We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sukau
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 216: English reviews
Start your review of Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge
 Click to rate
Scotland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have read negative comments about this lodge which I thought were unfounded. This is a beautiful place on the river. Rooms were clean and comfortable, no air conditioning but if you wanted to pay a bit extra there were rooms available. The staff were lovely, pleasant and helpful. Our guide here Eric was truly fantastic and really made our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicoscotland
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at this River Lodge for three nights/4 days whilst on a jungle safari hosted by Discovery Overland, Sandakan. The facilitates at the resort were basic. There is no air conditioning in the bedrooms but there are ceiling fans. Air conditioning units are available for a small fee. Whilst the rooms are basic, they were clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

what a great place to stay. it is in the middle of nowhere so forget wifi. lodges are a little basic not luxurious, but very clean and comfortable. Air con is a rotating ceilling fan but it works well. shower is a bit basic but once again it works food was very good and the staff were excellent. this is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rickfug
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear rickfug, Thank you for your feedback. It is our pleasure to serve you. For the noise from the wild jungle, you can try to close up all the windows, it will minimize the noise. Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 8, 2017

As at all the accommodation a good welcome and the property looks impressive from the river. Again simple accommodation but with everything you needed. The bathroom looked like it was due an update.We stayed here two nights and had good nights sleeps and food was tasty and catered for vegetarians. We saw lots of wildlife and the highlight being a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelsbyCarol
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TravelbyCarol, Thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to serve you. Yes, we have three accommodations, some new some old. However, we do keep refurbish them from time to time. Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Carshalton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 5, 2017

Set on the banks of the river, this lodge offers basic but comfortable accommodation designed for short stays. This is not a lodge for those seeking luxury, but is clean and comfortable. River excursions are imformative and enjoyable, with the guides being very knowledgeable. Lodge staff are friendly and eager to please, and encourage you to wear a longhi (provided)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D B
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear D B, Thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to serve you. For the Wi-Fi, please keep in mind we are in the jungle, Internet access is available but very limited. We have it just in case some guest want to check on their e-mails, whatsapps, and dealing on problems related to their trips. Cheers. Yeeveon from...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed January 23, 2017 via mobile

This place was a top retreat. We lucked out and were able to make all major sightings during our visit, including a large male oranutan right across from our lodge. The facilities and activities were top notch. The only downer would be the food - need to try make more of an effort on that but I understand that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieGwailow
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AussieGwailow, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your feedback and noted on it. We'' see what we can do to improve the food in the accommodation. Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

England
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Lovely spot for river safaris. Rooms were great considering where this place is! The food was fab, and the same as everyone we met in Malaysia they are so friendly and helpful. We unfortunately only had one night here due to our limited time, but would love to have stayed here longer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Napey
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Napey, Thank you for your feedback. We always welcome your visit again. Cheers ! Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

vietnam
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

We saw Pygmy elephants, proboscis monkeys, crocodiles, kingfisher, storks... amazing stuff. Also saw the collision of all this nature with human agribusiness needs, as the elephants had to be herded from a new rubber nursery. The lodge itself is basic, but really nice and solid. Staff is wonderful. Just don't be the person complaining about lack of hairdryer or whatever...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maccymac
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear maccymac, Thank you for your feedback. FYI, we do provide hairdryer but you need to ask for it at the bar counter. It is a pleasure to serve you. Hope you have a great time in Borneo. Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 27, 2016

lovely place and great to explore around but also to relax-I wish we had stayed 2nights. Need time to take boats early and late PM to see wild life living in trees by riverside. Also around where we stayed. We did not see orangs but saw lots of other monkeys and birds[eales.hornbills]. Sadly jungle more and more cut down for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashley465
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Borneo Explorer tour. The rooms are basic, but you have everything you need and there is the option of opting for an air-conditioned room (at £20 per night) if you want. We did not choose this option and were more than fine in our room with just a fan and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
sitoursborneo, Owner at Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Harriet B, Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great to know you enjoy the place and the tour. It is our pleasure to serve you. Hope you have a good time here in Borneo! Do come back again next time =) Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

225 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (223)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sukau
0.0 mi away
Selingan Island Resort
Selingan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
133 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
0.5 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 30 in Sandakan
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
237 reviews
5.5 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
57 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge is a property owned by S.I.Tours Sdn Bhd, a tour operator based in Sandakan which offers tour packages in North Sabah. Thank you for your interest in our business. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge

Address: Sukau 90200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District > Sukau
Price Range: $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Kinabatangan Riverside Hotel Sabah
Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge Sukau, Kinabatangan District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were with a group of about 7 other couples and all rooms appeared to be similar. all rooms are in the forest.”
 of 5 bubbles nicoscotland, 2 days ago | Read review
“although you are in the jungle we slept well.”
 of 5 bubbles lisakZ4751BN, Dec 13, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 17A, 17B and 17C have aircon.”
 of 5 bubbles Teamfinbrown, Aug 13, 2016 | Read review
“some rooms are quite a long walk from the main lobby so worth checking if you have any mobility issues”
 of 5 bubbles eek-i-saw-a-mouse, Jul 21, 2016 | Read review
“Air-conditioned rooms are in a block of 3. They only offer twin beds and you can hear everything that occurs within the other 2 rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles mspazz, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question