We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Morar Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Morar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a great place to stay, and one I keep going back to...... owners are excellent, staff work really hard, the bedrooms are great, and the views amazing. Food/meals are always a pleasure, and the beer selection is always being worked upon, which is great.

Helpful?
Thank eilean_mor07
Glasgow
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Initially heading for the sands at Morar but ended up having lunch on the terrace at The Morar Hotel. The weather was idyllic, 22 degrees C and blue skies. Morar itself is a very small village and the hotel is not difficult to find. We are not big lunchers and ordered Paninis. They were excellent but what made our day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Golfer016
Morar2015, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you had a great lunch. We are getting the trees cut to make the view even better so watch this space. We look forward to welcoming you again some day. More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were delighted to find the Morar Hotel serving lunch so early in the season (a Sunday in late April). Without having more time to explore this gorgeous area, we nevertheless got to experience the charm of this beautiful hotel while eating a delicious meal in front of a spectacular view. And since we had the dining room to ourselves,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bravaencore
Morar2015, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed the lunch here, which is the overwhelming response we receive. The Prawn Bisque is a house favourite and one made with local shellfish. We always advise not racing to Skye but stopping at Morar to take in the amazing views and to unwind in the relaxing lounge. More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed with a travel group. Rooms were nice, beds comfortable, all was clean. Nice breakfast served. Food quality was fair, meat was dried out but all was edible if you're not too picky. Real nice staff. Can accommodate gluten free needs. Great walks to ocean and overview of loch.

Helpful?
Thank scoobapadi
Morar2015, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are glad you found your stay up to expectations and that you had a comfortable night's sleep with a great breakfast. Guests are in a fantastic part of the country here with tremendously helpful staff as you yourself said. You make small mention of the meat. I need to investigate any food issues,... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I do not usually complain but my husband and I visited this hotel for an evening meal on my BIRTHDAY! We can safely vouch that it is the worst meal we have ever eaten in a Scottish restaurant. The clue should have been in how empty the hotel was on a Saturday evening. The restaurant was clean enough however. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan C
Morar2015, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts but I'm sorry there has been confusion for you over the dishes. We wish you to refresh your memory. The Coquilles St Jacques comes in two scallop shells on a slate bed and are 2 shellfish per shell, making 4 per slate serving. Did you share one portion perhaps, because it is £6.95 for four?... More 

Travelers are raving about these Morar hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

as locations for hotels go, i dont think it gets much better than this - What a place to have a hotel. the views out of the bedroom (and diningroom) windows are straight out onto the stunning blue water and pristine white sands, with a backdrop of rugged, rocky mountains - this view rivals anywhere on earth. As for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
Morar2015, Owner at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to send in your thoughts. We are delighted once again the food was impressive and well presented. Our chef has international experience and all food is cooked with the greatest attention to detail. Our team are always friendly and we believe in clean rooms and a comfortable night's sleep which you clearly had. We will... More 

United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

nice clean room - single but more than adequate, fantastic view (weather was good!!) unfortunately clashed with coach visit so meals (although nice) were lacking in choice particularly breakfast - staff seemed a bit unsure

Helpful?
1 Thank Chrys M
archiescat, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. We are pleased you found the hotel to your liking. I am not sure what choice you refer to. Breakfast with other tour groups is the same as a lot of other mornings here: beautiful hot full Scottish Cooked Breakfast with porridge available on request. Evenings everything is available as normal. More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

lovely staff, food disappointing,(beware if you are in along with a coach group) rooms lacking one or two finishing touches - biscuits, spare blanket, telephone, table, bathroom fittings a bit dodgy. Good location, not fantastic v.f.m.

Helpful?
2 Thank julie i
archiescat, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for complimenting us all on our friendliness; it is what is sometimes missing from large chain hotels. We are sorry you were not able to enjoy the food on the first morning however, but the second was a big improvement as you agreed. Some telephones are being routinely replaced. The bathroom fittings are a little bit stiff for... More 

Lanark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Check-in: quick and simple. We had a query regarding our room as it wasn't quite as described on the phone when booking. However, queries were quickly answered and explained satisfactorily. Bar facilities: we got drinks and took them to the lounge which is more comfortable. The cask conditioned Morar ale was excellent and it's clearly been very well cared for... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamie2404
Morar2015, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay noting the food was excellent and a good night's sleep and the bar ales impressive. We note your thoughts about breakfast and the hot buffet is replenished when needed or just ask for anything else like French Toast, omelette or porridge all on request. We've had an influx... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the morar hotel, Stuart who was on reception was very accommodating , affable helpful he gave us on advise on where to go and tips for things to do many thanks to him . The rest of the staff were very polite and friendly We would definitely stay again .

Helpful?
1 Thank Coniston32
archiescat, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are lucky in that all the Morar staff are friendly and go out of their way to make guests comfortable, which is part of their hospitality training. We were delighted you had such a great time. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morar
2.5 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
14.6 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
12.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently taken over and substantially refurbished, one of Scotland's most historic hotels, the Morar Hotel is a friendly family-owned Edwardian mansion house on the romantic 'Road to the Isles', 3 miles from Mallaig, the Southern Gateway to the Isle of Skye. Commanding breathtaking views of the famous Silver Sands of Morar and the Inner Hebridean islands of Rum & Eigg, its panoramic views and comfortable accommodation have made it the perfect coastal escape for many years. Built in 1902, originally as the Station hotel, it is only metres from the train station. Now a modern character hotel with wifi and satellite TV and open to the public, it is only 50 minutes from Fort William by the new road, or an hour by scheduled train services or in the summer by the special Jacobite Steam Train, as featured in the Harry Potter films. The overnight service from London (Euston) leads to Morar Station opposite the hotel and car hire is available in Fort William or Morar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morar Hotel

Address: Morar, Mallaig PH40 4PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig > Morar
Price Range: $104 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Morar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morar Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay