We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Magadi Tented Camp

Save
Magadi - Shompole road | next to the Magadi sports club, Magadi 00205, Kenya
Traveler (6)
Pool & Beach (2)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good29%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“hot springs”(7 reviews)
“lake magadi”(7 reviews)
“tented camp”(9 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Suites
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
9
7
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
9
7
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springslake magaditented campmaasai guidesclubtrainmealsroadvisitaccommodationweekendrockstentslistconditionvegetariangroup
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 24 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2018

It's beautiful and very educative. Please ensure you visit the whole lake ( need a 4 wheel drive) the ecosystem is beautiful. The place can get very hot - not comfortable - avoid walking during the day. best time to arrive at the hotel is...More

Thank Tabiii
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

We went on the train trip to Lake Magadi, the train set off three hours late! the tents were clean but small and very close to each other so quite noisy, the food was very basic, nothing special but edible. We were taken in the...More

Thank Caroline B
Response from Bernard K, Director of Sales at Lake Magadi Tented CampResponded July 24, 2017

Hello Caroline. Thank you for sharing your review on the Jaza train safari. We apologize for the delay in the schedule; this is not usual. The train delayed due to unavoidable circumstances and had to undergo routine check up on arrival before departure of which...More

Reviewed April 17, 2017

Our tour group of 10+ people passed through this establishment for lunch on the way to Nairobi. When we sat down we were told that we could not order off the menu and that the buffet was mandatory. Even though we saw countless people ordering...More

Thank Sam J
Response from Bernard K, Director of Sales at Lake Magadi Tented CampResponded July 24, 2017

Hello Sam, Apologies for the experience and apologies for having not notified you on the change in prices for the peak season. We would be glad to serve you better next time. Regards.

Reviewed January 26, 2017

Make a good deal with the Sports bar (maybe 2k pp all-incl) or bring your tent and go camping by yourself.. Or find another place to stay in Magadi. Might be a bit of a search, but I guess there must be other hotels/hostels.More

Thank Ida R
Response from Bernard K, Director of Sales at Lake Magadi Tented CampResponded July 24, 2017

Hello Ida, Thank you for the review. Our rates are friendly compared to other lodges in Magadi which charge as high as ksh 34,000 for a double. Alternatively, we encourage camping which is very affordable as you only pay your camping fee and entrance fee....More

Reviewed January 24, 2017

I will try to put things in perspective before I continue. I had always wanted to go to Magadi based on this exotic impression that I had built in my head. As such, my less-than-wowed experience of the whole trip might negatively affect my review...More

Thank Yohanne K
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Conference Facilities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Tennis Court
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Details
Price range
$50 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$50 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (6)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
wacheramburu
August 5, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bernard K | Property representative |
Yes, contact us on 0717 999 228.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask to see inside the tent before booking."
Read review
"Go to Lake Naivasha instead"
Read review
"All tents are good"
Read review
"travel light...very high temperatures."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing