We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

My Village Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
My Village Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 313: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a real find - a modern boutique hotel down a dusty lane just out of the centre of Tissa. It's near the lake but doesn't have access to it (if it did the prices might have to double!). It's newly built in polished cement. Rooms are fine but the extraordinary thing is the public spaces. There's room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We used this place to go to Yala National Park. It's about thirty minutes driving to the entrance of the park. After going to the park this is a good place to relax. Good food, good service and a clean, spacious room. WiFi works OK. Only thing is the power went down a few times in a row, but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeroen l
psbbank
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This guest house is wonderful. It is not only excellent value, but just excellent. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the garden is beautiful, the lounge areas are comfortable and relaxing. The staff can't do enough, nothing was too much trouble, not even being up to prepare a packed breakfast and lunch at 5am! The breakfasts and dinners we ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psbbank
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

+ beautiful hotel area and garden + good location to go on a safari + lovely packed breakfast and lunch boxes (pre-order) for safaris + mosquito net over the bed + tasteful dinner with huge portions - small menu - surrounding of the hotel dirty and unsafe Nice to know: --> 60 mins to Udawalawe NP --> 25 mins to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eurostar89
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is fantastic. Easily the best I have stayed at in Sri Lanka and one of the best anywhere. Beautifully done out guesthouse with statues and art everywhere in a lovely peaceful garden. Apparently it is owned by a designer and it shows. Rooms and surroundings are spotless and beautifully furnished. Breakfast and dinner were both lovely. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard A
Pondicherry, India
Reviewed December 16, 2016 via mobile

Very relaxing place, good service, extremely clean. The place has a lovely atmosphere with the funky colors and lots of plants and trees. The shower didn't work great on the first night but it was fine the second night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trave11er00
Reviewed November 11, 2016 via mobile

Rooms are clean and basic. We got the rooms downstairs but have heard the ones upstairs are bigger. Didn't get to try their food (aside from the free breakfast) as they were too busy for us. Located at 10 mins from town centre, so it's quieter (except for the howling dogs nearby).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeaniecyl
Myvillagelk, Owner at My Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you For your response . I have to mention , why don't you told me those points during your stay because i could have to help you . i was little surprise when i get average review for this because i tried to treat you my best to you during your stay . Anyway thank you what ever your...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed November 8, 2016 via mobile

Upon arriving in tissamaharama we stopped off on the side of the road to check how to get to the hotel , when a local guy drove up to us, asked us where we wanted to go and when we told him we were hoping to go to My Village even though we had not made a booking, he told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kschSA
Myvillagelk, Owner at My Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Very much for your valuable response . it is great pleasure for us as a myvillage Team and it gives me better motivation . Thanks again and please welcome to myvillage ! - Sujith Samantha

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed November 6, 2016

My Village is a cosy, small hotel, very well maintained, excellent service. Very homely - one can relax in the hammocks and the comfortable chairs in the garden, and enjoy local home cooked breakfast! Ideal for families with young children as ample room for them to play! Well located for Yala and Katargama. So serene, relaxing and an amazing break!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tharak V
Myvillagelk, Owner at My Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much and this is great pleasure for us Welcome to the Myvillage !! - Sujith samantha

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

This small boutique hotel is a serene oasis from the buzz that can be Sri Lanka. It had only seven rooms so might be quickly booked out. The whole setting is absolutely beautiful with s tropical garden and a modern designed house with a unique open plan layout. The rooms upstairs are new additions and are somewhat more modern than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frankspy
Myvillagelk, Owner at My Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Frank , Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. - Sujith

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

350 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (317)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
240 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
324 reviews
4.6 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
242 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gaga Bees Yala
Gaga Bees Yala
#5 of 65 in Tissamaharama
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
My Village is a unique and exclusive garden guest house situated on the shores of lake Tissamaharama. Arriving at this lovely guest house hidden away behind unassuming plain walls with only three individually designed rooms. You are assured of peace tranquility and a professional service tailored to meet your individual needs. Restaurant serves Continental food and its specialty is traditional southern Sri Lankan cuisine, which takes your tastebuds all the way to heaven. ... more   less 

Additional Information about My Village Hotel

Address: Court Road | Punchi Akurugoda, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Price Range: $42 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your My Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from My Village Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“First floor gives best views”
 of 5 bubbles 350AndrewP, 1 week ago | Read review
“The first floor rooms have more privacy”
 of 5 bubbles TharakV, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
“I think I chose an upstairs room from all the reviews on TripAdvisor!”
 of 5 bubbles wrenren, Feb 29, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room upstairs in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles SueT349, Feb 20, 2016 | Read review
“Room in upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles samyedgar, Dec 5, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay