We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traveller's Home

Kachcheriyagama | 145/kachcheriyagama, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Traveller\\
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The room was very spacious and clean, nice bathroom, towels and soap. Internet worked fine and there was a mozzy net and a comfy bed. I've paid a lot more elsewhere. The guesthouse has a restaurant upstairs, quite nice actually, maybe a little overpriced. The family and owner were extremely helpful and friendly. The safari however, you get what you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Myles S
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We found travellers home in the lonely planet and decided to stay here for 1 night to visit yala national park. At our arrival we were pleasantly surprised. Very nice and clean rooms with a private bathroom for a very good price. The owners are the most welcoming people we've met so far in Sri Lanka. The travellers home provided... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elisabethley
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

hai dear Elisa. glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks you choosing us and living good review on T. adviser. and hope to see you again. and have nice holiday. so with worm regards to you. Ebert. More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was visiting Tissamahara with a friend and we were planning to stay one night at Travellers Home. The room was very clean with a hot shower and towels and for a good price. The staff arranged our trip to Yala national park, with a good driver/guide and a lovely breakfast for during the safari. After spending the evening with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juliettevv647
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear Juliette. thanks you for sharing your experience to T.advise we are happy to hear that you were glad with your staying with us. thanks again. hope to see you again on your next holiday.with best regards. Ebert More 

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Very warm welcome from the owners, who put a lot of energy into organising a safari to Yala for me, despite some schedule constraints :-) I stayed only for a night, only to visit Yala National Park. It's perfect for a short, efficient and cheap stay. Food is good.

Helpful?
Thank maled22
travellershome, Guest Relations Manager at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear guest. thanks your comment. that you enjoyed your stay with us. thanks for choosing us. and happy to live good review for us. with best regards. Eba. More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

Reeelax, the manager will arrange the safari for a reasonable price (5 500 Rps per pax for 5-12 AM) and let you use the bathroom even after check-out. For the safari, much queue at 5AM will make you enter the national park after 6AM with all the many jeeps of the other tourists. - : The hotel is supposed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clairecita
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

thanks you for time and to make review. and sharing your experience about your staying and visiting yala. hope to see you again. with worm regards. from travellershome. More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016

This hotel was visited without the usual research process but we were very pleased with the property. Rooms are comfortable and around the right size etc for the tarif. Air con is installed and the cleaning is to a good standard. The "boss" Elbert, seems to be the local "go to" man. He can fix pretty much anything that you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Srp5000
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear Sir. glad to hear that you enjoyed stay with us.and live comment to on T. advisor. and write positive reviews. so i hope you have enjoyed seen our country and hope to see you again. best regards to you and your family. thanks you. with warm regards. owner Ebert. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

The owner is an really friendly and helpfull person. The hotelrooms are very good and clean. There is an really good service and the homemade food by his wife is amazing (best I had in Sri Lanka) So an really really good place to stay!

Helpful?
Thank bm g
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016 via mobile

A great location a short walk to town. Comfy rooms with hot water and a nice social area out front.. Food and drink was good quality and reasonably priced. Expect to wait for food as its cooked fresh to order, and if you want rice and curry order in advance. A double room en suite was 5000r per night so... More 

Helpful?
Thank KayakingAli
travellershome, Manager at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear Sir. thanks your reviews.and happy to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us. and give good massage to the other tourist. thanks again.with warm regards. manger. More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

When we arrived, the manager did not know we had booked a double room with fan on booking.com the same morning. The last one was taken, he said. He sorted things out, however. The room was cheap, the bed pretty bad. The worst, however, was the safari. Easy to book, 5000 rs (35€) per person—jeep, driver, and entrance included. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frederik K
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear sir. thanks your reviews. any way it was a very bis y time of the year with X-mas and new year time park also very bis y with lots of jeeps in the park so i am as owner of the place very sorry abut your citation. as you arrive our one of weaker has been sow you the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tissamaharama hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

The breakfast is not available WiFi is not available after 21 00 24 H front desk story is not available as published. The owner has no extra key o master key if accidentally forgotten The owner is saying that he is not providing rooms for local travellers after booked. Worst hotel I ever visit.

Helpful?
Thank Prasad G
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. However I have to mention that you were drinking past 12 am in the midni9ght and causing disturbance to other customers when I clearly stated that there is a safari leaving at 4 in the morning. You had locked yourself inside the room 3-4 times which was absolutely appalling. Wifi is working appropriately and there... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tissa
Hotel Tissa
#10 of 12 in Tissamaharama
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 12 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#5 of 12 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#2 of 12 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Face Inn
River Face Inn
#1 of 45 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Village Hotel
My Village Hotel
#3 of 61 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the rice fields and palm gardens of Tissamaharama, Traveller's Home is located near the city center and Tissa Lake. It is a quiet family run business offering bungalows with attached bath and air conditioning to budget rooms with shared bath. Prices range from $10 USD to $20 USD.and a/c hot water rooms/ lake view rooms with Terese siting area room prices 30 USD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Traveller's Home

Address: Kachcheriyagama | 145/kachcheriyagama, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Price Range: $17 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Traveller's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Home Hotel Tissamaharama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay