We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Traveller's Home

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Traveller\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Start your review of Traveller's Home
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

We have visited this hotel for several years and always stayed in the most tranquil ground floor room with verandah, overlooking the paddy fields and banana tree. The staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming . It is so peaceful that a good nights sleep is guaranteed. There is a new upstairs restaurant and breakfast was happily accommodated to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JennieSokoto
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

Dear guest Warm greetings from Travellers home It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope that you will consider us again for your next visit to Srilankal and wish you a good day ahead. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest, we extend our very best wishes and hope...

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

The room is basic but equipped with all the necessities, such as dryer on demand, clean towel, and mosquito nets. Most important of all, its hot water is hot and strong! After taking so many showers with only cold or warm and weak hot water, we were really happy to enjoy the hot showers there. The restaurant on 2F is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. and the food and hot water We hope to welcome you back again. Wishing you a Marry Christmas, Kind Regards, Ebert and familly.

Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

We had a great room on the first floor with a view over the rice fields from the spatious porche. The people were very kind and helpful. The food and fruit juice were good. Smooth help in arranging the safari to the nearby Yala National Park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sijbrand d
travellershome, Guest Relations Manager at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback!! :) Especially the one concerning rooms We are happy to read and know that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay with us We hope to see you and welcome you again another time soon. owner and family. may this joyful season greet you with health and happiness from all...

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed December 27, 2016

This guesthouse is good value for money and nice and quiet. You're made to feel welcome and are well looked after. Rooms are clean and spacious with choice of A/C or fan, some rooms have views onto the paddy fields. The happy, cheerful ladies in the restaurant upstairs cook up delicious meals. We booked a safari to Bundala National Park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizO7787OC
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

Dear our guest, Thank you for choosing Travellers home Hotel Yala Tissamaharama during your stay in Srilanka We are very glad to know that you had an amazing staying with us. We care about our customers first, and serving customers promptly is what we value for. We appreciate taking your time out to write this warm-heated review, and it motivates...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed December 25, 2016

We stayed at this place on our way to Katharagama for one night. Great place. Very quiet. Concerned and caring staff. We had a room with a Paddy Field view which was stunning, everything was clean and massive. The restaurant was pleasant with a good selection for breakfast and we had lot. Special thanks to nice lady in restaurant. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prasa180
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

Dear , I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the location and the view of paddy field convenient for your travels. hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, - the lady and family. and we wish you all the best for year 2017.

Bomoseen, Vermont
Reviewed November 29, 2016

The Traveller's Home is a very reasonably priced guest home. The rooms were very clean and had good working wifi, A/C and hot showers. The staff is very friendly. We booked our safari tour with them to Yala and were not disappointed. When you arrive at Yala there are over 50 jeeps and it was a little overwhelming, but you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naxcel
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear guest. thanks your review we are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay. and you see lots of animal with leopard. and i am sorry about mosquito you mention about. when get dark in the evening you will find them in south of sri lanka it not because of rice fields any way thanks you sharing you experience...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

Please don't make the same mistake I did and confuse this great stay with travellers inn who are bad!!! The guy that runs this place is a lovely man and has rooms to suit all budgets. The lovely lady's that cook in the restaurant made us the best food we have had in Sri Lanka so far and a pot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley H
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

thanks dear guest. your explain about city taut that they mistake you as travellershome and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. thanks for choosing us and live so good review on T.adviser. and best regards from Ebert and Kumari cook good food for you. so hope to see you again with best regards to you and...

Reviewed October 17, 2016

we had an very warm welcome with an cold drink. The room was luxery with a thick matras we hadden't had before in sri lanka. The food was exellent. We had an great safari experience with an very good guide- with the focus on the lepard. Thank you for an great time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jochem B
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear guest. you make our day with your great review and we are happy that you had a great safari and you had great time in my hotel. so we hope to see you back again soon. and thank you again with best regards. from travellershome team.

Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

Great stay, cheap room for me alone with shared bathroom. Cold shower, which is okay due to the hot weather. Other facilities were good. Nice restaurant on first floor with view on rice fields. Food and drinks were good. I would advise to book your safari with this hotel as the quality was good and you can get a better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorine V
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear Mr. thanks your great review to T.adviser.and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. hope you are doing well. and hope to see you again. with warm regards from the owner. Ebert.

Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Stayed with Travellers home for 2 nights, including a Yala NP tour. The rooms are a bit basic but good value for money. The owner can give you a hard bargain, haha! We booked our Yala tour here for 10.000 Rp, for 2 persons including everything (breakfast, transport, entrance fee, no tips) in a luxury jeep. We had a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorne V
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear guest. thanks you for Sharing your experience to the T.adviser. and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and live comment . hope to see you agin. with warm regards. owner.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
3.6 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,481 reviews
9.4 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,287 reviews
7.7 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
251 reviews
13.7 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 3 in Katagamuwa
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the rice fields and palm gardens of Tissamaharama, Traveller's Home is located near the city center and Tissa Lake. It is a quiet family run business offering bungalows with attached bath and air conditioning to budget rooms with shared bath. Prices range from $10 USD to $20 USD.and a/c hot water rooms/ lake view rooms with Terese siting area room prices 30 USD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Traveller's Home

Address: Kachcheriyagama, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Price Range: $18 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Traveller's Home 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Traveller's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Home Hotel Tissamaharama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Traveller's Home staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Best views”
 of 5 bubbles prasa180, Dec 25, 2016 | Read review
“Many rooms, for different budgets (even though they are all cheap). The rooms in the back building seem more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles maled22, Apr 21, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms ar most likely similar but there may be a breeze on the upstairs seated area”
 of 5 bubbles Srp5000, Apr 7, 2016 | Read review
“Take a room near to the entrance because we didn't have wifi in our room since it was too far away.”
 of 5 bubbles KarinLaure, Dec 19, 2015 | Read review
“room of the backyard are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles 916sebd, Mar 30, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question