We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel

Save
Share
Furdo Utca 36, Fonyod 8640 Hungary
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
CheapTickets
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (7)
Room & Suite (21)
Pool & Beach (2)

About

#4 of 14 Specialty lodging in Fonyod
Do you want more from an accommodation than just having to sleep somewhere? Rather experiences? Rather surprises? The Sunset Resort is Hungary's first semi-automated accommodation in Fonyód, next to the Lake Balaton! There is no reception in the pre - and post - season, so the guests check in themselves with an application! In fact! They can also open the door with their smartphone! Let's not forget that they can also book services through an application! In spring and summer you will find the outdoor pool, sup, pedal board, plenty of Sunset events on your own giant pier! In autumn and winter, we always prepare surprise services for our guests! Our luxury apartments are all special and newly furnished, but in all apartments you will find a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom, living room and bedroom (s). Our apartments offer a perfectly comfortable stay for 2 to 6 people! Here you will not only relax, but also feel the "sunseting"!
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
Furdo Utca 36, Fonyod 8640 Hungary
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Saarmelleek-Balaton Airport20 miSee all flights
Compare More Popular Hotels
5Reviews0Q+A0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Dora E wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Családommal voltunk lent egy hetet Fonyódon. Előtte nem is gondoltunk a városra és kicsit félve indultunk el, milyen programokkal tölthetjük el az időt. Aztán rátaláltunk erre a gyöngyszemre!! Az olasz estés rendezvényre a vendéget ingyen mehettek be és mondanom sem kell, a fizettünk volna is, akkor is mentünk volna!! Kemencében sütötték a pizzát és isteni finom olasz borokat kóstolhattunk és tudhattunk meg róluk történeteket! Mindezt a naplementében a stégen!A gyerekek élvezték a medencét és a SUP-olást is kipróbálhattuk életünkben először. Augusztusban biztos, hogy újra megyünk a férjemmel!!! Reméljük, ugyanez az apartman szabadon lesz. Köszönjük, hogy a családi nyaralásunkat feledhetetlenné tették!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Every apartment!!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
emma wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
first off the receptionist lady she was very rude from the moment we got there for no reason. she refused to speak english and would smile while being rude, when we got to the room we noticed we didn't get the view we payed for… the lake was fun and so was the pool but the morning we woke up there were gnats EVERYWHERE we opened the window but closed the screen and we complained to the blonde receptionist and she kept saying we are liars and etc. this place wasn't even a resort they deserve to go bankrupt and if they’re reading this right now! i hope you realize you only care about your self and all you want is peoples money not their happiness you need to start to pay more attention in the people and not the money we give. anyways don’t come here this place was absolutely disgusting its like they don't want anything to do with you because ur American?? pathetic. this place is trash deserved to be burnt to the ground and everyone who works there has an ugly attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, Sales at Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel
Responded Jul 15, 2021
Dear Emma and Shawn, Please let us say the the same like your husband's comment below. Thank you for your taking a time to leave 2 negative reviews (the upper one from Emma) as a couple. Although we appreciate your time to take it to develop our services. We are surprised to read that you were disappointed about your apartment and we are sad that you mentioned here. We are surprised to see that you found our receptionists rude because our guests give many positive feedback about them. It is hard to undertsand that she called you liar. We are informed about that you did not use mosquito net that can be found in the rooms that is why there were insects in the apartments they come through the opened door at night. Near lake there are many insects that is why we recommend to our guests to use this net instead of they killed them on the wall. It is real that we talked by phone and you mentioned the problem with insects I am sorry that you forgot to mention to us that you would like to change apartment. Also It is true the sales manager offered you to use all of our services for free (not only the SUP) holiday in the phone conversation to make your holiday great. It was appreciated by you at that time. We hoped your holiday was enjoyable but we are absolutely sorry to see your comment after your check-out. It would be our pleasure to see you again at Sunset Resort and have the chance to prove our hosting is immaculate.
Read more
Shawn W wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Please please please stay away from this place! They are crooks and liars! They will absolutely screw you First thing was we rented room with pool view and they gave us a street view, when we complained we were told they are same category and we should of checked their website ( we booked from booking.com) The blonde receptionist was rude to me refused to speak English to me kept talking past me to my wife even though I was the one asking questions she kept speaking Hungarian to my wife! She smiles but is passive aggressive rude! The first night; we woke in the morning to see the apartment filled with thousands of gnats they covered the ceiling the wall the curtains! I tried to get the bugs out. In the process killed a few on the wall! They wanted to charge me to repaint the apartment! It took me 5 min with a wet cloth to clean the wall. During this event the blonde receptionist kept insinuating I was liar and that I left the screen door open! I am American I don’t stay where there are no screens ever period that being said I always use them and close them When I went to speak to a manager I found out they do not have one on ground they are actually in Budapest 2 hours away! After a short phone call I was offered 2 hours free SUP rental, which I never got! The blonde rude and snotty receptionist told the story of me getting upset with her to all the staff from that moment on we got rude looks and stares from all the staff! It was so uncomfortable we left 2 days early! When we went to check out the dark haired receptionist was rude as well! No how was your stay no why are you leaving early just a “but you are scheduled to leave Saturday” I said well we are leaving now her reply “well, bye then” no offer of refunding the extra days of parking or tourist tax! This place is a scam a rip off and they lack any sort of customer service! I cannot stress enough and please pass it on to anyone you know do not stay here these people are crooks and scammers places like this give Eastern Europe a bad name! This is what everyone thinks of Eastern Europe… I will say Eastern Europe is amazing the people friendly hospitable but this place was non of that! This was the worst hotel/ booking rental I have ever experienced and I have been traveling Europe for 5 years now 15 countries and counting!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, Sales at Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel
Responded Jul 15, 2021
Dear Emma and Shawn, Thank you for your taking a time to leave 2 negative reviews (the upper one from Emma) as a couple. Altough we appreciate your time to take it to develop our services. We are surprised to read that you were disappointed about your apartment and we are sad that you mentioned here. We are surprised to see that you found our receptionists rude because our guests give many positive feedback about them. It is hard to undertsand that she called you liar. We are informed about that you did not use mosquito net that can be found in the rooms that is why there were insects in the apartments they come through the opened door at night. Near lake there are many insects that is why we recommend to our guests to use this net instead of they killed them on the wall. It is real that we talked by phone and you mentioned the problem with insects I am sorry that you forgot to mention to us that you would like to change apartment. Also It is true the sales manager offered you to use all of our services for free (not only the SUP) holiday in the phone conversation to make your holiday great. It was appreciated by you at that time. We hoped your holiday was enjoyable but we are absolutely sorry to see your comment after your check-out. It would be our pleasure to see you again at Sunset Resort and have the chance to prove our hosting is immaculate.
Read more
Danielle Coimbra wrote a review Jun 2021
Budapest, Hungary43 contributions9 helpful votes
We booked a flat with a LAKE VIEW, and we paid for that as everybody else who paid for a lake view (this one is the most expensive room they have). For our surprise, when we got in the flat, the view was NOT A LAKE VIEW at all! It was a STREET VIEW (a horrible one) and we could only see the lake through a tinny point in the corner of the building. All pictures in the website and at Booking show an spectacular view of the lake, not a street view, so this is misleading propaganda to cheat on the guests! I went to the reception to let them know that I was really disappointed, as the main reason we paid for that room was exactly because of the view, and the one we got was definitely not a lake view. They told me that the flat is in the lake view category and that they were fully booked, so it wouldn't be possible to put us in another flat (we saw tons of empty flats though). I again explained that I didn't pay to have a street view and the receptionist even agreed with me that what we had was a view from the street. The hotel didn't show any respect for us in this matter, as if we were not paying for the same as other guests. Not sure if it was because we are not Hungarians. Then they tried to buy us, and make us shut up, by giving us a bottle of wine and chocolates, but come on, we are not that cheap! A horrible wine, which costs 1.200 huf in the grocery store. A total disrespect! They also pretended that we were invited to an exclusive event in the resort, but guess what? All guests were there, again a total disrespect! And the cherry on the top was the check-out. We rented 2 sunbeds and they charged us for 4 sunbeds! It was not enough for them to treat us really bad, in the end they charged us even more!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, Sales at Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel
Responded Jul 15, 2021
Dear Danielle, Thank you (again!) for your review. We know you promised to us that you will leave negative review where you can. We can say again the same like before and when we met on the spot personally (on our giant pier) you did not mention your problems to me moreover we had a lovely chat. We are absolutely sorry that the apartment did not meet your expectation that is why we offered wine (you found it too cheap) and we invited you for an exclusive event what was organised only to the owners not for guests. We are happy that you spent the all reserved nights at Sunset Resort and we are glad to welcome you on our private event and we hoped to make your holiday better. Now we read your comment that makes us be disappointed. I ensure you we do not discriminate our guests in fact we welcome people from all over the world. Dear Danielle, Thank you (again!) for your review. We know you promised to us that you will leave negative review where you can. We can say again the same like before and when we met on the spot personally (on our giant pier) you did not mention your problems to me moreover we had a lovely chat. We are absolutely sorry that the apartment did not meet your expectation that is why we offered wine (you found it too cheap) and we invited you for an exclusive event what was organised only to the owners not for guests. We are happy that you spent the all reserved nights at Sunset Resort and we are glad to welcome you on our private event and we hoped to make your holiday better. Now we read your comment that makes us be disappointed. I ensure you we do not discriminate our guests in fact we welcome guests from all over the world.
Read more
Kis család wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Kiváló. Ajánlom másoknak is!! A konyha mindennel felszerelt, modern, tiszta. Barátságos fogadtatás. A kilátás a Balaton felől csodás. Parkolási lehetőség. Nagyon jól éreztük magunkat. Köszönünk szépen mindent!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Erika Hegedüs, Értékesítés at Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel
Responded Nov 3, 2020
Kedves Barszi! Első sorban nagyon köszönjük, hogy minket választottál pihenésed helyszínéül! Külön köszönjük, hogy kiemelted a ház és az apartman tisztaságát is! Nagy örömmel olvassuk, hogy a felszerelt és modern konyha hozzájárult az itt tartózkodásod tökéletesítésében. Bizonyosan sok finom falat készült el általatok itt! Örülünk, hogy tudtatok gyönyörködni a balatoni kilátásban az erkélyről is! Nagyon megtisztelő lenne számunkra, ha hamarosan ismét a Sunset Resort-ban tisztelhetnénk Titeket! Ősszel is nagyon szép a Balaton :)
Read more
LOCATION
HungarySouthern TransdanubiaSomogy CountyFonyod
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel?
Nearby attractions include Sphere Lookout (4.6 miles), Fonyodi Dog Bathing (1.7 miles), and Badacsony Volcano Valley (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, bicycles available for guest use, and complimentary tea.
Which room amenities are available at Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a dishwasher, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Borbarátok, Gianpiero's Étterem & Bor, and Nosztalgia Fagyizo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Fonyod.
Are pets allowed at Sunset Resort Apartmanhotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.