We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

La Tortuga Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Tortuga Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 74: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have frequented the rooftop patio/bar on many occasions but this time stayed in the hostal for five nights in a private room. Despite having a private room, I got to know the other guests and staff very well. An extremely friendly and laid back place to stay, watch the sunset, and have a few cervezas. Will definitely come back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derek H
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

Large group of us stayed in La Tortuga hostel for a few nights. Good value for money, even private rooms are not that expensive. The roof top bar with hammocks, great views and music is probably the highlight. The pool does need an occasional extra clean but it's very refreshing! We found the staff helpful, a couple are scuba diving... More 

Helpful?
Thank reeblou
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

Somebody on the way recomend me the hostel. The place it's beatiful, all made with wood and palm. But not really comfortable. The room it's really hot and some days noisy because the bar it's upstairs. The place it's at 10-15 min walking from the center, that could be a problem at night, the streets are dark and alone, Also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ospay
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

I only stayed in this hostal for a night but I enjoyed it a lot. Nice kitchen, a pool and an amazing rooftop with a great view. There was a really good party, good music, even some live drums and a good vibe. Had some interesting conversation with other guests. If I go to Taganga again I return!

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and it was a great experience. Rooms are quiet and clean, and equipped with a fan (you'll need it). The rooftop bar is a nice place where to enjoy a nice view of Tatanga, have a good and cheap drink and socialize with other guests.

Helpful?
Thank FollowTheTurtles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016

I heard of this hostel from a friend in Panama, so I decided to check it out. I planned to stay 2 or 3 days, but ended up staying almost 3 weeks. Most of the people I met there were nice, the owner and the staff are amazing, there is a lovely rooftop bar, and a pool. What can I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronan G
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2016 via mobile

4 of us stayed in a 4 bed dorm. Beds were nice. Bathroom was nice. Great rooftop bar. The place even has a pool. Need I say more? No I don't think so. Taganga is small so getting around from the hostel is pretty easy. The main strip of Taganga is no more than a couple of hundred metres away.

Helpful?
Thank Eoin C
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2016

well hostel looks fine from outset but pool is filthy, bathrooms don't have shower heads or if they do they fall off. worst of all the owner and staff are schemers and will try and charge you fro items which you didn't have or use... you have been warned.. oh and the only reason you may want to visit taganga... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mr n
Lucky_Mona, Propietario at La Tortuga Hostel, responded to this review

Hola Mr. N. Thanks for your "constructive" message. We are sorry if you had a bad stay with us. But need to ask you something: when were you staying here? if you did in january as you said, you should know that Me, Mónica, the owner wasn´t in taganga. Besides, when you make acusations like this at least should show... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

The place is nice at first pass, but then you realize that the pool is pretty gross and tiny, the showerhead has been yanked off, the location isn't great, and that Taganga kinda sucks unless you're diving, or looking to score lots and lots of drugs. I did have a bad experience with them giving away my room. I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reza E
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 via mobile

I planned to spend a week in Taganga and when I checked in the Nirvana hostel I wanted to leave the same day because of the dirtiness and lack of atmosphere . Luckily I found the Tortuga hostel that completely changed my mood. It's the only Caribbean looking building in Taganga , made with local bamboo and palm roof .... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marco A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taganga
0.6 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#2 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Taganga
Hotel Bahia Taganga
#6 of 12 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 2 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divanga Bed & Breakfast
Divanga Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 62 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 62 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In a traditional neighborhood on the sunny Colombian Caribbean coast, La Tortuga Hostel inmerses you in the local athmosphere. Here you will make friends and enjoy cocktails on our rooftop bar with a breathtaking view of Taganga bay. In addition to offering accommodation, we also have certified scuba diving staff that can show you the bautiful underwater world. La Tortuga adds something special to Taganga, making it more than just a jump off point from which to access Tayrona Park. This is a place where you´ll feel like staying, enjoying and relaxing. Just follow the turtle and welcome home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hostel

Address: Calle 9 # 3 - 116, Taganga 470007, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Price Range: $16 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your La Tortuga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay