We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveler (124)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (20)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent10%
  • Very good37%
  • Average20%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible14%
Travelers talk about
Name/address in local language
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Meeting Rooms
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
7
22
8
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
7
22
8
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearly in the morningmorning servicebit smellymorning ceremonytemple offerstofuheaterexperiencevegetarianbuddhistmealsdinnergardenshoeslegspathpaper
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great experience staying at Sekishoin. Check in was great and friendly. The room was traditional, you sleep on the floor on blankets and mats. It’s fine for one night! You get a heated table area and we had a balcony over looking...More

Thank Hank M
Reviewed 1 week ago

This filthy disgusting excuse for an authentic experience is one to completely miss. Greeted by young men smoking, wrestling and joking around, dressed as monks. Disgusting rooms, dirty, cold, with soiled bed linen. Revolting food, and yet selling alcohol at a hefty profit. No assistance...More

1  Thank Ann_Maree2013
Reviewed 1 week ago

This shukubo (temple inn) is very easy to find, almost in front of one the stops of the excellent Koyasan bus service. It's also next door to Okunoin, so it's very convenient for night (recommended!) or early morning walks, just before the crowd arrives. Food...More

Thank alfcr
Reviewed 1 week ago

This inn attached to a temple offers a range of accommodation from private suites to communal bathrooms. We found the experience interesting but uncomfortable. The futons were extremely thin and sleep was difficult. No sheets on the beds mean sleeping against blankets! A lack of...More

Thank Graham J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It’s look much better in the pictures. We had a bad experience. We slept on the floor on ״not clean״ bedding, the oil-fired stove smelled, the toilet were terrible, (not those that showed on the pictures) the food wasn’t our test, to summarize.... it was...More

Thank Arie B
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
$90 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$90 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (124)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (20)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anh D
November 28, 2014|
Answer
Response from Raphy91 | Reviewed this property |
Hi! To go to Sekishoin, you have to take a bus from the cable station to the temple. It's the okunoin-mae line and you must down to the 10th station (Ichinohashi-guchi), walk back approximatively 30 secondes, right side... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Don't go there stay somewhere else"
Read review
"Ask for suite with bathroom."
Read review
"We were on 2nd floor with a balcony overlooking the garden - would be good when snowing"
Read review
"Western style room does have bathroom facility."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing