We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Morar Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Morar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 75: English reviews
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

nice clean room - single but more than adequate, fantastic view (weather was good!!) unfortunately clashed with coach visit so meals (although nice) were lacking in choice particularly breakfast - staff seemed a bit unsure

Helpful?
1 Thank Chrys M
archiescat, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. We are pleased you found the hotel to your liking. I am not sure what choice you refer to. Breakfast with other tour groups is the same as a lot of other mornings here: beautiful hot full Scottish Cooked Breakfast with porridge available on request. Evenings everything is available as normal. More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

lovely staff, food disappointing,(beware if you are in along with a coach group) rooms lacking one or two finishing touches - biscuits, spare blanket, telephone, table, bathroom fittings a bit dodgy. Good location, not fantastic v.f.m.

Helpful?
Thank julie i
archiescat, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for complimenting us all on our friendliness; it is what is sometimes missing from large chain hotels. We are sorry you were not able to enjoy the food on the first morning however, but the second was a big improvement as you agreed. Some telephones are being routinely replaced. The bathroom fittings are a little bit stiff for... More 

Lanark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check-in: quick and simple. We had a query regarding our room as it wasn't quite as described on the phone when booking. However, queries were quickly answered and explained satisfactorily. Bar facilities: we got drinks and took them to the lounge which is more comfortable. The cask conditioned Morar ale was excellent and it's clearly been very well cared for... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamie2404
Morar2015, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay noting the food was excellent and a good night's sleep and the bar ales impressive. We note your thoughts about breakfast and the hot buffet is replenished when needed or just ask for anything else like French Toast, omelette or porridge all on request. We've had an influx... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the morar hotel, Stuart who was on reception was very accommodating , affable helpful he gave us on advise on where to go and tips for things to do many thanks to him . The rest of the staff were very polite and friendly We would definitely stay again .

Helpful?
1 Thank Coniston32
archiescat, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are lucky in that all the Morar staff are friendly and go out of their way to make guests comfortable, which is part of their hospitality training. We were delighted you had such a great time. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spacious room, nice breakfast and a lovely evening meal. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a relaxing lounge area, the restaurant has great views and the bar area is OK, but you can take your drinks to the lounge which is a nicer area to sit in. One tip I would give is ask to have a room... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuzieMac73
Morar2015, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide a review. We try to make guests feel at home straightaway and the views and location help provide a truly memorable relaxing, rejuvenating experience. We are glad you had a relaxing break and look forward to seeing you next time you are up in the West Highlands. More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying locally in a B & B This hotel was in walking distance & thanks to Maggie for getting us a booking for dinner in the bar My wife had Fish & Chips & me the Steak & Ale pie Both meals were very wholesome & tasty

Helpful?
Thank Doug L
Morar2015, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for joining the many people now commenting on the quality and range of food on offer in a community so remote and small. Bar food needs no reservation and is always available between 6pm and 7pm and 830pm - 9pm. Table d'hôte is available 7pm - 830pm in bar and restaurant. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited hotel bar/lounge 22nd June after a trip by the Silver Sands. I was made to feel welcome by the NEW owner, Stuart.He opened the bar and provided me with two fine ales and a brief history of the hotel and area. I would have stopped longer but i have to rely on the trains. As the title explains, this... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
Morar2015, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a little about the magical atmosphere on offer in Morar, one of the quietest, most secluded and historic places you will find, but close to a railway going to London. The bar reopened last year with many upgrades planned, including seating to be replaced next. This was the place where SoE operatives came to discuss operations... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well Morar is a very small place and the Silver Sands are beautiful but I'm afraid I can't say the same for the Morar Hotel. So old fashioned and definitely in need of an upgrade, the room was ok clean-ish and comfortable but the pillows were awful! Too low with one and too high with two, trying to get the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonE3
Morar2015, Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

With new ownership comes a new broom and not everywhere could be upgraded in time. The areas you identify are scheduled for upgrade this autumn but much of the character is what brings people back to Morar year after year. It is not a city chain hotel. Not all guests agree with you about the food, commenting on the care... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Good hotel with fabulous evening meals, stunning views, good rooms. Intermittent free wifi, but if you should be out and about anyway, so who cares! Buffet breakfast is adequate, but their evening meals are of a very high standard, especially so when you consider that we part of a party of 40, but the care put into the meals was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RogerMT
Morar2015, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your plaudits on the evening dinners. The tour dinners and a la carte share one thing in common: a great kitchen team with local ingredients and a passion that matches the views from the restaurant. We hope to see you again soon. More 

UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Really nice hotel pub: friendly, clean and a good choice of speciality gin and whisky, and good food. Dog friendly too. We liked it so much we visited twice during our self catering holiday in Morar - recommend the quiz night on Thursday!

Helpful?
1 Thank avonside
Morar2015, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments about the reopened public bar. We are glad you found it clean and came to visit. The locals would agree with you which is why it is sometimes difficult to get a seat. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morar
0.0 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
14.6 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Arisaig House
Arisaig House
#1 of 6 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently taken over and substantially refurbished, one of Scotland's most historic hotels, the Morar Hotel is a friendly family-owned Edwardian mansion house on the romantic 'Road to the Isles', 3 miles from Mallaig, the Southern Gateway to the Isle of Skye. Commanding breathtaking views of the famous Silver Sands of Morar and the Inner Hebridean islands of Rum & Eigg, its panoramic views and comfortable accommodation have made it the perfect coastal escape for many years. Built in 1902, originally as the Station hotel, it is only metres from the train station. Now a modern character hotel with wifi and satellite TV and open to the public, it is only 50 minutes from Fort William by the new road, or an hour by scheduled train services or in the summer by the special Jacobite Steam Train, as featured in the Harry Potter films. The overnight service from London (Euston) leads to Morar Station opposite the hotel and car hire is available in Fort William or Morar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morar Hotel

Address: Morar, Mallaig PH40 4PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig > Morar
Price Range: $100 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Morar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morar Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay