We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Butter Milk

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Butter Milk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2016

Perfect location. Right next to the main gondola, central to restaurants, shops and shuttle stops. Great room was warm and comfortable with a lovely view. Awesome sun room. Drying room is good and handy. Staff very helpful. Simple breakfast. Only one disappointment was the hot tubs were only for Japanese guests. Which should be for all guests in my opinion... More 

Helpful?
Thank ld8990
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

Sadly we did not have a good experience. First I will state good points because there are only few. So... place is very clean, spotless. Rooms are warm and beds are comfy. That is all good things I can tell about this place. The lady owner - Naoko is very rude and unhelpful. Her husband seems a bit more smiley... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PatiAlbe
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

We were not allowed into the bar for a drink after skiing unless we purchased a meal. No reason for why we could not just drink. We were rudely sent away. Do not bother if you are just after a drink. You will be sent away. They seemed a bit money hungry.

Helpful?
1 Thank tm12342016
hakubabuttermilk, オーナー at Butter Milk, responded to this review

We are serving only food for lunch time. Because the most of people want to eat. We prepare foods and focus our staff in the kitchen at lunch time, so we can't deal with many different request. Our first priority in the lunch time is taking customer's order quickly, and serving delicious warm food quickly. Means satisfy customer's appetite quick... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2016 via mobile

A bunch of friends came for dinner. Waitress was friendly and attentive. The owner with the short hair was not. She made a mistake on the bill which we brought to her attention and she amended it, but it was still incorrect. We got up to pay and explain that we were still getting overcharged, but she insisted she was... More 

Helpful?
Thank annenah
hakubabuttermilk, オーナー at Butter Milk, responded to this review

I was very sorry that I made mistake on your bill. Since I have never done a mistake like that, I didn't understand what you mean. But it was my mistake. Wrong button l pressed. So sorry. I appologize that you didn't like our food. We will work harder for all customers love our food. Thank you for coming. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016

Butter Milk markets itself as a craft brewery, yet when we popped in for an evening drink, we were told that we couldn't just get a drink, we would need to have dinner too. This is despite the fact that it was 70% empty at the time, there were only 2 other people in the bar area and it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wingedfaerie
hakubabuttermilk, オーナー at Butter Milk, responded to this review

Our craft beer bar open from 2pm to 5pm. Since our location is on the bottom of the slopes. From 5:30 pm we serve dinner. Our first priority is the customer who make reserevation for dinner and the customer who come for dinner. I apologize that we couldn't usher in. We can't usher new customer in our restaurant, when we... More 

Thredbo Village, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016 via mobile

Poor service from the silly woman at the front (seems like owner) arrogant and ignorant. I don't know how they get excellent reviews. Management needs to get their act together. They don't even know what time they open with false advertising. As we walked in guests walking out also told us to go elsewhere! Will not recommend to anyone!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank leduden
hakubabuttermilk, オーナー at Butter Milk, responded to this review

Since we are located on the bottom of the slope, we take long time to prepare safe entrance after snowing. Pls understand. On 9th Feb, we had No.1 big snow in this season. I apologize that we open very late at that date and all staffs were very busy for snow shoveling for our few entrance door. I also apologize... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2016 via mobile

Unbelievable poor service at Bar, Location is good, but they will make you disappointing by their superior service. I am loco of Hakuba, will not come to here anymore. Hard to find somewhere else, thr bad service. Also, poor wifi connection.

Helpful?
Thank Tatsuo M
hakubabuttermilk, オーナー at Butter Milk, responded to this review

I apologize that your mobile terminal didn't connect our wifi well. But many customer's mobile terminal are connecting. Actually many customers came and enjoy wifi here in my restaurant. But I know sometime it happen. It sometime crush by many customer connect in the same moment. Sorry about it. If there is the second chance I meet you, tell me... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2016 via mobile

A "craft beer" bar would be a stretch as we read on some local flyers but it was still great for a beer. Super friendly local owners were hospitable and they had two of the local beers on tap. Would've loved some of the bottled local collection too. From what we're hearing behind us the food is pretty good too.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JLemur
adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016

We had the most wonderful stay in this hotel with a large group over New Year's Eve. Naoko and all her team were all great and we loved it. Helpful, friendly, warm, fun, great location. Rooms are clean and warm with great views of the bottom slopes near Adam Gondola. Breakfasts perfect for the family, food lovely.

Helpful?
Thank wendybev
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

This place was awesome! Located right at the bottom of the main gondola at happo. Stayed in a single room up stairs. The room was heated and comfortable. Down stairs has a drying room for your gear and hot tubs. What made the place perfect was the staff. Most friendly and helpful! Nothing was a problem at any time! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Other (55)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba Gondola Hotel
#82 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Hutte Kamoshika
#141 of 365 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
No photo provided
Alupu Lodge
#153 of 365 in Hakuba-mura
3.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Ski-kan
Hakuba Ski-kan
#3 of 365 in Hakuba-mura
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Ryokan Miyuki
Ryokan Miyuki
#52 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Maison de Sasagawa
#17 of 365 in Hakuba-mura
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located at Happo Gondola station square. We are only one ski-in ski-out accommodation of slope to Gondola station. Also here is also another lift boarding area. We are offering No.1 fantastic access to snow to you! Pls check it on Google Map as Butter Milk, Hakuba.Gondola area is also so convenient to explore restaurants & bars, grocery store,rental shop. Because here is the center of Happo. Bus stop for night clubbing & other snow resort in Hakuba is next door to us.We are Japanese family owned & operated lodge with very welcoming Japanese hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Butter Milk

Address: 4266 Hokujo Happo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Price Range: $90 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Butter Milk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay