We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Rothesay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Rothesay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 217: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here in August 2016 with a friend, when we arrived we were greeted by Michael who I can say is extremely helpful and friendly. We were then shown our room which was clean and tidy. The room was very comfy and beautifully decorated, the en-suite was very clean. There is a swimming pool and a sauna which are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you want to visit somewhere you haven't been before, a little way from all the noise of a high street to have a luxury break just the two of you? This is your answer! Our room was modern and decorated beautifully, the en-suite was very clean and homely. They offer sauna and swimming pool facilities which were exceptionally clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy R
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked in September 2015 for 3 couples & one single. 2dobles & one single booked via Bookings Dot Com with a request for downstairs accomodation as one couple were registered disabled . One couple booked by phone and rang twice as they had received no conformation of booking ,they were informed on the second call that 3 who had booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank 200disappointed
Glossop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On 20th Sept 2015 I booked a double room and a single room for seven nights at this hotel. Two other couples, our friends, also booked a double room each to stay at the same time. The hotel boasts AA status, swimming pool, bar, lounge, decking area, garden, etc. with welcoming hosts. On arrival Michael took our full payment for... More 

Helpful?
Thank _pathudson999
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

After booking on the internet for a two night stay, we received a lovely email from the owner, Michael, which made us feel that he would be a very welcoming host. This wasn't apparent on our arrival. Whether he was pre-occupied or perhaps disinterested I don't know, but I feel this may have been because we had booked the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank HappyladyWiltshire
Redman2005, Owner at The Rothesay Hotel, responded to this review

Hello 'HappyladyWiltshire', or not as the case may be. I'm sorry that we did not meet or even exceed your expectations for your recent 2 night stay. As you write under a pseudonym I'm sorry but I cannot place your booking to be able to comment on which room you had. If you booked one of our standard doubles then... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

This lovely hotel is in a perfect location for the Castle, beach and local shops. We enjoyed the pool facilities before breakfast. The rooms were pleasing with neutral decor and a smallish bathroom, but excellent shower. Breakfast was delicious . I did take issue with the fact that the owner/chef did not wear gloves whilst placing the smoked salmon on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed a stay at the Rothesay and noted the following points; Car park   great spacious well lit.   Welcome warm and uncomplicated.   First impressions were modern and clean.   Breakfast are superb   Hot plates ...deep joy!   Grilled food   Cooked to order   Tables not too close together which allows conversation with each other not the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SableMable
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

We had a short uneventful 2 night stay at The Rothesay. It was very nice to have the downstairs room (Bute Suite) with the car in view outside. Breakfast was very good, lots of choices. Beware when entering the premises from the main road; there is a HUGE pothole which your car wheel drops into (we thought we had damaged... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaybee851
Redman2005, Owner at The Rothesay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your stay here at the Rothesay. I am pleased that you liked your ground floor room and the quality of our breakfast. I am also pleased to mention that the pothole you mention has been filled so no more avoiding tactics needed upon entering the car park. You mention the car park... More 

Hitchin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Stayed for 2 nights prior to catching the ferry to the Isle of Wight and found it to be a great relaxing stay . On arrival we were shown to the annex which was beautifully appointed and clean. The one downside was that one of the blinds was broken but that was soon replaced . Breakfast [small but excellent choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger H
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Beautiful surroundings, lovely room although door didn't lock from inside room, breakfast was not the best either. Saying that tho the staff were lovely. Didn't use the pool as never got round to it but hey ho . Just a shame as it was a treat for my husband and I and the WiFi was terrible

Helpful?
Thank Donna M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highcliffe
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
3.2 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about The Rothesay Hotel

Address: 175 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Price Range: $91 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rothesay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rothesay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rothesay Hotel Highcliffe, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay