We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Rothesay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Rothesay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 213: English reviews
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After booking on the internet for a two night stay, we received a lovely email from the owner, Michael, which made us feel that he would be a very welcoming host. This wasn't apparent on our arrival. Whether he was pre-occupied or perhaps disinterested I don't know, but I feel this may have been because we had booked the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank HappyladyWiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This lovely hotel is in a perfect location for the Castle, beach and local shops. We enjoyed the pool facilities before breakfast. The rooms were pleasing with neutral decor and a smallish bathroom, but excellent shower. Breakfast was delicious . I did take issue with the fact that the owner/chef did not wear gloves whilst placing the smoked salmon on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed a stay at the Rothesay and noted the following points; Car park   great spacious well lit.   Welcome warm and uncomplicated.   First impressions were modern and clean.   Breakfast are superb   Hot plates ...deep joy!   Grilled food   Cooked to order   Tables not too close together which allows conversation with each other not the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SableMable
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

We had a short uneventful 2 night stay at The Rothesay. It was very nice to have the downstairs room (Bute Suite) with the car in view outside. Breakfast was very good, lots of choices. Beware when entering the premises from the main road; there is a HUGE pothole which your car wheel drops into (we thought we had damaged... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaybee851
Redman2005, Owner at The Rothesay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your stay here at the Rothesay. I am pleased that you liked your ground floor room and the quality of our breakfast. I am also pleased to mention that the pothole you mention has been filled so no more avoiding tactics needed upon entering the car park. You mention the car park... More 

Hitchin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Stayed for 2 nights prior to catching the ferry to the Isle of Wight and found it to be a great relaxing stay . On arrival we were shown to the annex which was beautifully appointed and clean. The one downside was that one of the blinds was broken but that was soon replaced . Breakfast [small but excellent choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger H
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Beautiful surroundings, lovely room although door didn't lock from inside room, breakfast was not the best either. Saying that tho the staff were lovely. Didn't use the pool as never got round to it but hey ho . Just a shame as it was a treat for my husband and I and the WiFi was terrible

Helpful?
Thank Donna M
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

7 family members stayed in four rooms for a wedding nearby.. One couple in the annex house, two couples and one single.. We all found it a very nice and comfortable. Myself and my partner had the bute suite.. Although it's on the ground level with cars parked outside there were blinds which gave privacy.. The room has a four... More 

Helpful?
Thank volaire69
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

Great little place. Nice clean rooms with nice decor. Breakfast was nice. My only slight complaint is that its a shame there isnt a communal area that you can use at night time if you wanted to bring some food in as they have a strict policy of not having it in your rooms (which I understand perfectly well) Other... More 

Helpful?
Thank LBonafont
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

A really delightful experience. Had the Bute suite - lovely spacious area with four-poster. On arrival had internet/phone problems of my own incompetence and Michael, the proprietor, readily sorted for me. The weather was foul but the back walk from Highcliffe into Mudeford and Christchurch was great - even better if the sun were shining. Two decent pubs in easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamesgarret
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

Recently stayed at the Rothesay looked nice on line. Nice pool so took our costumes and nice looking patio and garden. Room was ok clean no soap no sugar the blinds were all broken but not an issue. We were not allowed to use the pool as there were swimming lessons the whole time we were there. Not allowed to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank tessa479
Redman2005, Owner at The Rothesay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your stay here at the Rothesay and I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The swim school that we operate from here has its own entrance and therefore is completely separate from the bed and breakfast. The pool is open for 14.5 hours per day of which the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highcliffe
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
4.7 mi away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#38 of 78 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about The Rothesay Hotel

Address: 175 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Price Range: $91 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rothesay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rothesay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rothesay Hotel Highcliffe, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay