We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa

Hameau de Bellevue 9 rue de la République, 51160 Champillon France
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 02/24/21
Official Site
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (302)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (37)


2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Overlooking the vineyards that stripe the hills of France’s Champagne region, the newly-renovated Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa reimagines the wine-country retreat. Spread across a Modernist wing and a 19th-century Post House, the 47-room hotel embraces the lush bounty of the wineries and the UNESCO World Heritage Site that surround it, while bringing to the region its first world-class destination spa and a chef-led gastronomic restaurant, where daily menus are crafted with sparkling wine in mind.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Infinity pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Butler service
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
235Reviews4Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 181
  • 31
  • 16
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hanafin69 wrote a review Sep 12
Leeds, United Kingdom27 contributions12 helpful votes
Possibly the worst hotel i have stayed at for service, it simply does not exist Bar staff untrained breakfast staff absolutely no idea my ADVICE Invest on training your staff and have your managers give more attention to detail. Tried to order 6 club sandwiches 5 arrived 1 hour 44 minutes after we ordered then we complained were told the kitchen is busy and the 6 sandwich would take another 45 minutes! Breakfast this morning sat down and a dead bird next to our table, ordered poached eggs on toast eggs arrived cold with no toast ! Will not be back and American Express Centurion should be embarrassed about recommending.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Response from Royal Champagne, Marketing at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Hanafin69, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Le Royal Champagne. We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Could you share with us your contact information, it would be a pleasure to have the opportunity to discuss with you. Thank you !
Read more
Ann Howard wrote a review Sep 10
6 contributions
The hotel is in a prime beauty spot and for that deserves a stay. It has a great terrace and good restaurant. Unfortunately the service was not the best, especially in the dining room where we had to wait for ages for our menu, then ages for them to take away our plates. This type of disorder was the norm. They also somewhat rudely told us we could not go out onto the terrace before dinner, as they had reached capacity on the loungers. There were some empty tables but we were not allowed to sit there for even a drink, for Covid reasons. However I offered to stand in the corner (of a very expansive terrace, not in the least bit crowded) as long as we could enjoy the viewe, and they said no, which is not what you want to hear when you are celebrating a 60th birthday. We had booked dinner almost three months in advance and the views are the main reason one would go there. To be denied entry to that area when one is a hotel guest for 3 nights is a bit much. Note that there were non-hotel guests on the terrace. We had come up 20 minutes prior to our reservation while it was still light out. Eventually the manager was called and within minutes we were offered a seat after someone had departed. (When I booked, the concierge asked if there was any special occasion, to which I replied 60th birthday. Normally one would then receive a glass of wine or at least a piece of birthday cake. The birthday was not mentioned once in the 3 days, which suggests a lack of organization.)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Response from Royal Champagne, Marketing at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Tennischicky, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our terrace. We are very sorry to read that your 60th birthday did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with our team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to recover from this experience.
Read more
FourSeasonsElite wrote a review Sep 9
39 contributions49 helpful votes
A short stay and likely to be one of many in the coming months. Perched on a charming hill overlooking part of the Champagne region, this new modern hotel has a dose of big city professional DNA that a seasoned traveller will expect. Room product is light woods and white baths, neat and sleek, Scandinavian in vibe and fine apart from an archaic AC system (it takes thirty minutes to warm the room). The suites aren’t warming or attractive but they are calming and functional. Perhaps a splash of modern art, some French touches, would remind you of where you are. The spa is lovely, with a professional team and a good layout; better than most Palaces in Paris (except the top two, don’t worry George V or Ritz). The team are young, French and smart - a compelling combination - they want to do well and progress both their hotel and careers. All led by a can-do, no-arrogance young GM. Food varies; I expected better and F&B could do with a number of upgrades to both individual dishes and the experience. Breakfast does not feature a basic range of croques, or croissants made every hour or two, or pain perdu or other staples: there’s too much of an American-style all you can eat elementary platter - and this is not very intelligent during a pandemic. But with the basics right and such an admirable and fresh French team behind it, I am quite sure it will mature like fine wine. And meanwhile, even if you are used to the best places in the world, you could do much, much worse in the French countryside. Lots to like, and plenty to look forward to as it starts to compete with the top tier - as a destination rather than a luxury stopover. Bonne chance mes amis!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Response from Royal Champagne, Marketing at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear FourSeasonsElite, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very constructive feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our spa and our establishment. We have well noted your remarks regarding our F&B offer. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future !
Read more
fideba wrote a review Aug 2020
Aalst, Belgium100 contributions76 helpful votes
Management summary :-): we've been to a lot of 5 star hotels literally all around the globe, but this one stands out. Ultimate luxury. A stay in Royal Champagne starts with the valet parking. I'm driving a 100% electric car, the valet immediately spotted it, and assured me that he would make sure that the car was always fully charged. Maybe a silly thing for most, but it shows the level of detail of this hotel. Everything about the hotel was top notch. We actually took the time to wander around, and enjoy the level of quality of the furniture, little details, ... frankly: we've never done that before. Rooms are gorgeous, and so is the view. We visited the hotel for our wedding anniversary, a chilled bottle of champagne was waiting for us in our room. Rooms are that sound isolated that we literally didn't hear a single sound from any room, hallway, ... during our stay. And then there is the restaurant. The Michelin starred one was closed, so we took the menu in the other restaurant. Very, very good. My main dish came with a ratatouille that was to die for. So good, that my wife almost ate all of it, leaving almost nothing for me ... :-) On day two, we went to a posh restaurant in Reims, but it paled compared to this one. Against our habits, we simply decided to go back to the hotel's restaurant the last night, and were equally pleased. Rest assured that I asked an extra plate of ratatouille for my wife (which was no problem), won't make that mistake twice. Staff was extremely helpful. We were quite impressed with the house champagne (well, there are over 5000 champagne farmers in the area), and the hotel arranged a visit to this particular champagne house, which we really enjoyed. Breakfast was rather limited, probably due to covid. However, quality was again spot on. Ok, the hotel is expensive. But in these times, where we barely can catch a plane, it was a joy to take a few hours drive, and stay here for a couple of nights. We will, without any doubt, return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Response from Royal Champagne, Marketing at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Fideba, First of all, thank you for choosing Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa for this special occasion ! We are delighted to read you had such a great time with us and we hope to have the pleasure to host your future precious moments and create more cherished memories !
Read more
Martini911 wrote a review Aug 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom32 contributions24 helpful votes
This is a wonderful building with magnificent views and a great location. The suites are nice and the reception staff are friendly. However, this place feels like it is new and has not yet ironed out the wrinkles. The food on the room service menu is very limited and does not offer what you want from room service; it is basically limited to caviar and crab. The hotel restaurant food is distinctly average and massively overpriced (sausage and boiled vegetables...). The service is also extremely slow and you feel like you are being ignored most of the time. One evening we went to the roof terrace for a drink before dinner; we waited nearly half an hour before anyone even came to offer us a menu. The worst part is the contempt with which they treat guests when it comes to the restaurant. We stayed for 5 nights and were only able to get a table in the only restaurant open at the hotel on one night. Even then, we were given a high table inside. Not once were we able to get a table outside despite paying over €800 plus tax per night. When we cannot eat at the hotel restaurant and the room service is so limited, this creates a very hostile atmosphere in the evenings. We cannot relax as we had to go out every night. We paid for breakfast to be included, however, there is a small number of dishes included then a separate further menu for which you have to pay extra. What a con! Furthermore, the concierge lacked any really clout or connections with either the wine houses or the restaurants. They were unable to get us tables at any of the restaurants we wanted to visit or wine tours at any of our preferred vineyards. Very disappointing indeed. The doormen and bellboys were excellent and extremely polite and courteous.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from Royal Champagne, Marketing at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Martini, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you liked our building and its view but very sorry to read that the service was not satisfying. Rest assured that we have already reviewed each point you mentioned and differents actions will be taken with the department concerned. We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Le Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa and have the opportunity to offer a Royal Champagne experience as it should be experienced
Read more
$501 - $751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
royal champagne hotel epernay, royal champagne Épernay, royal champagne hotel Épernay
FranceGrand EstMarneChampillon
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Cité du Champagne (2.6 miles), La Chocolaterie Thibaut (5.0 miles), and Avenue de Champagne (3.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chez Ali, Why Not, and La Grillade Gourmande.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Champillon.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.