, to which I was very surprised to read. We make it a high... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful location, great conference venue and some great local attractions e.g. Roald Dahl museum, cross keys pub. I had the advantage of a very sunny day however the grounds are lovely as us the overall location and the staff were very attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Eileen6422013
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It means so much to all of us at Missenden Abbey. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the grounds in the sunshine. Please do keep us in mind for your next potential meeting and overnight stay. More 

Wimbledon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The garden rooms were very comfortable, however the walls are paper thin. We heard every word from the next door room and they heard us! We were talking normally in our room at 1am and next door shouted at us to be quiet. Not their fault at all because the next morning when they were having a cup of tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geordiemax
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay here for a wedding. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. I will pass this feedback onto our Building and estates team reference the thin walls and suggestion of sound proofing. Thank you again for your... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the abbey for my Brothers Wake, although it is set in a fantastic setting it was let down by the food and cleanliness. we ate there on the first night and the chips were swimming in their own fat so much that when picked up it was running off them.Mashed potato's were cold and the gravy had almost... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Melvyn T
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your brothers recent wake. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. We will investigate into the feedback that you have given reference your food the night prior. We make it a high priority to deliver high standards of service... More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay at the abbey when we have a weekend or midweek trip to London. It is clean quite and affordable. The rooms and grounds are a very high standard. The full English is brilliant. The staff are helpful and the abbey is only ten minutes walk to the station for your London connection. about 35 minutes to central London.... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulbee2015
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It means so much to all of us at Missenden Abbey. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and continue to use us for you needs during the week and weekends. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I used this as the venue for our wedding reception. The three main reasons for this are the high quality of food available, availability for having fireworks and the beautiful venue. The venue has a fireworks license and the fireworks cost approximately £1000 for a good 6 minutes. A company was recommended to us. We had our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rowan S
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your recent wedding that you held at Missenden Abbey. It means so much to all of us at Missenden Abbey that we were able to host your special day. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time here. Please follow us on Facebook/... More 

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

The abbey building and grounds are nice and can't fault the staff as they are very friendly and welcoming. However, the room was very very tired and out dated and small. Can't remember the last time I had been to a hotel and had a room key rather than a swipe card! Definitely needs a revamp. My partner wanted to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay with us here at the abbey. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. Thank you for your comments on the bedroom being tired and outdated, as comments like these are always taken seriously and addressed internally.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Great Missenden hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

We had a weekend break staying at this hotel. The bedrooms are small, typical conference accommodation but still had tea and coffee making facilities. At £80.00 per room including breakfast you really cannot complain. The main building is used a lot for weddings. The buffet breakfast was adequate And the hotel is set in very nice grounds

Helpful?
Thank mrsmon2016
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It means so much to all of us at Missenden Abbey. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Please follow us on Facebook/ Twitter for the latest offers and events. We would love to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Missenden
2.7 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
6.5 mi away
De Vere Latimer Place
De Vere Latimer Place
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Missenden Abbey Conference Centre

Address: London Road, Great Missenden HP16 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Great Missenden
Price Range: $78 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Missenden Abbey Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre Hotel Great Missenden
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre Great Missenden, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay